We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Allamanda Laguna Phuket
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed 1 April 2008

Stayed for 3 nights in a one-bedroom suite in March 2008. We have prepared for the worst reading reviews about fithy kitchen and bathroom before departure. It turned out that the suite was very clean and comfortable. Kitchenette is fully functional, you can cook anything with the hotplate. Everything except salt, pepper and oil can be found. Small bottle of oil can be found at the Minimart for 20b, and in Canal Village for 25b. An egg cost you 5b only in the Canal Village. They are sold in 6 pieces box in the Minimart. You can find bacon and sausage in both places.

Remember to reserve in advance if you wish to dine in Lotus restaurant. One night we did not make a reservation and was told we could only get a table 1.25 hr later. Changed to dine at Chaba which also provided free transfer. Food there was OK but more expensive than that of Lotus. There is a minimart opposite Chaba but price even higher than those of Canal Village and minimart. Also tried ToTo Italian Restaurant near Chaba. They provided free transfer as well. Price certainly lower than the hotel restaurants, e.g. 300b for pasta. May try if get tired of Lotus.

  • Liked — Value for Money
  • Disliked — Pool
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank namtakrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    103
    36
    20
    21
See reviews for
112
69
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2008

We just spent a week in Hotel Allamanda Laguna Phuket (****), and the place didn't live up to its four stars. We had a two bedroom suite on the second floor with a view to the golf course. We travelled with two kids, so the kitchen was quite handy for afternoon and evening snacks, but next time we will probably choose a good hotel instead of an apartment.

The most unpleasant surprise were numerous large cockroaches. They kept dropping down through the air ventilation grilles in spite of pest controls. When we informed the staff about this, they more or less shrugged their shoulders and promised that "the house-keeping will do something about it..." We also had other uninvited guests. Tiny, almost invisible ants were patrolling the sink and the cupboards. So you better not leave a single crumb of bread/drop of juice lying around in the apartment! The ants even ate their way through two tightly shut plastic bags to get at a loaf of bread! Needless to say, the hotel was fully booked, so we couldn't move to another apartment.

The apartment itself was quite spacious and nice looking, but we certainly could have used more cupboards and drawers. The kitchenette was fairly functional, but did not have enough cutlery and dishes for our needs. In the bathrooms you had to run the water for 4-5 minutes before you got any warm water, and one of the bathrooms had a mouldy odour.

The breakfast reminded us of a buffet lunch. You certainly had a lot to choose from: bacon, eggs, sausages, local soups and rice dishes, pancakes, potatoes, yoghurt, pastries, buns... you name it. Our overall impression was, however, that the kitchen tried to compensate quality with quantity. The Courtyard Cafe (where the breakfast was served) had good to excellent food (the breakfast excluded) and a friendly and efficient service. In the Lagoon Grill the service was very much slower, and the cook made mistakes...

There were quite big differences in the service attitude and friendliness of the staff: Some of them were, in our opinion, genuinely friendly and helpful, while others were only formally polite.

The Allamanda Kids' Club (for 4-8 yrs old) was a very pleasant surprise.
The operating hours were 9 a.m. -- 7 p.m., and for a few hundred bahts (for meals and materials) the kids could paint T-shirts, make jewelry, play, draw, watch DVD's etc. Our kids loved the place!

We chose Allamanda because we could get a large, two-bathroom apartment with cooking facilities. However, based on our overall experience, we cannot really recommend it.

The Laguna Phuket area itself is quite peaceful, clean and well maintained and, for example the Ducit Laguna Hotel is definitely a promising alternative if you are interested in the Laguna area.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Helsinki08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2008

We were told that we had been allocated a "lovely suite" but on arrival found the bathroom to be definitely substandard - more like a hostel than a four star hotel. It had a plastic shower curtain, a manky rubber bathbat, the loo seat was peeling, but worst the bath was scarred with blue and rust streaks (see photos). When we asked for this to be cleaned we were told they couldn't, and after some complaint were offered an upgrade for the next day. However the next morning we were told that there would be a small charge - of £20 per day - to upgrade us! On looking through the reviews this seems to be a common occurence. Watch also for the extras - breakfast, meals, laundry, taxis, transfers etc are all a fraction of the price at the beach. Our bill also contained drinks that we never had. Moral - if you want an upgrade - then upgrade to another hotel such as the Sheraton. This is definitely the poor relation to other hotels in this complex.

  • Liked — access to private beach
  • Disliked — the bathroom
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenGapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2008

Stayed in the Allamanda two bedroom duplex unit which was overlooking the lake. Excellent view of sunrise and kids just love the sink-in bathtub in the master room. All the bedrooms are well decorated and there's even an additional pull-out bed at the living room. The kitchen area has all the necessary utensils and dinner wares for a home cook meal.

Though the beach is further away, moving about the resort are made easier with free transport provided within the resort area. If you need to venture further to Phuket town, there's always the ever ready local taxi but do your bargaining for the fares.

The service is just excellent and as usual, the Thai staff are very hospitable and ever friendly. Overall, good place to stay if you're bringing family with young kids.

  • Liked — The serene and tranquility of the location
  • Disliked — Beach is not within walking distance
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zainuddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful 2 week holiday in Thailand. We were a little worried about staying at the Allamanda having read previous reviews on trip advisor. However we were relieved to find it was not all that bad! I do agree with previous descriptons of this hotel as a little "tired", and the "poor relation of laguna". However the room rates are significantly cheaper than the other hotels in the laguna complex - its unfair to expect the same standard of accomodation as a result.
We found the hotel staff to be friendly and efficient. Rooms were cleaned and linen replaced on a daily basis. The hotel has its own area of the beautiful Bang Tao beach (one of the nicest on the island) and - as a Laguna guest - you can enjoy the facilities of the other (more superior) hotels in the Laguna complex (bars, restaurants, some of the pools).
I would recommend this hotel to anyone (particularly those with younger children) who want to enjoy the Laguna location on a budget. That said, for my next visit to Phuket I intend to pay a little more to experience first hand the luxury of this Thai resort!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank nicalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2007

Going to make this very short and sweet by breaking down a good and bad. We were there for 3 nights as we went up for a Wedding that was at the Banyan Tree.

The Good:

Its in Thailand.
and.....thats about it.


The Bad:

BUGS!!! Cant tell you what kind because ive never seen them before and hope to never see them again.

Staff. Cant say ive ever had any rude staff or people while in Thailand at all. This place was a first!

The room. So old, so musty, so run down. Definately NOTHING like their website represents. They moved us our second day to what they called a "better room" which was on the Lagoon side and it was moderately better but not much.

TV: 19" with 9 channels. Not a huge deal since we dont go to Thailand to watch TV but still, when you are paying good money and your stuck in Laguna (most boring part of Thailand) its nice to have something to do since there is really nothing to do arounf the hotel.

Shower: No water pressure

Shampoo: Dont get me going. I swear to you it smelled like raw sewage! They make their own!

Food: Breakfast was included in our rate. Most of it was unedible. If you decide to stay here, go eat at the Shopping Village. a couple good restaurants there.

and im done. Never again.

Laguna in general is a terrible representation of Thailand and the Phuket area, it has WAY lot its Thai style and vibe. If you want fun stay in Kata, Karon or Patong. But if you have to stay in Laguna, skip this place.

  • Liked — That it was in THailand
  • Disliked — $24 internet per day and filthy
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DiveDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2007

As mentioned before this is the most economical property iin the Laguna area. We were there for a friends wedding and were booked in a Garden room.

The room was awful. It looked NOTHING like the pictures on their website. There was no down comforter, instead just sheets with a blanket (that looked like it was straight out of the 1980's). The bed was hard.

The bathroom was small only big enough to have one person in at a time. There was mold and mildew in and around the bathroom. The amenities (shampoo and soap were awful smelling). It made my husband and I want to gag. There is no conditioner provided.

We had Bugs in our room. This was mainly due to the mildew and mold under our sink which was a breeding ground for the bugs.

The garden view consisted of a view of a kids play area.

Needless to say, we were not happy. At $140 USD a night, there were much better deals to be had elsewhere on the island. We contacted Management about the rooms not being like those on the internet and that we had bugs. We were informed that they could spray the room for bugs but we would need to leave the room for a day due to the fumes of the Bug spray. With that not being an option, we were told that they could not do anything until the last day of our stay. There was no compensation for the bugs or being in the nasty room. On the last day we were moved ot a Laguna View and it was much nicer. Similiar to what you find on the website. Still not worth the $140 USD by Thai Standards.

The Laguna area in general was more expensive (about three times more expensive than Karon where we had been prior). The food was expensive even by US standards, and the service was not on par with the other places we stayed in Phuket.

You also loose a sense of the Thai culture, traditions, and niceness. The people in Laguna are NOT as friendly as elsewhere on the island. If you do decide to stay in Laguna, make sure you make it to Patong and Karon as we enjoyed our time there much more.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
1.0 mi away
Chaba Resort & Spa
Chaba Resort & Spa
#32 of 34 in Choeng Thale
15 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bangtao Village Resort
Bangtao Village Resort
#28 of 34 in Choeng Thale
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laguna Holiday Club Phuket Resort
Laguna Holiday Club Phuket Resor...
#46 of 95 in Thalang District
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cassia Phuket
Cassia Phuket
#1 of 13 in Bang Tao Beach
220 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amora Beach Resort
Amora Beach Resort
#373 of 765 in Phuket
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allamanda Laguna Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allamanda Laguna Phuket

Property: Allamanda Laguna Phuket
Address: 29 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Allamanda Laguna Phuket)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#20 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Allamanda Laguna Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allamanda Laguna Phuket: Ideally situated on Bang Tao Beach,the resort enjoys the wonderful tropical environment of Laguna Phuket integrated resort. All apartments overlook the golf club's scenic fairways and the resort's shimmering swimming pools. Just 20 minutes drive from the airport, Phuket Town and Patong Beach. Ideal for long staying guests or family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Allamanda Laguna Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Hotel Thalang
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Cherngtalay
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Hotel Cherngtalay
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing