We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but difficult to review”
Review of Surintra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surintra
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

It is a bit difficult to review Surintra. I will try to explain why. I will not call Surintra a resort. It's more like a hotel or motel. I will review it as that, and also in light of the price we paid. Less than THB 1500/day is excellent value, but do not expect a 5 star resort with all ammenities. We stayed for 2 days only. We came from Khao Lak and needed a place not too far from Phuket Airport. Surintra is tucked away in a small street behind some major expensive resorts. Check-in was efficient and quick. The lady spoke way way better english than you normally hear in Thailand. Our room was more spacious than expected and a positive surprise, considering the price we had paid. It was light and minimalistic in a funny mediterranean-thai style. Tiles, stone, concrete and an iron bed. Not the usual thai deco, but it suited us fine. I wanted to give the sleep quality 5 stars, but I deduct one for the loud italian guys in the room next door and one for the local dogs that went ballistic every evening and night. We had a large balcony. The view is quite open and green, but you do look at the backside of another resort and yes you have a view of smalll local community living in what looks like slum houses. Free wi-fi and it worked fine. Our booking was excluding breakfast, so we can comment on that. The breakfastrestaurant is not directly connected with the hotel, but is in a seperate building 50 meters from the reception. The pool area is ok. 2 polls, plenty of sunbeds and sun most of the day. Check-out and booking of taxi was no problem. Surin Beach is a strange place. It's quite different from other beach destinations we have been in Thailand. When we took a walk from Surintra to the beach we hated the place. The beach is packed with (fancy?) beach clubs advertising with champagne and the beach itself is nothing but rows and rows of beach chairs for hire. Looked like something in southern Europe, and the area also seems to attract mainly french guest with northafrican background. And a lot of thirsty russians ofcourse. But the upside is the food. If you like basic, cheap and really good thaifood you can certainly find at the beachfront. You are not sitting under palms on the beach and it's in no way romantic, but it's a very charming chaos and you get superb thai- and seafood at very reasonable prices. I wouldnt mind staying again at Surintra, but only if we had to fly out of Phuket and needed to stay a couple of days. The location is simply not good enough.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DK_Riis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surintra, Guest Service Agent Supervisor at Surintra, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from Surintra Boutique Resort!

We are delighted to read your positive comments regarding your stay and the team are pleased to send you a warm thank you. It is our great pleasure that you had chosen to stay with us and giving us the opportunity to serve you. Please accept our sincere apology as well for any inconvenience you had experience while you're here. it is not something we can control.

Again, thank you so much and we hope that you'll chose Surintra Boutique again on your next visit. Should you require further assistance or any information, feel free to contact back to us or send us an email at fo@surintra.com.

Yours sincerely,

Marcelle R. Puntanar
Guest Service Agent Supervisor
Surintra Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed in the new section this year. Its a great modern design, would be good if they had a couple of comfortable chairs on the balcony. Very clean, nice pools and very close to the beach. The walls are so thin we could hear the television next door.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RobAnDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surintra, Guest Service Agent Supervisor at Surintra, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from Surintra Boutique Resort!

Thank you so much for staying with us and giving us an opportunity to serve you. Thank you for taking your time to share your stay with us, we really appreciate your feedback. We are also delighted to let you know that we have now put an additional extra 2 chairs for the balcony in the room.

Thank you again and we hope you'll choose Surintra Boutique Resort on your next visit. Should you require further assistance or any information, feel free to contact back to us or send us an email at fo@surintra.com.

Yours sincerely,

Marcelle R. Puntanar
Guest Service Agent Supervisor
Surintra Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

we stayed at Sunintra for 6 nights in March 2014 and had a great stay. Terrific pools, housekeeping was very efficient and clean, and breakfast was delicious. Lovely and quiet location and a short walk to beach, will be back next year again very enjoyable. Great restuarants around also.

Room Tip: any rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surintra, Guest Service Agent Supervisor at Surintra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from Surintra Boutique Resort!

It is our great pleasure that you had chosen to stay with us and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We are delighted with your positive comments about your stay and we hope to be of service to you again here at Surintra Boutique Resort.

Should you require further assistance or any information, feel free to contact back to us or send us an email at fo@surintra.com.

Yours sincerely,

Marcelle R. Puntanar
Guest Service Agent Supervisor
Surintra Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed in Surintra 4 days with our 7 month old daughter. The room was on the first floor right in front the pool that was very convenient. The room was spacious and clean, there was a back yard where we have dinner while our baby was
sleeping. Internet connection was fast. It took some time to get to the beach around 5 minutes, but it is the same for all hotels at Surin.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oleg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surintra, Guest Service Agent Supervisor at Surintra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from Surintra Boutique Resort!

It is our great pleasure that you have chosen to stay with us and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We are delighted to read your positive comments regarding your stay and were satisfied with our team members services. We hope to welcome you here again at Surintra Boutique Resort!

Should you require further assistance or any information, feel free to contact back to us or send us an email at fo@surintra.com.

Yours sincerely,

Marcelle R. Puntanar
Guest Service Agent Supervisor
Surintra Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed at Surintra second year in the row, the new building hasn't changed, however staying on the 4th floor without elevator is a bit challenging in this climate.
The staff was very helpful and agreed to relocate us to the first floor after a couple of nights.
Good value for money compared to other accommodation options at Surin beach.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RIPEPINEAPPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surintra, Guest Service Agent Supervisor at Surintra, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from Surintra Boutique Resort!

It is our great pleasure that you have chosen to stay with us and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We are delighted to read your positive comments regarding your stay and were satisfied with our team members services. We hope to welcome you here again at Surintra Boutique Resort!

Should you require further assistance or any information, feel free to contact back to us back or send us an email at fo@surintra.com.

Yours sincerely,

Marcelle R. Puntanar
Guest Service Agent Supervisor
Surintra Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had a good room overlooking the swimming pools, several floors up. Great location - within very easy walking distance of Surin beach. Only 5 mins walk. I have stayed three times in other, more expensive, places described as being "near" Surin beach, but this is definitely the best value for money. I will come again if the prices remain sensible. Look for their special offers, and you will not be disappointed!!

Surin is one of my favourite places on the island of Phuket - many restaurants along the beach, and quiet compared with Patong. It's not really necessary to have a car here, unless you want to go back and forth to Patong every day for shopping.

Room Tip: The main Surin Resort website is not very easy to use - best to go via Expedia, Agoda etc. Look for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dr_EFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surintra, Guest Service Agent Supervisor at Surintra, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from Surintra Boutique Resort!

It is our great pleasure that you have chosen to stay with us and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We are delighted to read your positive comments regarding your stay and were satisfied with our team members services. We hope to welcome you here again at Surintra Boutique Resort!

Should you require further assistance or any information, feel free to contact back to us back or send us an email at fo@surintra.com.

Yours sincerely,

Marcelle R. Puntanar
Guest Service Agent Supervisor
Surintra Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Clean & friendly staff.
However, if you set a mirror up out side the shower room, it will be more convenience for getting dress and making up. Just one we need.
Next time if we plan to go to Phuket, you are our first choice.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chayintorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surintra, Guest Service Agent Supervisor at Surintra, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from Surintra Boutique Resort!

It is our great pleasure that you have chosen to stay with us and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We are delighted to read your positive comments regarding your stay and that you were satisfied with our team members services.

However, please accept our sincere apology for the issue that you had raised which concerns lacking of mirror in the room. We’ve noted your valuable feedback and addressed them to our respective management team in order to refine our service and facilities in the future.

Thank you and we hope to welcome you here again at Surintra Boutique Resort! Should you require further assistance or any information, feel free to contact back to us back or send us an email at fo@surintra.com.

Yours sincerely,

Marcelle R. Puntanar
Guest Service Agent Supervisor
Surintra Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
0.2 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#12 of 36 in Choeng Thale
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
0.1 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#2 of 36 in Choeng Thale
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.1 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#7 of 97 in Thalang District
1,922 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surin Beach Resort
Surin Beach Resort
#16 of 36 in Choeng Thale
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surintra

Address: 49/1 Moo 3, Surin Beach Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Choeng Thale
#12 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#14 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range: £18 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surintra 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surintra is a chic modern and at charming Phuket boutique resort Surin beach Phuket. Intimate, serene and relaxing hotel resort on Surin beach. Surintra is an oasis of calm and tranquility on Phuket most popular Surin beach. Surrounded by tropical trees quaint shopping Surin beach road and set around a service of garden courtyards Surintra is the perfect base for exploring Surin beach, Phuket and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Surintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surintra Hotel Thalang
Surintra Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing