We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good but not fantastic”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Overall a good hotel but not fantastic. It will be good if there is some shade for the kids pool. Kids club is so so, quite dark, not cheerful. Staff does not interact much. Nothing compare to the kids club in Holiday Inn.
Not many choices for restaurant. good breakfast though.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onlyfinchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    313
    82
    28
    17
See reviews for
579
430
28
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We spent 5 days at the Outrigger Laguna Beach Resort, and were impressed with the high level of hospitality extended by the Club Room staff, in particular, Grace, Aeyr, Nuna, Hanna and Kook. For instance, they went out of their way to solicit a baby sitter from outside the property, so that my husband and I could enjoy a spa session.

The property has obviously received recent remodeling, which is welcome. The Club lounge is nice and easily accessible, although it could have been made a little more stroller-friendly. The pool area extending to the beach is great. The seafront room is also very nice; the soothing sound of the waves crashing onto the beach was therapeutic.

One critique would be the absence of an in-house spa. Perhaps something for the management to consider? No fault of the Outrigger, but our botched spa reservation at the Angsana on one occasion was a disappointment.

Overall, a kid-friendly and relaxing experience. We will be back!

-xoxo
Dawn Wee

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawnwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

A truly beautiful hotel. Very luxurious in every way.
Spotlessly clean, big rooms with super king size comfy beds, gorgeous bathroom and sun terrace. Everything you could possibly need in the room.
Absolutely stunning pools surrounded by palm trees overlooking the beach. Huge pool towels, and great cocktails with a 2 hour happy hour 5-7pm!
Breakfast was by far the best I've experienced in any 5 star hotel in any country.
Easy access to the beach and great beach hut/restaurants, amazing beach massages.
Candy the baby elephant visits every day, something I wasn't sure about but she's obviously very well cared for.
Expect to pay slightly higher prices for things like taxis and scooter hire but I'm only talking about £2-3 more.
Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Uzpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We just spent a week at the beautiful Outrigger Laguna Beach Resort at Phuket. This was our first experience at an Outrigger and probably won't be the last as it is obvious that they go out of their way to make it enjoyable and good value.

Our package included the use of the Club which I would highly recommend. This is a separate Thai inspired building overhanging the lagoon where we had breakfast, free drinks after 6.00pm and Thai tapas dishes that were so good that often we did not bother going out for dinner, saving us a fortune.

But the BEST part about this resort were the staff. We have travelled broadly to many places around the world and the staff at this place were the best we've ever experienced by a wide margin. They were friendly, respectful, helpful, polite and could not do enough for us. This does not happen by accident and the management of Outrigger Laguna deserve a huge pat on the back for this achievement. We felt like we were leaving family when we departed the resort.

Room Tip: All rooms at this resort are identical, however you pay more for a beach view than a lagoon view. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ross L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have recently stayed at the refurbished Outrigger Laguna Resort in Phuket. First impressions were not too good after a mix up with our booking but that cannot be blamed on the hotel. Once we had the issue sorted we were given a ground floor sea view room, the view and convenience of just walking out your veranda doors on to the beach was priceless. The hotel was very quiet and didnt seem to be too busy as there was no one around after approx. 6pm at night - were did everyone go ?? I think if I was coming back to this hotel I would request a one bedroom suite as I would have really liked a wee bit more room, but that is just me !!! The shuttles around the resort are great, we took it to the other hotels and shopping village and found it not too far to walk into the village when we needed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had wonderful 12 days in the Outrigger Resort. Everything was close to perfection. The staff extremely friendly, courteous and helpful. Sometimes their English is limited to very basic standard answers. The layout of the resort with open lobby and corridors partially to the lagoon partially to the sea gives you a wonderful airy feeling. The breakfast in The Club or at the main buffet has been delicious. Why not also yellow mangoes at breakfast but only other not so ripe mangoes we did not understand. The room was very comfortable. Only for the bedside lighting the interior architect did not assume that anybody wants to read in bed.
All in all a great stay. At the start of the high season the number of guests increased considerably. At the end of the low season the rainy periods did not bother us at all.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Club room o ran front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wama10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Well, just back from this hotel and let me start from the hotel's advantages: beautifully surrounded by quiet laguna, noisy sea and nice swimming-pool, Outrigger is offering various ways to spend your time. The water is all around you, even inside the buidling, small waterfalls are making your inner relax and enjoy. Icon restaurant is quite good and the food is delicious though not so tasty like in local restaurants. Rooms are quite big and those facing laguna are really good.
Now back to the total dissappointment, step by step
I arrived and my check-up was quite long, appr 15 min. I spend another half an hour waiting for my friends to arrive. How was I surprised when coming to my room and i didn't see my luggage! 45 minutes and no luggage. I called twice to check for that and finalyy, after another 20 min of waiting i finally got it!
WiFi was not working, their IT people fixed that next day only. I called to the reception at 2am to heck if they can do that immediately but NOBODY picked up the phone nor nobody from room service did that
next day i returned from the beach at 3pm and decided to check a shower. I saw my room is not cleaned and i though "ok, if u are not cleaning ervery day - i would not die". Then staying naked i heard the door is opening and the room cleaner was going to enter it!!! I cried and closed the door but she insistenly wanted to open it no matter i was telling her to come next day. Good idea for manager of the hotel - your people should know at least some English words like "tomorrow", "not now".
The hotel should put a limitation for the number of Russians coming there. It's not possible to survive with all the chaos they are making. I'm Russian but these bloody people made me sick.
Tip to the hotel management - please put a note the hotel is for parents with kids. It would be fair to other guests which want to relax and not hear children's cryings.
The hotel announced itself as non-smoking though u could smoke on a small balcony in the room. So before going to your room please after check-in - please ask for the ashtray.
If u want to spend your time near the swimming pool - be an early bird. Reserve the place not later than 8:30 am, then Russians will come and reserve all row for themselves, family, friends, neighbours etc no matter if they need that or not.

Room Tip: ask for laguna view in the beach wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Nushkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
11.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
4.7 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
9.7 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,994 reviews
7.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,787 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
#8 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 323 Moo 2, Srisoonthorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Laguna Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Business Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between a tropical lagoon and the sparkling waters of the Andaman Sea, the property features the finest in accommodation – all completely renovated with modern interiors subtly blended with contemporary Thai touches.The resort occupies a prime position on the famed Bangtao beach where white sand and calm, clear waters combine to create an idyllic tropical setting. The absolute beachfront location provides easy access to beach activities for families and couples alike.For guests seeking a more personalized experience, the resort now boasts a dedicated Club floor (the only such facility in the area). Club floor guests will enjoy a private breakfast venue, snacks and drinks throughout the day and themed cocktail events in the evening.All guests also enjoy access to the Banyan Tree and Angsana Day Spas, championship 18 hole golf course, wedding chapel, and signing privileges at over 30 restaurants and bars that form part of the Laguna Destination Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Beach Hotel Thalang
Laguna Beach Thalang
Laguna Beach Phuket
Laguna Beach Resort Phuket
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing