We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent presentation, no customer service...unless you speak French” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Similan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Similan Hotel
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent presentation, no customer service...unless you speak French”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

The room was large and clean and tastefully decorated. Suddenly shared kitchen was private, no one was ever around, air con and 2 fans could only reduce temperature of room to 29c with humidity. Proprietor complained about other guests and myself in my hearing, believing I would not understand as I do not speak French. It is no longer owned by Maryanne and Jessie.

Room Tip: Request 1 of the 2 downstairs rooms as I think they would be cooler in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leah2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
28
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

We are a family of four that love travelling the world. We have taken our 4 year old and now our 1 year old kidz along with us to many destinations in more than15 countries in Asia, Europe, Latin and North America staying most of the time in 5 star hotels and resorts. This time we decided to stay in a guest house instead. We chose Similan through a recommendation from a friend and have not regretted fora single moment. At the Similan guest house we have experienced the best service ever. It really feels like a home away from home. The owners Maryanne and Jessie are the most friendly and welcoming people. They go far and beyond fulfilling all our needs and requests which are not the easiest as we are travelling with small kids. Here at the Similan you will feel At home and a part of their family. We highly recommend anyone travelling to Bangtao to stay here. The rooms are of good size with both fan and A/C and clean. The terrace is like a living room where breakfast is served and one can just relax and use the free WiFi. Both Surin and Bangtao beach are located walking distance and there is plenty of good and affordable Thai restaurants nearby. The easiest and cheapest way to get around like the locals is to rent a scooter for just 200 thb / 5€ per day. Thank you Maryanne and Jessie for making us enjoy our holidays!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

I satyed at The Similan guest house for two weeks whilst looking for long term accommodation in the area. Wha't a great place so clean spacious room and above all the two terraces, one upstairs where I could quietly read or do y emails, and the bar restaurant terrace downstairs. Marrianne and Jacinte the french owners would ben over backwar'ds to accomodate any request, great breakfast and a daily short menu of fresh food. The bar was a mixture of locals and guests, super atmosphere and an ideal place for a drink after work.

I have now found a permanent house though have become a regular in the bar and restaurant. Other local bars and restaurants are 5-10 minute walk away and Bangtao beach only 5 minutes, in my opinion one of the best beaches on 'Phuket. Surin again is only a 10 minute wal away. So much better than staying in a branded hotel real character and genuines service. I have recommended this guesthouse to all my friends who come to visit need I say more!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Situated between Surin Beach and Bang Tao Beach is Hidden Gem called Similan Hotel.

This place has a very unique vibe. It's very easy to feel right home once you arrive on the terrace of Similan Hotel. There is certainly a strong mixture of culture, comfort and diversity if you compare it to many other hotels/guesthouses in Thailand. I would have to say that perhaps with being foreigners themselves; the owner tries her very best to make the place feel like home.

The staff and management are excellent; they go above and beyond expectations to make sure that your stay is as comfortable as possible. They have a small daily menu that varies day to day. Breakfast is served to your liking, fresh coffee/espresso made right in front of you. The bar selection is basic but carries all the 'staple' liquors and spirits that any bar must have to be called a bar...

The rooms are spacious, clean, air-conditioned and fan, Television as well, ensuite... I'll have to admit that I spent a good amount of time in my bed at Similan because everything was so relaxing..also the beach was very close by so there was no hassle in rushing out for a long walk..

There are also numerous restaurants and other amenities within close proximity to Similan Hotel whether it be a short walk or a scooter ride.

I will definitely be returning to Similan Hotel like most of the other guests I met during my stay there. Each guest had there own reasons for returning time after time and I will have to say I now have mine..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thida P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

we stayed with my wife and parents in law at the similan hotel in january this year.

The hotel is well located near the more quiet bangtao beach and the rooms are very clean.

The french owner, Daniel, is a truly remarkable host, he really cares about the well being of his guests and makes you feel at home. I felt like I was staying at my grand ma's place.

The breakfast he cooked for us was always different and based on what we told him we liked the day before. I told him I liked muesli and he bothered preparing a really tasty swiss muesli with fresh fruits that had to marinate the whole night in the fridge before being eaten.

He was also full of good recommendations on where to go on the island.

Staying here made me remember what guest house really means.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory_Kral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Choeng Thale hotels
0.5 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
0.4 mi away
Surintra
Surintra
#11 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#15 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Bangtao Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Similan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Similan Hotel

Property: Similan Hotel
Address: 62/4 Moo 3, Bangtao Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Similan Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Similan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Similan Hotel Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing