We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Resort - Poor F&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Decent Resort - Poor F&B”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A decent resort on an excellent beach with good facilities - looks a little dated now but still suitable for a short family holiday.

I would avoid the bars and restaurants, however. The breakfast is distinctly 3 star - there is good variety but the quality is poor. The processed dim sum is appalling - the siu mai and har gow tasted identical and were certainly those cheap frozen packets you avoid in the supermarket. The Thai dishes looked like leftovers from the buffet the night before.

Had lunch in the Laguna Cafe - presumably catered for the Russian clientele. The Thai dishes, despite warning chillis in the menu promising heat, were not at all spicy. I would eat outside the resort - there are many good choices near the entrance to the Laguna complex.

I tried to lobby bar also. I must have developed an extraordinary capacity for alcohol because several Margaritas left me totally sober. Again, head to the much better bars outside the resort.

Service and staff otherwise excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillM1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear BillM1964,

May I thank you for staying at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket and for posting you review.

Despite a few good comments I was distress to read your unhappiness on food quality and lack of alcohol in our cocktails, 2 areas which we will improve without delay.

I hope you will consider coming back to our resort in the not too distant future and should it be the case, thank you to let me know as we would like this stay to be a truly enjoyable one.

Best regards,

Denis Thouvard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    489
    186
    53
    30
See reviews for
574
730
53
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our Dusit Laguna holiday. Although it was very busy because of "Songkran" - Thai New Year - the excellent service by the really friendly staff did not miss a beat. We will be back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Dusit Worldwide Co. Ltd

Helpful?
Thank tophole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Tophole,

May I thank you for staying at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket and for posting you review.

I am particularly happy to read of your entire satisfaction throughout your stay, I have shared your positive comment with the team, we are grateful for the recognition you gave. At Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, we are always eager to offer excellent service with the legendary Thai smile.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back to, for another Wonderful Holiday.

Best regards,

Denis Thouvard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is a lovely resort, but think again if you're having your wedding reception here!

Everything was going perfectly until the bar tab came out 2 hours in to the reception and we had spent our budget of $3500!
According to the Wedding Planner within the first 2 hours of our reception we had gone through a ridiculous amount of cocktails for 50 people.
It would have worked out that the bar tenders would have been mixing up 5 cocktails every 1 minute! Which would have been FINE if everyone was drunk, but we we're all sober!
There we're no alcohol in these cocktails at ALL!

We then asked for an tab update every half hour for the rest of the night, after that the alcohol bill only came to $1200 AUD.

We tried to dispute the bill the day after the wedding but they used the whole "Language Barrier" thing as an excuse and we got nowhere... They are extremely dodgy!

If you get married here DONT have a bar tab... And as nice as it sounds DONT bother with the cocktails.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacinta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTLPthailand, Executive Assistant Manager - F&B at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Jacinta D,

Thank you for staying at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket and for posting your review on your experience.

I am sorry to read that despite the general level of satisfaction you felt dissatisfied with the quality of beverages served and that you felt the cocktails were diluted. I have shared your feedback with the team, reviewed the recipes and retrained all bartenders. Your feedback is very important to us and gives us a good indication of our performance so we can focus in areas for improvement.

I hope you will consider coming back to our resort in the not too distant future and should it be the case, please do let me know as we would like this stay to be a perfect one.

Kind Regards,

Benjamin Perera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic holiday in this beautiful hotel. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Food excellent (if a bit expensive) in all the restaurants. Room was lovely, although a little tired looking. They really made us feel special and I can't wait to visit again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Lesley W,

We were delighted to be the host for the holidays you recently spent at Dusit Laguna Phuket and appreciate the feedback you wrote on you experience.

We are glad that you have decided to come back and look forward to pampering soon again.

Warmest regards,

Denis Thouvard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel is fabulous, staff are very friendly, they greet us every time they see us, the service was great, but the one thing they missing is the variety of Halal food during breakfast and in the restaurant menus.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Dusit Worldwide Co. Ltd

Helpful?
Thank Tamer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Tamer S,

May I thank you for staying at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket and for posting you review.
Our resort is proud to offer very friendly service performed by caring staff.

We took your comment on lack of Halal food seriously and will improve this shortly.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back to, for another fantastic experience.

Warmest regards,

Denis Thouvard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Dusit Thani Laguna for four nights in April. We stayed in one of the 'club rooms' (#122) on the ground floor. We had great views of the beach and it was a good location. Breakfasts included were nice. We ate dinner at the different beach restaurants with in a 3 min - 10min walk depending on where you ate. The beach was very clean compared to the beach in front of the Outrigger hotel. The service was great and could not be faulted. Thought the bed could of been a little more comfortable and the aircon was loud even on the slowest setting. That said we would recommend and return without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Room 122 was close to the beach and had very nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear mjwall,

We appreciate your patronage on your recent stay at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket and for posting your impressions on your experience.

Your feedback is of a paramount importance to us and also a very good way to measure our performance and focus on the areas for improvement. Constant emphasis on upgrading our product has become one of our daily priority.

Thank you very much for recommending our resort and we are glad that you have decided to come back and look forward to pampering soon again.

Kind regards,

Denis Thouvard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed in the Deluxe beach front room - The Resort is spectacular and very neat and clean- Friendly staff -
Upon check in we were served welcome drinks and were given flowers (very welcoming)

Swimming pool was great and the hotel has their own private section of the beach !

Food awesome as well. Buffet breakfast had extensive choices! One of the days we also had lunch at the cafe - and although it was good - it was expensive as well

We rented a car from the airport for 4 days so transportation was of no hassle and the resort is 30 mins away from Patong.

The only negative I have is the rooms were small for 3 people and even after check in we repeatedly had to ask the staff for our extra bed( which came after 3 hours)


Overall we had a lovely time at Dusit thani and would love to come back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania_Salim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTLPthailand, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Tania_Salim,

May I thank you for staying at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket and for posting you review.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back the soonest possible.

Best wishes,

Denis Thouvard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
10.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
8.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,349 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket

Property: Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Address: 390 Moo 1 Srisoontorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Choeng Thale
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#7 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly striking beachfront location resort with excellent facilities and charming Thai service and hospitality, add up to a unique holiday experience. It is about 20 km or a 30-minute drive south of Phuket International Airport, half an hour north of Patong Beach and half an hour east of Phuket city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelbag, Hotelopia, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Hotel Thalang
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Cherngtalay
Dusit Laguna Phuket
Dusit Phuket
Phuket Dusit
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing