We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and Great Resort BUT........” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allamanda Laguna Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Allamanda Laguna Phuket
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
American Canyon, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Great Resort BUT........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

NO DOUBT the place is beautiful, the entire chain of laguna resorts are beautiful, neat and clean BUT be careful TO DO UR HOMEWORK AND NOT TO SIGN UP FOR ANY ADVENTURE SPORTS FROM HERE, they will send u to the CANAL VILLAGE for inquiry and those guys will ROYALLY FLEECE YOU. and u can NEVER get a refund here so BE CAREFUL and think twice before you make ANY DEPOSIT. Ours was an RCI exchange week, so we got a good deal in terms of price.THE place is quite isolated and pretty far from where everything is happening, so its only ideal for people who really wanna get away from all the noise n b on their own or are ok with renting a vehicle or are ok with riding a bike to go to the main city everyday, or else ur pretty much stuck within the chain of resorts which have a shutter bus to take u frm one resort to another fr free and can only eat in the restraunts within it. Though some of The restraunts by the private beach r quite good.
Staff is very good and courteous. Would totally reccomend this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Freakkkkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwalp, General Manager at Allamanda Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and within the Laguna premises. As you are aware Laguna offers several hotels with many facilities to enjoy. The complimentary shuttle and boat can take you around as well as activities such as wind surfing, sailing, paddle and kayak boats, bike riding, elephant and horse back riding, and of course the golf course and the most relaxing Angsana Spa. I am sorry however that you feel you were somehow "tricked" into the adventure sports. I do believe that with an open mind these sales pitches can work in your advantage. If you are not interested, you are of course able to just walk away from these sales teams without any obligation. Within our resort there is no scheme, we offer activities and facilities for our guests to fully enjoy their holidays. You are right, Laguna and Best Western Allamanda are located in a serene and quiet location. We offer a perfect destination for families as it is quiet, safe and spacious. The resort however is also very suitable from a group of friends joining together for a beach holiday.
We look forward to see you again on your next holiday to Phuket.

Kind regards,
Femke Beekers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    100
    33
    20
    21
See reviews for
108
65
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Staff very nice.
Hotel is actually a mix of 'owned' rooms/ suites that seem to polled under Best Western management.
We booked a 2 bedroom suite months in advance and still found ourselves in a room with the only view not requested!
Moved to another room the next day to find no safe, poor selection of glasses, kitchen ware and the AC didnt work properly in the kitchenette and main bedroom, remained an issue for the rest of the holiday.
No room service and no food available after 11pm, not an issue during the stay but if your arriving late very irritating and good to know beforehand.
The Laguna shuttle service [which is free] works very well and is regular.
Outside places to eat, Lotus very good, Tom Yam very good [on the beach by the Outrigger hotel]
New cable wakeboard park just opened 10 minutes drive away, great for the kids and bht400 for 2 hours, Jok the owner very helpful, kids loved it and went 3 times in 5 days

Room Tip: Block 2 has a good view over the pool and golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjornssean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwalp, General Manager at Allamanda Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Bjorn,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Tripadvisor. It is important to inform future guests of your experience.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your view. Our apartments view to either the Golf Course, gardens or swimming pools. We find that each guest have their own preference. If we are notified in advance, we try to do our best to match the view, but unfortunately due to other reservations staying earlier, this is not always possible.
Not all our rooms have a safety box in the room. We do however provide complimentary safety boxes at the reception area for all guests upon request.
All apartments are set up with a kitchen, providing a full size fridge, cooking facilities, microwave and water kettle, as well as pots and pans. The dish and glass ware is set up as per standard number of guests occupying the apartment. If this is not sufficient, we can always add more to your request.
I am sorry to hear the air conditioning did not work properly during your stay with us. Our team is stand by 24 hours to fix important equipment as such. If you would have informed our team, I am sure we could have assisted.
The room service we offer is from 06:00 to 23:00. In case of a late arrival, you can inform our reservations to prepare the order with the restaurant, or you can enjoy the noodle soup set up in your apartment.
Best Western Allamanda is located within the Laguna, offering 7 hotels with many facilities to enjoy. The complimentary shuttle and boat can take you around.
Great activities on offer within the Laguna is water sports such as wind surfing, hobie cat sailing, paddle and kayak boats, bike riding, elephant and horse back riding, and of course golf. Within the Allamanda we are lucky with the presence of the Angsana Spa for total relaxation.
We now offer complimentary buggy service to the beach for our guests during the day time. In the evening the restaurants offer complimentary service to the guests who would love a dinner on the beach.

We do hope you will return to the Best Western Allamanda to enjoy your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Ms Femke Beekers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Stayed for one night for my cousins wedding, then extended to a second night as we enjoyed the hotel and the location. Suite was large, clean, smelled great (!) and was very comfortable. The nearby angsana is a lot more 'high end' but the two hotels are very close, share the same beach and lagoon, and we found the allamanda was perfect for our stay! They let us check in early in order to get ready for the wedding for no extra charge!

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom suite, which was huge with a giant sectional couch as well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwalp, General Manager at Allamanda Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear Shellie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review on Tripadvisor.
Your experience and comments will help us to improve and hopefully motivate other guests to join us soon as well.
Joining a Wedding Event is always special, and we thank you for choosing our resort for your stay this time. Our resort is most special for its location and space, as all our rooms are suites well decorated with full amenities such as kitchen facilities, which is very convenient. Besides enjoying the resort, as you have experienced, Laguna itself is offering many facilities for our guests to enjoy, such as restaurants, spas and water sport facilities.
We look forward to welcome you back to stay with us, maybe next year during your friends 1st Anniversary!

Kind regards,

Femke Beekers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed in allamanda for 10 nights was myself my girlfriend and my girlfriends niece (15), we had a one bedroom suite and found it very neat nice and spacious and just came with everything you sort of needed! I loved the big raindrop shower heads, bathrooms were very clean and modern! We used the free wifi with no dramas! Breakfast wasn't the best but it has everything you need bacon eggs toast muffins etc fresh fruit etc. The staff were super friendly and always willing to help or have a laugh. We had read the prior reviews and were a little bit apprehensive to stay here, but we are glad we did! The bonuses of staying in laguna firstly it's quiet you can go to patong into the hussle and bussle but it was great to get back to a quiet resort! If your looking for a pumping night life and partying this is probably not the place for you, but if your looking fora nice quiet place to get away from the crazy crowds then yes this is the place! All in all we had a great stay, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a peaceful quiet trip!

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikanae, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Our family (2 teenagers,Mum and Dad)stayed for 2 weeks end of Dec, Lovely staff, very friendly and helpful, our rooms were great, very comfortable, spacious and clean. Great breakfast every day and lovely food in the restaurants. The grounds were beautiful and The Laguna area fantastic, our teenagers could go of and do whatever they wanted - ATV's elephant treking, kayaking, sailing or simply hanging at the beach, (Us also) Restaurants on the beach are great, Easy getting around The Laguna with free shuttles and ferrys and easy to get taxis to go into Patong or Phuket Town for shopping. We LOVED it here and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

Stayed here over the Ironman 70.3 weekend for 4 nights at the beginning of December, so the prices were over $250/night. The property is divided into two parts - one is on the lagoon and the other is across the street. Both sides have a decent size pool. We stayed in a two-bedroom suite, which was very large and comfortable. The property itself was fine, but the hospitality was horrendous. I have never stayed anywhere in South East Asia that was so rude. It started with breakfast at the omelette station, my wife asked for scrambled eggs instead of an omelette and they refused. I couldn't even comprehend why they wouldn't do it. The cook and host then preceded to talk about the incident and kept looking at our table. We saw the same cook each day eating the pancakes with her hands and they go back to cooking omelettes without washing her hands in between. We attempted to check out after one night, but were told we would be charged for the entire 4 night stay, with no refund. We also ran into problems with the onsite restaurant. We booked a table for six and upon showing up saw that there were about 8 tables free overlooking the water and asked if he could set up our tables in the better location. The host was very annoyed and grumbled the whole time about moving us. There were only about 4 diners in the whole place and I was starting to see why. The food was adequate, but nothing special. Upon check out, we realized we couldn't find one of the plastic key cards, so the hotel charged us 200 baht. I couldn't believe it, most hotels don't even ask for those key cards back. I'm not sure what was going on at this hotel, every hotel we've stayed in before in Thailand or South East Asia has had impeccable hospitality. The workers at this location seemed very unmotivated and lacking in any type of hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WadeHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Choeng Thale hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

I had excellent service during my stay for the Ironman. Room was in a detached building so I have to move to the pool often with long walk. Buffet also was a bit of a walk. The room has huge and if I have friends over we could have started a party.

Pricy beer for 120 baht. Buffet for an extra guest was 400+. But the buffet has lots of variety. The wifi was quite bad so I recommend asking for a room near a wifi source.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptAmerika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
0.3 mi away
Laguna Holiday Club Phuket Resort
Laguna Holiday Club Phuket Resor...
#46 of 94 in Thalang District
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cassia Phuket
Cassia Phuket
#1 of 13 in Bang Tao Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket
0.5 mi away
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
#8 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allamanda Laguna Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allamanda Laguna Phuket

Property: Allamanda Laguna Phuket
Address: 29 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Allamanda Laguna Phuket)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#20 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Allamanda Laguna Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allamanda Laguna Phuket: Ideally situated on Bang Tao Beach,the resort enjoys the wonderful tropical environment of Laguna Phuket integrated resort. All apartments overlook the golf club's scenic fairways and the resort's shimmering swimming pools. Just 20 minutes drive from the airport, Phuket Town and Patong Beach. Ideal for long staying guests or family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Allamanda Laguna Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Hotel Thalang
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Cherngtalay
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Hotel Cherngtalay
Allamanda Laguna Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing