We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Have fun”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed this hotel for 2 days. The first impression is the hotel is big and the needs 5 mins walk from the lobby to the room. That is fine and we like to have a quiet room with more privacy.

We have a lagoon view room and we love it. More importantly, we can enjoy a lot more privacy. Anyway, the room is impressive and all are new and modern.

The only drawback and I believe the most disadvantage is about the soundproof. There is a door connected to the room next door and I believe it increase the flexibility for a family needs 2 rooms. Unfortunately, on the second night, a Chinese mainlander moved in and they talked loudly. We can even not heard what the TV said. We made a complaint to the reception and they called my neighbor immediately. Few minutes later, the hotel staff called me back said all Chinese speaking staff have gone (around 11pm) and he/she could only explained the situation to my neighbor in English. He/she not sure whether my neighbor understood or not and if we could called the reception again if we heard more noise. (What a great service!?) Eventually, we needed to suffer their noise 30 minutes more. The services provided by the staff was very disappointing. Why he/she did not come over to the room and explain the situation? I believe body language would work!!

I like the swimming pool a lot and the slide is fun. The water is clean and they provided beach towel and lemon water free. Highly recommended for those visitors with kids.

The beach is totally different from the photo on the official webpage. The beach is not quite suitable for doing sunbathe and swimming.

They gym is small but sufficient for doing various exercises. It only opens till 9pm and I believe it will be better opens till 11pm.

Candy (the female elephant) goes out twice everyday. She is smart and cute. Do not miss it!! (I truly believe the hotel treats her very well. Her body is very clean.)

The restaurant is good. The price is very reasonable and very similar to the price level outside.

The wifi in the room is slow. I cannot connect to wifi in gym. The best places to have wifi is in the restaurants and swimming pool.

Room Tip: The soundproof needs to be greatly improved. It really a great problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    850
    312
    82
    28
    17
See reviews for
578
429
28
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suva, Fiji
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

My friend is a runner and was disappointed at several hotels in Phuket for lack of running space. Another friend recommended this hotel as they organise annual marathons here. What a lovely green area. Fresh and delicious breakfast. Finally we found the first sugar free yogurt in Thailand here! Excellent room facilities. The hotel faces the lagoon and the beach but swimming in the sea in July is hardly possible as the entrance is very steap and it's stormy nearly all the time. The beach is long and beautiful for nice daily walks. Some nice restaurants around the lagoon of which we recommend Lotus.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights in July (2 adults, 4 kids), and loved it. Impeccable, stylish rooms, very comfortable, though spent all day at pool and waterslide (adults too, such fun). Khun Golf deserves very special mention - absolutely amazing with children of all ages. The Outrigger had a relaxed vibe, and friendly staff (Knot & Irina very welcoming at reception). Be careful when booking that you choose Outrigger Beach Resort, as Outrigger Resort & Villas not the same thing, very confusing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ing17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort (OR) is set in a sprawling hotel/resort area neighbouring the likes of Banyan Tree, Dusit Thani and Angsana amongst others. These resorts are separated by lagoons and lakes making them distinct yet well connected by a laguna ferry system and laguna shuttle service.

Beware that there is another property on site that carries the Outrigger name (but these are villas and longer term apartments).

OR has two restaurants and a smaller beach cafe. It has three levels of swimming pools (a rectangle pool for quieter and more serious swimming; a large, off shaped pool with a nice 1.5 storey water chute that even adults enjoy; and a kids pool). In addition it has a games room (with X-Box, Nintendo and PS3 consoles), a squash court, two badminton courts and a tennis court. It has a not too big gym. It also has a well equipped marine centre with catamarans, canoes, windsurfing equipment. Lastly a secure kids centre.

We took two club lagoon view interconnecting rooms. This property has been recently renovated, so the rooms are well appointed and new. The club rooms allowed us to use the club for free flow of non-alcoholic drinks through out the day, a tea time with finger food (1400 to 1730) and then warm food and cocktails (including alcoholic drinks) from 1800 to 1930.

Best of all there was good speed internet at all areas and a decent activity programme throughout the day to keep everyone happy!

What we did?

+ My wife and I spent a lot of time at the club (!!) and the Angsana massage (there are four in the laguna area). I selected two times of the Angsana treatment...try it!
+ I played golf once at the Laguna Phuket (only one nine opened, the second is under maintenance), visited the gym several times
+ My children and I were at the marine centre almost everyday and tried everything (including lessons by the hotel staff in sailing and canoeing). We also spent a lot of time swimming and walking by the Bang Tao beach (just next to the hotel).
+ My 14 yo son loved the games room
+ My 10 yo daughter participated in a number of kids club activities, the water chute, horse riding (1,000THB per person a hour at a nearby horse riding provider)
+ Our family visited the elephant safari at Bang Pae. The elephant ride was good but the place is not well maintained.
+ We also did not eat at the hotel all the time. There are some nearby restaurants near the hotel (Thai restaurant - Lotus was brilliant; and Black Cat are two restaurants we would highly recommend)
+ Of course we rented a Toyota Vios for 1,000THB a day from a nearby provider and drove into Phuket town and visited severla Buddhist Wats (Chalong and Phra Tong)

The staff were brilliant right from check in to the last man at the marine centre.

It was a great stay for us and we would come back! If there were anything to be improved, I would propose that the two restaurants provide options at better prices. The Mezzo restaurant should also add some creativity to its menu to attract more diners.

And yeah...did we tell you that the hotel has a pet elephant (Candy) that visits the pool and plays with the children twice a day?

Room Tip: Take a club room...well worth the value you are paying...plus discount at the spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fibreace380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed here in low season July for a couple of nights.

Hotel room: We had the lagoon room on the ground floor with a beautiful view of the grounds and lagoon. It and the bathroom were beautifully decorated and the daybed can be converted to a double bed for kids and was also very comfortable (it's good to know that at this hotel a child is under 13 rather than the usual under 12 - huge plus and I wish other hotels would follow this lead as most people think of their 12 year old as a child). I recommend getting the ground floor room so you have more outside space...unless you have small children who could access the lagoon from there.

Grounds: The pools were perfect for the kids and one had a slide which was well used. There was waterpolo which kids and adults participated in a couple of times a day. The guys (Root, Golf etc.) who run the club and games were great with the kids. The atmosphere was good with no stuck up attitude or too many rules.

Location: Don't get confused between this hotel and the other one with almost the same name which isn't on the beach called Outrigger Laguna Phuket Villas. This one (ULPBR) It's right on Bang Tao beach which was rough and not safe for swimming in low season (high season should be fine), but this didn't matter as we used the pools. I booked the wrong hotel and thankfully I was able to cancel and re-book this one so thanks to everyone for being so understanding at both hotels and at Agoda.

Eating: There are a few restaurants that you can walk to along the beach. If you head left you will reach the Bliss beach club which is kid friendly and does tasty meals and has a kids menu. You can also hire a beach bed and towel there and it has a small pool. If you head into Bang Tao village, good restaurants are the Bistro (good for western and Thai) and Emmy (Thai).

The only gripe was the live music which they played in the restaurant in the evenings. I like live music but unfortunately because the hotel is surrounded by the beautiful lagoon, any music playing gets distorted when it travels, so if you decide to hang out in your hotel room our enjoy the outside patio, you can't escape the music.

We loved the relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and beautiful hotel and would definitely return!

Room Tip: If you get the lagoon view room (the cheapest option) request a ground floor room which has a nice p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotdog6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is first class . Staff are excellent and very helpful . Rooms are tastefully laid out and very comfortable . The only thing that would stop me giving this hotel 5 out of 5 is the balcony. We booked a sea view room but in reality the balcony only has a partial view of the sea ,as a wall runs down the right hand side obescuring part of the view. Other than this minor irritation this is a excellent hotel and we still have another 5 days to enjoy

Room Tip: If you are booking a sea view room make sure it is a full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony P, General Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear william a
Thank-you for choosing to spend your holiday with us at the Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort. I am delighted that you are enjoying your stay and would like to thank-you for highlighting the service you have received. I do hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Phuket and would ask if there is anything I can do to make your stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time
With very best regards
Tony Pedroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We spent two nights at this resort at the start of our recent two week break in Thailand and though the resort is attractive, the customer service left a lot to be desired. When we arrived at the resort after 15 hours of travel, we received a 20 minute sales pitch trying to get us to upgrade our room (at extortionate cost, including 20€pp for breakfast!). This was the last thing we wanted at that moment and it was surely obvious from our unimpressed reaction. When we refused for the fifth time, we were finally shown to our rooms, which happened to be placed as far from the pool and beach as possible (about a 6/7 minute walk as it's a big place). It seemed pretty obvious to us that this was a punishment for not agreeing to the upgrade. This soured our whole stay at the resort, even though the rooms were very comfortable and there was a nice pool. However, the beach is not great - it's very steep and no one was supervising swimmers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony P, General Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Peter M
Thank-You for choosing to spend part of your two week Thailand trip with us at the Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort. I was happy to note that you found the resort to be attractive but would like to offer my sincere apologies for the poor arrival experience you encountered. We clearly overstepped the line and I am truly sorry that it negatively impacted your impression of the service offered at the resort. I do hope that despite this you enjoyed your time in Phuket and had a memorable trip to Thailand
With very best regards
Tony Pedroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
11.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
4.7 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
9.7 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,993 reviews
7.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 327 in Patong
5,785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
#8 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 323 Moo 2, Srisoonthorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Laguna Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Business Hotel in Choeng Thale
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between a tropical lagoon and the sparkling waters of the Andaman Sea, the property features the finest in accommodation – all completely renovated with modern interiors subtly blended with contemporary Thai touches.The resort occupies a prime position on the famed Bangtao beach where white sand and calm, clear waters combine to create an idyllic tropical setting. The absolute beachfront location provides easy access to beach activities for families and couples alike.For guests seeking a more personalized experience, the resort now boasts a dedicated Club floor (the only such facility in the area). Club floor guests will enjoy a private breakfast venue, snacks and drinks throughout the day and themed cocktail events in the evening.All guests also enjoy access to the Banyan Tree and Angsana Day Spas, championship 18 hole golf course, wedding chapel, and signing privileges at over 30 restaurants and bars that form part of the Laguna Destination Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Beach Hotel Thalang
Laguna Beach Thalang
Laguna Beach Phuket
Laguna Beach Resort Phuket
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing