We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing go there”
Review of The Surin Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Surin Phuket
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2012

28th June 2012 we were married at The Surin Phuket. It is truly the most amazing spot, and Khun bat (the wedding planner) and Antonio (The General manager) , went over and beyond the duty to make this the most special day of our lives. The setting, the food, the cocktails and amazing friendly service were out of this world. And yes I know it was our wedding day so we are bound to romanticise over the day, but having extensively travelled and stayed at some of the worlds greatest luxury hotels this place is very very special.

My one bit of advice is if you are thinking of getting married there, just do it. If you are thinking of holidaying there just do it.

Amazing and we will always be so grateful for all the unexpected little touches they did for us

Thank you Khun Bat, Antonio and the whole team at the Surin, see you again soon!

Leon and Charlie

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Le0nCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTHESURINPHUKET, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear C & L,

Thank you for your kind words and the great review. It has been a pleasure having you all at The Surin Phuket, it was a great party and got us in to gear for the reopening.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Antonio, Bat and The Surin Phuket team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,238 - 1,244 of 2,005 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed at the Surin for four nights in March 2012. The hotel is fantastic - beautiful grounds and spacious rooms. One aspect of the hotel that I appreciated is its location; only about 20 minutes from the airport which makes it simple to transfer and start enjoying your holiday.

We received a complimentary upgrade and as such I would definitely recommend staying in the rooms which are closer to the beach. The hotel grounds are quite large and the rooms that are set behind the main hotel building, up on the hill, are a decent walk from the beach. The airy and large rooms are definitely appreciated if the weather turns! They are a lovely place to read and relax. There is a sense of relaxed luxury that is hard to come by at other hotels.

The beach is stunning and plenty of sunbeds - although it did look very full most days and I wouldn't be surprised if some people did miss out. Food is great, especially the buffet breakfast, which I think is the best breakfast I have ever had at a hotel! Cocktails are nice too, but as another reviewer states, the prices can be misleading on the menu.

Some aspects of the hotel were not quite what I expected for the price - a few small issues with service that I wouldn't expect at a five star hotel. However overall our stay was great and although I found it very pricy, I would love to stay here again if returning to Phuket. I would caution against the hotel for older customers - lots of steps and walking between rooms and restaurants etc. But I would definitely recommend the Surin for couples, it is beautiful and romantic.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money and go for the rooms closer to the beach - most have a sea view and I think they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTHESURINPHUKET, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Dasha,

We would like to thank you for the wonderful review and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Antonio Saponara
General Manager
gm@thesurinphuket.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Myself and my wife spent 5 days at the Surin in Nov 2010 and the place was amazing.Ill keep it simple..The rooms (huts) are lovely,i found the beds on the hard side..but thats thailand everywhere!!..The staff are very friendly and helpful..The food is lovely but expensive,the best thing though is the private beach and the amazing surroundings of the hotel itself,it really is mindblowing...The only niggle is that it really would not be suitable for anyone with a disability or with difficulty mobilising as the resort is literally built into the side of a cliff!!!....Perfect for couples relaxing on honeymoon or special holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTHESURINPHUKET, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear Pika,

Thank you very much for the lovely review. We are awaiting your return to experience the new resort. We have just reopenend following an extensive renovation that transformed The Chedi in to the beautiful The Surin Phuket.

Warm regards,

Antonio Saponara
General Manager
gm@thesurinphuket.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Money and an I-phone were stolen from the room of a friend during the first night. Management ignored the problem. Merjin Wessel, an assistant manager, even failed to cooperate with the police. It was discovered later that the safes all have a simple default number. The hotel should have known this.

Also, the hotel pressured the local police to quash an inquiry.

No honor, no class.

At your own peril.

And...the pillow was dirty

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Corybantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear Guest,
We are horrified to read this review. I can assume you are referring to a claim we received in April.
Note that according to our findings we cannot establish that any items had been removed from your friend's room. Please note that our rooms are equipped with RFID locks with unique ID of all persons entering/exiting the room. According to the electronic key reading only the guest locked and unlocked the room during the stay. We also know how many keys we "cut" and there was no other key with that unique code that the ones handed to the guest. From our investigation we also recorded that when our team inspected the room the safe was locked and all windows were shut. With regard to the safe, in our investigation it is reported that upon asking the guest to open the safe the guest could not remember the correct code. Also note that our safes do not have a default code; it can be opened only with an override software or master key and the devices are securely kept and can be operated only by the Front Office Manager and his deputies.
I also would like to clarify that we had welcomed the police to investigate, it is in our interest to ensure that our guests feel safe at The Surin. But the officers felt it was not necessary to fingerprint or question all the employees on the claims of the guests because it appeared to them that they could not justify such action in the absence of any minimal proof that a burglary had happened. The police is in possession of our incident report and we had notified the guest that we would be pleased to assist further. In our report I also read of threats made by the guest to issue defamatory statements against The Surin claiming to be connected to big media. In the days following the alleged incident we received calls from a person connected to the guest, again making threats. We politely dismissed the caller after explaining that we had done all we could to assist the guest.
Although I was not on property I had been immediately notified by Merijn and I know that all actions taken by him were prompt, professional and in the interest of the guests. I find it an offence to read that we at The Surin have tried to quash the police inquiry.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to have further clarifications on the alleged incident.

I would like to take the opportunity to reassure our loyal tripadvisor readers that The Surin Phuket takes the safety of its guests of utmost importance. Thailand is known as the land of smiles, referring to the graciousness and hospitality of its people. However proper cautions should always be taken, just like when traveling anywhere else. For this reason we have in place modern amenities and services as offered in other world class resorts (RFID lock systems, IP-IR cameras, e-patrol systems, 24hrs security) to ensure that our guests security arrangements is appropriate.

Best regards,

Antonio Saponara
General Manager
gm@thesurinphuket.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This hotel was recommended to my fiance and myself and we could not be happier with the choice. This resort is nestled on a secluded beach (shared with only one other resort) and offers a number of accommodation options from hillside rooms to beachfront suites. The staff were warm and friendly and the quality of the food and drink options at the hotel's restaurant and bars were great. There is also a Jet ski company right on the beach which we used everyday. Surin beach is the perfect place to relax and unwind and is only a 30 min tax ride to Patong should the party mood strike.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DStran12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Daniel,

Warm greetings from Phuket.

I would like to thank you for your very positive review.
I am pleased to announce that we are reopening on schedule on 16th July and look forward to welcoming you back to experience yet another great beach holiday at The Surin Phuket.

With best regards,

Antonio Saponara
General Manager
gm@thesurinphuket.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed for a week at the hill villas and arrive late due to our flight delayed from malaysia.and staff at the reception was prepared a platter of club sandwich with some juices served during our arrival at the lobby.it was very excellent and fantastic experience they are all pleasant and very friendly staff always assist us for what our needs.food and service was really amazing.room was very clean.they also provide some complimentary transportation tour to phuket town.we enjoyed so much Swimming on the white sandy beach.and during our stay we prepared to have some dinner out of the hotel.just a few minutes walk a lot of thai and seafood restaurant along the road and surin beach i was remember lemongrass restaurant serving thai curries.som tam and tomyam was really fantastic meal.Thank you for all the great staff who makes my holiday soo special.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravenum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Phuket.

Thank you very much for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to The Surin Phuket in the near future.

Best Regards,

Antonio Saponara
General Manager
gm@thesurinphuket.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Where should I start? The chalets are lovely: large, nicely decorated, spotless. Bed is very comfortable. The beakfast buffet is rich and delicious. Food is alway good or very good. Very nice the buffet on the beach (twice a week) even though the price is a little steep. The pool is OK: not so big ... but big enough for the size of the hotel. The beach is the best part: probably one of the best in the whole Phuket island. White sand, palms, quiteness, and very privative. Service is super friendly, super polite, super attentive. The management is in fact generally excellent. Spa is quite small but the massesuses are excellent. The gym could stay open a little longer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bart v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTHESURINPHUKET, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear Bart,

I would like to thank you for your kind words. Your review is very motivating for our dedicated team. With regard to the gym we have taken the advice of our guests and the new opening hours are from 7am to 9pm. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Surin Phuket.

Warm regards,

Antonio Saponara
General Manager
gm@thesurinphuket.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
12.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#2 of 36 in Choeng Thale
513 reviews
9.9 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#3 of 36 in Choeng Thale
770 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#8 of 97 in Thalang District
1,961 reviews
6.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surin Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surin Phuket

Address: 118 Moo 3, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#8 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range: £143 - £740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surin Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surin Phuket is an exclusive beach retreat for discerning travelers, families and couples seeking relaxation and indulgence in a serene beachfront setting. A member of Design Hotels™ and located on the tranquil Pansea Beach on the west coast of Phuket Island, Thailand. Offering a total of 103 hillside and beachfront cottages and suites all discreetly built into a carefully conserved landscape amidst coconut trees and gently sloping down to meet a small coral reef. The Surin, Phuket offers a contemporary Thai experience in timeless simplicity and modern sophistication. Shaded by a canopy of coconut trees and joined together by a network of jungle walkways the Hillside Cottages are just the things for guests who wish to experience a tropical rustic experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Surin Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surin Phuket Hotel Thalang
Chedi Phuket Hotel Thalang
Chedi Phuket Thalang
Chedi Hotel Phuket
The Surin Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing