We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, but a little bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Location of the hotel is amazing; a beautiful beach to relax and enjoy. We did not really understand the shops on the beach, as they were not of the hotel, yet are allowed to sell all the things the hotel is selling (massage/drinks/tours).
Rooms and restaurant were a bit dated, and it was too bad that only one restaurant is open for lunch. But this might be due to the lower season we're still in. For the rest had a lovely stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room; you're balcony will be slightly bigger there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Writer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Guests,

Sawadee Krup and Greetings from Phuket. Thank you for your recent review of you stay last month. The small shop vendors are part of Thailand's beach culture, we respect your comment re their access. Each month we do understake works to ensure the resort is upgrades in all public spaces, this is ongoing being so close to the sea.

Wishing you all the best for the rest of 2013.

Warm regards,



Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

911 - 917 of 1,888 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

We recently spend 5 nights in this hotel and was very impressed with the service here. We arrived in the morning but couldn't get our room till 5pm but the Club Room Agent was very accommodating and offered us another room to freshen up and rest after lunch till our room was ready. Our room has a nice beach view. Only slight issue was that the aircon was too cold even after maintenance tried to fix it but after having extra blanket, it was ok. Wifi in our room was not very strong even after the IT staff came to sort it out.

My 2 young sons were on a dairy, egg and gluten free diet and Chef Silvano met us at check-in to discuss our dietary requirements and his team made sure that there were stuff they can eat especially for morning breakfast. They always have ready gluten free bread available and have gluten free pasta for the kids.

Staying around the Laguna was great as there are other hotels to visit and some restaurants along the beach so you need not just eat in the hotel all the time. Also just outside the Laguna there are a few restaurants where the restaurants provide free transport both ways so it's hassle free.

Beach was nice although sea was rough but in the evenings the tide is low and kids can just play at the edge of the water. But on the last evening, my son got stung by something which I thought was jelly fish but the staff later told me it was 'sea lice' which is larvae of jelly fish. Although harmless except for some rashes, it was very painful for him.

Despite these small few 'issues' we enjoyed our stay very much and my kids want to return to this hotel again in December!

Thanks for such a pleasant stay and thank you so much to Khun Dada and Chef Silvano and their team who made our stay such a comfortable one.

Room Tip: Beach or sea view room are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoungsSpore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket guests,

Sawadee krup and greetings from Phuket. So delighted to know your family enjoyed their break from Singapore, and that Khun Dada and Chef Silvano helped in making this trip special. Great to know you will be back to visit your Phuket island home in December, looking forward to seeing you then, until then we wish you all th best.

Best regards,


Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Couple aged 31
Before I review our experience of the hotel, here are some tips we wish we had known....

Get baht for main currency, approx 50 baht / £. It seems to be much more accepted than dollars.

The beach is stunning, however be warned, if its swimming and snorkeling that appeals, the beach has signs up " not safe to swim". The currents are that strong!

Just finished one week of our honeymoon at the Dusit Thani. First impressions, this hotel is aesthetically appealing located along the beach front, the room we had was a deluxe beach front 321.. it was spacious, clean and the fruit was a nice touch!Good view of the sea.

The breakfast was good, plenty of fruit, bread and hot foods something for everyone.

As the hotel does not do all inclusive we found the food very expensive within the hotel and within the laguna complex. Definitely walk up the beach some nice bars and restaurants! We loved Tik.

A baby elephant called lucky walks up the beach every day at 8am and 4 pm she is something else!

You can also get thai massage along the beach for about 300 baht for one hour ...only £6 ....well worth it! The hotel spa looks great but super expensive!

We did not find entertainment great for a 5 star hotel the singing was not so good... this wasn't a big deal for us.

To summarise, this hotel looks appealing and we had a nice time, however very expensive to eat and drink. The thai people we encountered, some friendly some subdued, not as friendly as I was led to believe.

Our last holiday was a 4 star plus all inclusive hotel in Mexico and I can honestly say that if you have experienced a holiday like this in America/Mexico that your expectations may not be met.

Be aware of the low season weather, I would recommend if circumstances and cost permit go from November on as the low season weather can be very wet and humid. We saw a wedding last week and it was windy and raining heavy.


  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gordmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket guests,

Sawadee krup and greetings from Phuket. Congratulations on your recent wedding and honeymoon as our guests. Thank you for your contribution to the www.tripadvisor.com community with another review, offering much detail to future travellers of your generation.

We wish you two an eternity of happiness. Best wishes.

Best regards,



Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We checked in this magnificent hotel as a first stop on a 7 night phuket trip. The hotel certainly lived up to its name as suggested by the Qantas travel agent. The room was perfectly presented with a fruit basket, check in staff were very friendly. Our room was located right on the ocean front, just meters away from the beach. The hotel complex is situated on a Laguna so it shares the property with other major hotels so you could take a walk or drive and not be worried about being in the hustle and bustle.

Dusit Thani had the best THAI Restaurant. I strongly recommend it to everyone.

Live musin at the cocktail bar was awesome - they even sang the song we requested...

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Shandils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket guests,

Sawadee krup and greetings from Phuket. Thank you for your recent review from this years stay on tripadvisor. It is great to read that you enjoyed the resort and it's location within Laguna.
Our in house band is delighted to perform here 6 nights a week and they are very happy to perform requests. Thank you for sharing your photos too with future travellers.

We wish you all the best for the rest of the year 2013.

Best regards,



Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed for four nights and the check in was smooth. We were welcomed with flowers, refreshing drink, smiling people and the kids got balloons which made them forget about the tiredness from the journey. Our kids are three and a half year old and an eight month old baby. We had two sea view rooms but since they could not provide interconnected rooms, we were upgraded to ocean view rooms which was so great of them. Kids loved the pool which has steps for all ages and there was a separate kiddy pool which my three year old enjoyed. They also loved the kids club toys and activities like she made a bat for Halloween and there was fish feeding in the morning. The playground is also nice. The beach was so inviting, the staff was always willing to go an extra step to make you feel comfortable and always had a smile on their face and very polite whether you tip them or not. It was raining in between but would get warm again to go back to pool. The beach water had strong waves but still some expert swimmers were in the water. There are local people with shacks for food, massage, clothes, toys and water sports. The Canal village is right outside the hotel which has some shops, a mart and restaurants. Free shuttle and ferry takes you to other laguna hotels so you can eat at other places. The baby elephant visits the Angsana resort after three but we were lucky our kids got to meet him in Dusit as it was hired for a wedding there. We ate at the hotel most of the time. The best was the Horizon Lounge as you could listen to the live music and order food from all the restaurants there. The happy hour and tea time is awesome. The resort needs some uplift like the kiddy pool had the lights coming out, our room had water dropping from the aircon but the staff was able to clean it and also offered for us to move to another room but we were already too settled in our rooms and the kids were enjoying so we did not bother about these small issues. There is kids menu available. The breakfast had lots of choices. We got massage done at the spa and it was one of the best we were had. The high for me was doing morning stretch/yoga in the morning in the open lawn looking at the ocean(free activity for adults). Overall had a great experience and can recommend the hotel without a doubt. I wish we had more days to spend!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket guests,

Sawadee krup and warm greetings from Phuket. Thank you for your recent tripadvisor review of your stay just this month.
Delighted to know how much of the resort you and your family enjoyed and that it was relaxing and offered a real Thai feeling. Children are very important guests to us and the staff enjoy making their holiday special too.

We wish you all the best for the festive season which is just around the corner.

Best regards,



Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager





Best regards,



Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

It was our second time in Phuket. The hotel was excellent:
-super service (smiles on everybody's face will make your days) with attention to details (fresh welcome drinks, fruits, flowers,etc.)

-excellent breakfast, very good and varied food overall

-big swimming pool (with cocktails, a wide range of snacks, fresh free fruits and VERY PLEASANT aqua aerobics classes)

-The rooms are newly decorated, big, with balconies; bathrooms are big and well equipped with bathtub and shower cabin separately.
We had a problem with the lock and we were upgraded to an Ocean view room, which we thought was better, but the weather was not very nice and the room got very noisy because of the strong wind.Our friends had a villa which was huge and had a small pool on the roof.It was not a big difference in money, so if you can afford, I would recommend that.

-The laguna is a very pleasant place to have behind the hotel, you can canoe for free and there are elephants around for rides and a shopping pedestrian street where you can find souvenirs, a clinic, 2 coffee shops, ATM, a mini market and other small (and expensive) stores.

-The only downsize of this hotel is that in spite of the nice long sandy beach, the entrance in the water is very steep and there are big waves that make impossible swimming in the sea.

Overall it is a very good value for money hotel , we had a wonderful time.Thank you, everybody.

Room Tip: -villas for big families - laguna room for honeymooners -choose ocean room not in rainy season
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolaDinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket guests,

Sawadee krup and greetings from Phuket. So nice to read about your positive reviews of your recent stay as our guests last August.

We do regret the issue you suffered re the door lock, and your right the weather was not kind throughout your stay. A villa is a great option for families who travel together.

Our staff are glad to know their smiles and service made you enjoy your stay so much.

Wishing you all the best for the rest of 2013.

Best regards,


Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Have been to Phuket twice a year for many years now, and have stayed at everything from 2 star to 5 star hotels. Had 10 nights at the Dusit Thani for a family wedding and wow what a beautiful place for a wedding. Arrived about 9am, not expecting them to have a room ready so early, only to be told "your room will be ready in 15 minutes sir and by the way I have upgraded you a sea view room". That made my day after a long flight. The rooms are beautiful and clean, the staff are all very friendly and do a great job. The buffet breakfast is amazing.
We will be back after I go on a diet.

Room Tip: Seaview ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnyboy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket guests,

Sawadee krup and greetings from Phuket. Thank you for your recent review listed on www.tripadvisor.com about the enjoyment you had this month as a guest of ours here to celebrate a wedding. Such a special occassion and we are glad that you a wedding guest felt comfortable back here in Phuket, this time as our guest. Hope the diet plan works out too.

Wishing you all the very best for the rest of 2013.

Best regards,



Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
10.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#4 of 36 in Choeng Thale
838 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 36 in Choeng Thale
2,169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
8 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 338 in Patong
6,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket

Address: 390 Moo 1 Srisoontorn Road | Cherngtalay, Thalang, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#8 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#10 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#11 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range: £72 - £1,055 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly striking beachfront location resort with excellent facilities and gracious Thai hospitality, add up to a unique holiday retreat. Unwind in a sanctuary of tranquility, shaded by natural casuarinas and coconut palm trees. Offering low rise buildings in classic neo-colonial architectural features underpinned by modern Thai designs. Gentle breezes waft through the vaulted ceilings of the open-air lobby, carrying the sound of breaking waves from our adjacent beach. Located 20 km or a 30-minute drive south of Phuket International Airport, half an hour north of Patong Beach and half an hour east of Phuket city. Provides complimentary shuttle boat and buses to nearby hotels within Laguna Beach offering a up to 25 bars, restaurants and entertainment within minutes. With a variety of rooms, suites and villas to choose from you can be pampered on the tropical island of Phuket or as some others might say - The pearl of the Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Hotel Thalang
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Cherngtalay
Dusit Laguna Phuket
Dusit Phuket
Phuket Dusit
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing