We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grilled Tuna ... humm”
Review of Taste Bar & Grill

Taste Bar & Grill
Ranked #5 of 165 Restaurants in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Taste Restaurant in Surin Beach has been closed as a part of the Thai governments initiative to clear public land of commercial business. We have moved to our new location 5 minutes away adjacent to Tesco and McDss in Bangtao/Choeng Thale. Open everyday lunch and dinner. Welcome.
Ceaux, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Grilled Tuna ... humm”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

A little expensive, but totally worth it! Recommend: Grilled Fish/Shrimp or Grilled Tuna (it's my favorite) Tacos & BBQ Pork Sliders - Must Have!!
Try it, itsn't an ''tourist trap''

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jean f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarava, Manager at Taste Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Jean F,

Thank you for your review.
We are opening Taste on July 15th. Just returned from our annual vacation and feeling motivated and happy to be back. Soon we will start a brand new Lunch shift with some great new items... all in good time.

Cheers,

Martin, Jade and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    182
    36
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stands out from the nighbours.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We visit Surin Beach annually. Taste is a special venue which would gain popularity in any city..if not for the sand between your toes you might be in Sydney, Paris or LA. We always enjoy the seared tuna and the fish tacos are one of my favourites. You won't go wrong here, certainly the best in Surin Beach.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gottatellyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Great, little restaurant on Surin Beach. Highly recommend. Make sure to bring cash! Most restaurants on Surin Beach are cash only.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingChelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Ribs”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We visited in May 2014. There were 4 of us Aussies and we ate here a minimum of five times. We mostly ate the ribs, they were cooked to perfection. Seriously we have eaten some ribs in our time but these were the best we've tasted. Excellent prices. Excellent service. Owner/chef friendly & hospitable. The atmosphere was relaxed which suited the beach side location. It was not pretentious which we appreciated as we didn't feel like dressing formal in such a hot climate. The only thing lacking was air conditioning however they have plenty of fans & serve cold fragrant washers which we loved. Great work guys, we will be back next year! #aussieriblovers#

Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I live in Phuket and love this place”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

The chef is neurotic. If it's not perfect he stresses and tries to make it so. The pork sliders are amazing, better than Memphis, which is saying a lot. Martinis are perfect, desserts always good. I order whatever the special I s and have always been happy. I got one bad steak there, once. They went crazy trying to fix it. It was supplier issue,,it was cooked perfectly, just a poor piece. They made it right, and were attentive enough to notice without prompting. My favorite place in Phuket, hands down.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GregInPhuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarava, Owner at Taste Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Wow what a nice review. Me neurotic? - ok...maybe a little (or more). To be honest I am extremely lucky to have such a great team around me that can deal with my neurosis on a daily basis. Much of our current staff have been with us for 5 years or more and I must express my absolute gratitude for their hard work and pride for what we have accomplished together. Thank you for your review. To our staff thank you for your hard work and dedication.

Martin and Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste Bar & Grill also viewed

Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 

Been to Taste Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing