We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have just had a very relaxing week at The Dusit Thani. A bit dated but still very charming. Our room was comfortable, bit on the small side but fine for a couple. Spent most of the time on the lovely beach! Breakfast was excellent as was the meal we had in the Italian restaurant. We were not bothered by too many Mosquitos but take a spray just in case. All staff were so pleasant, a delight to be served by them. The location of this hotel is probably the best on the Laguna. We noticed many of the guest were returning for a 4th or 5th visit ..... For some it was like meeting old friends. A good sign I think. We would return.

Room Tip: We had room 318 ..... Larger balcony and lovely view over the grounds to the beach and sea. Very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiliGran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear KiliGran,

We appreciate your patronage during your recent visit at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket.

As mentioned we are delighted with the fact that many of our guests are so loyal to our resort.

We wish you to become a regular guest as well and making long lasting friends here.

Please do let me know at the time of your future booking as I would be very pleased to assist you.

Warmest regards,

Denis Thouvard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    954
    491
    189
    54
    30
See reviews for
579
736
53
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Phuket
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Located in one of the widest Phuket 's beaches , plenty of space for relaxing in the gardens and pool , it was one of the most relaxing stays we had in Phuket because one does not feel the crowd like in other places which are perhaps more luxurious but more noisy and where space is counted (beach especially).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Dusit Worldwide Co. Ltd

Helpful?
Thank Didier Germain ... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Didier Germain,

May I thank you for staying at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket and taking the time to post a review.

I am grateful for your words of recognition praising our resort for its ideal location right on one of the best beach of Phuket as well its peaceful and relaxing setting.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in our serene environment.

Best regards,

Denis Thouvard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We visited this hotel for 2 nights in October 2012 when we were looking for a wedding venue. The main areas of the hotel seemed very nice but our room I think must have been an older one. It felt very dated and there was condensation on the windows, we just didn't feel very happy there.
The food for breakfast and the Thai restaurant was really good. Although there are a lot of smokers around, smokers in the bar and the thai restaurant did put us off.
We didn't eat at the Casuarina beach restaurant but it did suit our requirements for our wedding reception. Perfect for our 23 guests but it would also be perfect for a larger group up to maybe 80 or so. We still had our reservations though, I think they stemmed from the hotel room.
I emailed someone on Tripadvisor who had married there and they sent me some photos and told me how great it was, so we decided to go for it. We decided to stay in the Banyan Tree though and had the wedding reception at the Casuarina.
Mon was our wedding organiser and she was brilliant. We got married in January 2013 and only had 2 months to organise everything by email. Mon was quite new to the hotel then but she really was great. Nothing was too difficult although I have to admit it was easier when once we were there in person and there was no time difference. The room looked beautiful once all set up. I was nervous about a plastic board that was stuck up on the wall that had some dead insects stuck inside it but she got rid of this for us and covered the walls in a cloth (you can see from our photos). The outside area was dressed with our flowers and some tables for a cocktail reception and again looked really good. The food was absolutely amazing, really really good, especially considering we had the western food and we were in Thailand. The wines were really good too, we had the malbec and did wine tasting before the event.
The staff on the night were great and organised the lighting of the lanterns, and were really friendly and helpful and kept bringing everyone drinks all night. It was just all so good.
The beach the hotel is on is really lovely and has some amazing sunsets, very romantic.
My husband got changed for the wedding in a room in the Dusit Thani whilst I was at the Banyan Tree. He said the room he was in was so nice and much much better than the one we had stayed at the year before. He actually preferred it to the Banyan Tree. I would definitely stay at the Dusit Thani again but probably ask for a newer room and maybe pay extra for a slightly better room type to the one we had initially.
I can't praise Mon more and I am sorry it has taken me so long to write this review.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Loo79,

Thank you ever so much for celebrating your wedding at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket last year in January. We are very happy to read your kind comments reassuring us that despite a few concerns which Mon could fix for you, we could organize a perfect wedding.

I have shared with Mon your recognition for a job well done and she joins me to wish you and your husband a lot of happiness.

Please rest assured that it is never too late to post a review about our resort. I am very pleased to read that you would prefer returning to us than our competitor.

I look forward to welcoming you and your husband back soon.

Warmest regards,

Denis Thouvard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Just came back from Thailand and stayed at the Dusit Thani in Phuket...lovely resort, lots of Mosquitos so bring lots of repellent when you go! The beach is beautiful the people are very helpful and the live music of authentic Thai was fabulous! Rooms are nice and love the fresh fruit and flowers that were left in our room each day...great touch!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Dawnerson,

May I thank you for staying at the Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket recently.

We appreciate your positive review highlighting the Thai ness of our resort with our helpful staff.

As for the mosquitos although being seasonal, we have taken steps to minimize their presence.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back to our lovely resort.

Yours sincerly,

Denis Thouvard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The Dusit Thani has given us a wonderful week to remember. Authentic decor with atmosphere and comfort, beachfront position, very relaxing surrounds and plenty to do and see. We enjoyed the club room experience with breakfast in a quieter location and afternoon tea. However it would be nice to see some canapés during the cocktail hour! We will definitely return nevertheless!

Room Tip: Rooms that are sea facing experience the most amazing sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Dusit Worldwide Co. Ltd

Helpful?
1 Thank Vivien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Vivien M,

Thank you very much for having stayed at The Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket.

I am particularly happy that you appreciated our authentic Thai décor and atmosphere throughout the resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back this time with canapés on offer at our bar.

Warm regards,

Denis Thouvard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antalya, Turkey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We went with friend with different preferences and taste but were all at the same view about this hotel. Most satisfying accomodation among the four internationaly acclaimed five star hotels. Location is superb.
Gardens by the beach has very ample space to sit with friends without being annoyed or aware of others' nuisance and it is a relaxed atmosphere which make it pleasant to sunbathe.
Rooms both by the beach and by the lake, have beautiful view of water and greenary.
Except for a few downsizes; the rooms are little small for a week or ten day stay. And there is a shallow pool for water sports and alike acitivities but not enough signage to refer and forward children to it.

Breakfast has many varities and soft drinks. Overall it was an excellent and pleasent stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pembegul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Pembegul,

May I thank you for staying at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket with friends recently.
It is very reassuring to learn that despite different tastes among your party, we were able to satisfy you entirely, thanks the resort location, the ample garden, the relaxed atmosphere and good breakfast.

We are improving our signage to the shallow pool.

We appreciate your feed back

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,

Denis Thouvard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

I remember staying at Dusit 10 years ago & thought it was fabulous. Since then we have stayed at Banyan Tree which is incredible. This year we decided to come back to the Dusit to stay in a villa with other family members, was disappointed.
Firstly, the villa type I reserved (ocean view) & payed for in advance, was not available. Apparently a mix up in the booking system despite me having a written confirmation. We finally agreed to a Lagoon facing villa & was glad we were there because the the Ocean Villas have absolutely no privacy!
The Lagoon Villa is also limited on privacy. Not really villas at all but a row of attached 3 story town houses with a VERY small plunge pool on the roof! Very disappointing. The interiors are not ageing well & definitely need a spruce up. Also, soundproofing was not thought of during construction.
The resort itself has also become a bit run down & the clientele has changed in the past 10 years. Huge construction going on at the Laguna Resort & they are definitely going for a more budget crowd. Sad really because the staff are great & very patient with the rudeness from some guests that they are confronted with on a daily basis. The on-site Thai restaurant is still, I think, one of the best on Phuket. It was good though to be able to use all the different restaurants in the Resort hotels & be able to charge them to the room account.
Left feeling very indifferent & doubt whether I would return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank hargar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Faded glory

I am sorry to read of your disappointment on your recent experience at our resort compared to 10 years ago.
Being the new leader of this hotel, It gives me additional motivation to rectify these let downs together with the team.
May I apologize for the mistake at reservation mixing the 2 type of villas, I am pleased that you preferred the type we offered by mistake also knowing that the rate became lower and that you seemed to be happy with the recovery gesture we offered in compensation for the frustration.
Our Ocean View villas have direct access to the lawn and the beach, a unique feature appreciated by a small number of guests at a time having only 4 units on offer.
You are right in describing the configuration of the lagoon villas which offer no less privacy than our direct competitors.
I thank you very much for recognizing the legendary patience of our staff as you rightly say there really great. The Thai restaurant takes its culinary inspiration from a Thai master chef who has over the years developed a reputation for being the best Thai table in a resort in Phuket.
The construction is by no means a handicap to our hotel guests as it’s far away from the property & it does not affect us in any means nor in our hand. It is being developed for a high end clientele.
Should you wish to come back to Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, I would be delighted to take great care of you with our team.
Warm regards,

Denis

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
10.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,818 reviews
8.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket

Property: Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Address: 390 Moo 1 Srisoontorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Choeng Thale
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#7 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly striking beachfront location resort with excellent facilities and charming Thai service and hospitality, add up to a unique holiday experience. It is about 20 km or a 30-minute drive south of Phuket International Airport, half an hour north of Patong Beach and half an hour east of Phuket city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Hotel Thalang
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Cherngtalay
Dusit Laguna Phuket
Dusit Phuket
Phuket Dusit
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing