We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet top end style in busy Phuket”
Review of The Surin Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Surin Phuket
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
geneve
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quiet top end style in busy Phuket”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We are just ending a wonderful stay at the Surin ! It delivered on all our expectations, although our choice to go to busy Phuket when we love small boutique hotels and exclusive "far away from the crowd" experiences could have made it quite a challenge.

The Surin is nestled in the gorgeous and quiet "Pansea" beach, and gives you the ultimate feeling of peaceful luxury in what is a very busy and touristic island overall.

All rooms are very nicely decorated (the hotel was just renovated) in a zen type atmosphere of white and light greys with accents of lime green. Our room was spatious and very confortable, including a huge bathroom with both bath and shower, and a seating area/ 2nd room that can sleep up to two kids. We even had an ipod deck and nespresso machine !
What makes the Surin stand out in Phuket is that somehow the hotel staff have managed to find an agreement with the local families around so that the beach feels private (although it is not). This is very much appreciated as it avoids the very unpleasant atmosphere of side by side sunbeds and parasols that populate it seems every beach of the Phuket west coast. There are locals offering drinks, snacks and massages at reasonable prices on the beach. Of course you can get drinks at The Surin's beach bar and order a variety of Thai or continental food there as well. Drinking water is free.
The pool is nice and not over crowded. The beach is clean and the water crystal clear. Many watersports are complementary (catamaran sailing, paddle board, windsurfing, snorkeling). There is also a great gym with top end equipment.
We did appreciate the food, although prices compare mostly to european prices vs local Thai prices. But some of the food experiences they propose and that we chose to do, made our stay at the Surin really special. We had a private barbecue on our terrasse. Also we tried the candle light Thai dinner in the middle of the beach. Ended in a high with the release of sky lantern. So romantic ! Great food with high quality fresh products (including lobster and tiger prawns), both dinners included a combination of 4 different dishes both for staters and entrees and came in huge quantities when you added it all !

The only watchout is that your choice of room might change your perception of the resort. We stayed in the Deluxe beach suites (the most expensive ones, right on the beach). Although all rooms are nicely decorated and spatious enough, the superior or hillside cottages would take you many stairs to go down to the pool or the beach, which would deprive you from the peaceful beach experience and make it quite unpleasant if you'd forgot your book or sunscreen ! Also, some of the guests here seem to be of the type to wake up early to "book" the sunbeds. The accomodation options on the beach (Deluxe beach suite and beach studio) allow you to have your private sunbeds on your terrasse and prevent you from the need of any morning rush ! Now, if all sunbeds were eventually taken, the staff made sure you found a space and set up something for you.

Room Tip: I would actually only recommend rooms close to the beach (ie beqach Deluxe suite, beach studio or De...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeansilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,312
    365
    83
    36
    21
See reviews for
403
1,037
58
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

The best beach. The best service. The staff name Tatum is very helpful. V impressive services. The staff are very helpful toO. The beach was very clean. One thing was there were too many steps. The breakfast was ok. There should be an elevator.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pim1188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THESURINPHUKET, Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Guests,

We would like to sincerely thank you for the wonderful review and especially the feedback about our team. It is nice to read that their genuine efforts do not go unnoticed.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Surin.

Warm regards,

Nicolas Ilickovic
Executive Asst. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed in March 2012. Despite arriving at 1am, the staff were very welcoming and showed us to our stunning room. We could hear the sea below, but it wasnt until we flung open the windows the next morning you fully appreciate the setting. Its a glorious beach and not overly populated with hotels which is ideal.
The breakfast was delicious, as was the other food during our stay.
The fitness room was good enough for a daily workout.
The sea was lovely to swim in.
What more could you want?

My only minor negative would be the pool is not that attractive as its black! You are on the beach so just swim in the sea instead....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RupertPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

The Surin is an amazing hotel, surrounded by greenery and tranquility.
The staff are among the friendliest I have ever come across. Nothing is too much. They upgraded us from a room to 2 apartments as there were four of us so we wanted a bit more space. They did not charge us a penny more and were all too pleased to help us out.
The breakfast was fantastic, looked forward to this everyday.
We had dinner at both restaurants a couple of nights as well - the fixed menu for two people is really good value.
Food at the Surin was faultless.
The private beach is a massive positive. The family with the drink/ice-cream business that come round are adorable and great to chat to. There is also a pool bar which serves any cocktail you request. We made good friends with Mee and Chet who are lovely chaps and a big asset to The Surin. They kept us entertained all day, and were more than happy to go above and beyond.
We visited some great restaurants and bought one of the day tours on the beach which was great.
I would love to return to Phuket again, and would not stay anywhere other than The Surin.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anisabottrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We came to Phuket on honeymoon and stayed at three hotels, the Ibis in Patong, The Surin and then the Dewa at Nai Yang. The Surin was by far and away the best as would be expected, however we wanted to stress the amount of difference was huge. We were in a delightful Hill cottage which kept us super fit as there were 175 steps from beach to our room. This wasn't a problem for us but may be for others. We loved the privacy it afforded. The watersports provided provided on the beach were excellent, with kayaking, stand up paddle boarding, sailing and windsurfing and the beach was the most beautiful we saw in Phuket. The fact that the hotel works with the locals to encourage them to sell their wares in a very toned down and respectable, unobtrusive way was greatly appreciated and the locals prices are much better than the hotels although of course you realize when purchasing that it does not have the guarantee of quality that the Surin's own products whether they be drinks or clothes provide. Thank you to all the staff who were so courteous to us.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WillTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

The only reason I can think as to why this resort does not rate much higher than it does is that it has a wide range of accommodation, some of which is set back some way from the beach, and perhaps that rates less well? The resort is almost split in two with reception and facilities in the middle, and the more expensive accommodation layered down to the beach with hillside cottages above reception. A fair mention is made of stairs and there are maybe 50 or so between reception and the beach, but we never found it an issue.

We had a beachfront cottage and a delux cottage both of which were excellent. There appeared to be little difference between them, other than the position, but the beachfront cottage had a bath in addition to the shower, and also had a Nepresso machine. The cottages are beautifully set in natural bush, have been recently renovated and whilst not up to the very high standard set by say Andara or The Shore, have a great deal of charm and are very much in keeping with the setting I was surprised to see that most of the cottages in the delux and superior category seemed to have some form of sea views, and often very good views. The beachfront cottages are of course well positioned but to be honest we spent so much time on the beach that it hardly mattered! All the lower cottages are close to the sea and you hear the sea at night!

The beach is the best we have seen in Phuket, about 300m long and given its geography shared only by The Surin and Amanpuri. There is no public access other than by boat or a tough climb over rocks. Effectively this is a private beach and we hardly saw more than 10-20 people in the water across the whole beach! This is not a beach with hundreds of umbrellas. The water is beautifully clear and clean. Sure, a few vendors who were so nice and graciously accepted every rejection; we were very happy to support them where we could. The breakfasts were excellent and the other meals we had were very good but at "resort" prices. We walked into Surin Beach most evenings for drinks and dinner, a 10-15 minute walk. One small criticism is that I think the hotel could run a shuttle in the evenings, people are going to walk to town anyway so why not add a service? We also used the spa and had a great experience. Staff were fantastic, particularly the watersport team. We also saw the manager around a fair bit, taking care of any issues arising.

Overall, this is the total package given the accommodation we had. We have been fortunate enough to stay in some of the best rated resorts in Phuket over the past few years and I would rate this as my favorite, with the private beach a fair contributor to this view. It is also very well priced compared to some of the other top rated resorts. Deserves a top rating and we hope to be back many times in the future after this, our first visit.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank tony_cleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
295 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Spent six nights here at the end our trip to SE Asia. It was definitely the best of the trip and the days just rolled into one another and it was genuinely relaxing.

The principle advantages of this hotel are:

1. Great beach - semi-private, clean with a fun sized swell and a swimming platform.
2. Great design - Ed Tuttle who has designed many of the best Aman hotels designed this - it's walkways are similar to Amankila in Bali (my favourite hotel in the world)
3. Proximity to the Amanpuri at the other end - simply a fabulous experience for dinner by the pool in the evening.

The generous supply of water was appreciated as so many hotel nickel 'n' dime water - it was great to have housekeeping drop off 12 packs of water most days.

Many on TA have commented on the food - it divides opinion - whilst the food was not the best thai food in Phuket, we ate at the beach restaurant every day and found that we liked it. However, the service, location and personality of the staff elevated the place beyond the sum of it's parts. We did have to return a seafood laksa as it wasn't fresh, however they will make a chicken or pork laksa and other things off the menu if asked. We ordered pizzas one night for room service and they were surprisingly good. This shows a smart management tactic - guests (and kids in particular) love pizza, the margins on pizza are great and the GM is Italian I think - so it's logical as well as a good idea.

Breakfast was good (if you go early it becomes a bit of scrum by 9AM). Lots of good fruit - including mangosteens and passion fruit - and even my wife's requests for iced coffee was met with some creative interpretations.

Many have also commented on the beach service. There is a locals operation to deliver drinks, coconuts etc and we found this a good thing - they were super friendly and what's not to like about cool coconut water when it's 95 degrees? That said, we always sat away from the bar area as it was quieter and are not "wait on hand and foot type people".

The staff are intuative as well and will remember what you like to drink etc. - really apreciated. They were a nice bunch one and all.

Spa is also good - good quality massages despite having to wear disposable "bank robber" pants. We had two and I recommend those with an evening flight to have one before the transfer to airport - you can shower and change in the spa.

There is also debate about if this hotel is 4* or 5* - who cares, I genuinely loved this place and whilst I am not a big fan of repetition, preferring to seek out new experiences, I would most definitely return.

The only thing that slightly jarred - and this is no fault of the hotel - is that a lot of guests are from Northern Europe, so lounger bagging is rife and the Teutonic tribes are uber-keen to mark their territory - be prepared and go early if a prime spot in the same place each day is important to you.

It's excellent value and a well run hotel in a beautiful place - you won't want to leave.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank coops9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
12.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
472 reviews
9.9 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#9 of 96 in Thalang District
1,865 reviews
6.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
5,515 reviews
12.9 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surin Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surin Phuket

Property: The Surin Phuket
Address: 118 Moo 3, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#8 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surin Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surin Phuket is an exclusive beach retreat for discerning travelers, families and couples seeking relaxation and indulgence in a serene beachfront setting. A member of Design Hotels™ and located on the tranquil Pansea Beach on the west coast of Phuket Island, Thailand.Offering a total of 103 hillside and beachfront cottages and suites all discreetly built into a carefully conserved landscape amidst coconut trees and gently sloping down to meet a small coral reef. The Surin, Phuket offers a contemporary Thai experience in timeless simplicity and modern sophistication. Shaded by a canopy of coconut trees and joined together by a network of jungle walkways the Hillside Cottages are just the things for guests who wish to experience a tropical rustic experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Surin Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surin Phuket Hotel Thalang
Chedi Phuket Hotel Thalang
Chedi Phuket Thalang
Chedi Hotel Phuket
The Surin Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing