We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Phuket Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Phuket Experience”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Friends of ours recommended the hotel. It was our sixth time in Phuket but first time at the Outrigger. The service throughout our stay was marvellous - the warm welcome by front desk staff, the service in the restaurants, at the pool bar or during dinner (lovely barbecue on the beach with great lobster and steak). Staff was very attentive and extremely friendly. Breakfast offers a variety of food from different countries, big selection. We saw Germans, Austrians, Swiss, Russians and Japanese and enjoyed this international atmosphere and the mix of families and couples. Our room was near the pool and the beach and had sea view and it was quiet, clean, comfortable with nice amenities. The wifi worked well even at the beach if you didn't walk too far away from the hotel. The fitness room is well equipped and clean and plenty of activities such as surfing lessons were available. The catamaran on the beach belongs to the hotel and was free of charge. we took it out one afternoon, it was in good shape and perfect to sail. One of the nicest hotels at one of the best beaches in Phuket, we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheepberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    301
    80
    25
    17
See reviews for
546
411
24
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

This property is absolutely beautiful. Too bad they do not have the service to go with it.

The bell men are absolutely great but once you get to your room forget it.

I saw one reviewer post that around the pool and beach area there were staff walking around just looking for guest to service. I can tell you while we were there they were nonexistent. For every drink that we wanted we had to go get. At one point I asked if I could order drinks and they just said yes then ignored me. Maybe that was too out of the box question because most service industry personnel would have asked how they could help. On our first night we sat next to the bar and had to ask for every drink.

The same is true with the restaurants. Breakfast buffet is great but the other food is mediocre at best. Once again service stinks and the attitude if their wait staff is not in the least bit friendly.

I read other reviewers complain about the Russian clientele and was offended by such remarks. I now understand why such mentions were made. As one reviewer points out there must be some heavy marketing in that country. Just a very rude and inebriated atmosphere.

To top it off on our last day there the couple we were with ran out of toilet paper in their bathroom, really unacceptable.

Really a shame because this could really be a nice resort. We will not return on our next visit to Phuket and will not recommend.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony P, General Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear L H
Thank-you for choosing to stay with us at the Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort and for taking the time to post your feedback.
I was disappointed to read your comments in relation to the service and attentiveness you experienced during your stay and would like to offer my sincere apologies for these shortcomings.
I will share your feedback with the team so that we can learn from your experience and improve the service we offer to all guests moving forward.
I hope you will reconsider your decision not to stay with us on your next visit to Phuket and would ask that if I can be of any assistance to you in the future then please do not hesitate to contact me at any time

With best regards
Tony Pedroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Our travel agency booked us at the Outrigger Laguna Resort and Villas. I clearly had asked for a resort ON THE BEACH. When we arrived at the Outrigger Beach Resort, surprise, they had no history of our booking. After 1hr of phone calls with our travel agency, convincing them that there really ARE two Outriggers in Phuket, they agreed to allow us to cancel our room at the Villas, and to book at the Beach resort instead, without penalty. Thank goodness! We came to Phuket for beach and sun... And thanks to the excellent front desk staff and manager, they gave us a room at the last minute during high season that met our expectations. In a most un-Thai-like manner, I arrived with my North American attitude demanding they sort out the problem with our room - and the staff tolerated my anger, and responded with smiles and helped however they could. I felt like a fool, and after I relaxed I apologized to them. The service at the front desk, and with the room cleaning staff, was particularly wonderful. The service at the bar area was quite good.

Our room was right along the beach. We had a nice private patio that we enjoyed in the evenings. No one had warned us about the cicadas! What an experience - every dusk and dawn they would buzz at great volume for about 10mins. Very cool.

The beach was well maintained, the water warm and calm. The water did have sea lice, which we were quick to experience as light pricks in your skin as you swim. It was annoying but didn't stop us from swimming. I windsurfed and stand-up paddle boarded along the beach every day. It was a great way to explore and get a workout at the same time. It also gave me a better idea of the jellyfish situation (as my Canadian gov't warned us about dangerous jellies around Phuket). Indeed, I did see a large number of large, magenta coloured jellies near the surface all along the beach. I would not want to swim into one of these fellas... So we wore our swimming goggles whenever we swam. Of course, the magenta jellies aren't particularly dangerous, it is the box jellies we needed to look out for, and they are uncoloured. Sure enough, in the evening on our walk home from a restaurant some 2km up the beach, we did spot a clear, box-shaped jelly washed up onto the shore. But it was the sole jelly we saw washed up in our 5 day stay.

We decided to take an afternoon snorkelling trip, so we hired a boat from the hotel to take us to a little island about a 30min longtail ride. It was my son's first real snorkelling experience - he quickly climatised and enjoyed the experience. The variety of fish and creatures was not particularly rich compared to our experiences in the Caribbean, but it was still worth it as it gave our son the confidence to enjoy snorkelling!

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor if you want a larger patio, a higher floor if you want privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mskullcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Overall the Outrigger makes a fantastic impression - with it's expansive pools, beach vista and impressive restaurant areas.

Pros: Excellent friendly attentive staff, well maintained, spotlessly clean, excellent pool areas, nice rooms with new bathrooms, kids club, everything is seamless.

Cons: The wifi is hopeless most of the day - slow and we ended up using roamed data. It's only ok in non peak times. The kids club has excellent staff but could do with additional toys/resources. Food and drink is 'Resort prices' - well it's a resort after all!

The last point might seem an odd one to mention but there are a lot of Russians that stay here (about 35% according to a staff member I was talking to). I'm sure there are nice Russians out there, but the majority seem rude and miserable. You'd have thought they were heading back to Siberia to work in underground salt mines after their holidays and they are quite snappy and rude to the Thai staff. All the best with meeting one that smiles.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkey_Kelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Hotel was on the beach - nice. That was about all that was nice. Service was the worst we experienced in Thailand--they seemed wayyyyy understaffed. Restaurant food was not good. Came home from a long day on a boat at 1530 and our room still hadn't been cleaned. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony P, General Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Jessica B,

Thank-you for choosing to stay with us at the Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort and for taking the time to post your review. I was disappointed to read that your stay at our resort was less than satisfactory, as we genuinely strive to provide a level of friendly and attentive service synonymous with Thailand. While your comment related to the restaurants came as quite a surprise as we are generally praised for both the quality and variety on offer, I certainly agree that your room should have been tidied prior to your return at 3:30pm and do apologize for the inconvenience this must have caused.
I am sorry that we were not able to leave you with more positive memories of our resort, but do hope that despite this your stay in Thailand was a relaxing and enjoyable one.

With best regards

Tony Pedroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I stayed there for 7 nights, and it was the best hotel, i've ever been to. The staff is always nice and very attentive. The rooms are nice and big and the view out of the window is beautiful. The breakfast buffet is quite large and the food very diverse and tasty. The beach is the most perfect thing about this hotel. It is very nice but there are not so many people there. It's just the hotel guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilikecars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Our beach view room was as described, beautiful views. The room was clean and all amenities in place. The room was cool and well appointed. Everyone (staff) at the resort was very welcoming all greeting you as you walked through the resort. The breakfast was amazing and we preferred the Al-a-carte from the Club. The Club also had free drinks (non-alcoholic) all day. We ate at two hotel restaurants and both were excellent and the BBQ on the beach was to die for. Next to the hotel beach, on the LHS are some good value shops and we found an amazing hidden restaurant called A-Loma Seafood. - The Indian food is probably the best I've ever tasted ! We travelled without kids but will definitely take them next time. The pool and beach are good. For young children they bring in this cute little elephant every morning!

Room Tip: Beach side is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
11.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
#8 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
7.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,344 reviews
11.7 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 323 Moo 2, Srisoonthorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Laguna Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Business Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between a tropical lagoon and the sparkling waters of the Andaman Sea, the property features the finest in accommodation – all completely renovated with modern interiors subtly blended with contemporary Thai touches.The resort occupies a prime position on the famed Bangtao beach where white sand and calm, clear waters combine to create an idyllic tropical setting. The absolute beachfront location provides easy access to beach activities for families and couples alike.For guests seeking a more personalized experience, the resort now boasts a dedicated Club floor (the only such facility in the area). Club floor guests will enjoy a private breakfast venue, snacks and drinks throughout the day and themed cocktail events in the evening.All guests also enjoy access to the Banyan Tree and Angsana Day Spas, championship 18 hole golf course, wedding chapel, and signing privileges at over 30 restaurants and bars that form part of the Laguna Destination Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Beach Hotel Thalang
Laguna Beach Thalang
Laguna Beach Phuket
Laguna Beach Resort Phuket
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing