We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic in every way”
Review of The Surin Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Surin Phuket
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic in every way”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have just returned from an amazing two week trip to Thailand for our wedding and honeymoon. The first week was spent at The Surin for our wedding and we couldn't possibly have asked for a more perfect venue, team and time. Khun Bat and the rest of her team looked after us amazingly and we can't thank them enough. The organisation during the lead up to the wedding was smooth and painless and very thorough. The day itself went exceptionally smoothly with everything under control by the Surin team. The food was out of this world with just about every guest commenting 'this is the best wedding food I've ever had' - and we have some very 'foody' friends and family!

Our stay for the week was fantastic. We had a large group of about 40 friends and family all staying with us at the resort and everyone had an absolute ball. The location of the hotel is ideal - as you are removed enough from the hustle and bustle and basically have one of the best beaches in Phuket on your doorstep and all to yourselves (albeit with the fantastic service available from the one family of beach vendors) - yet, you can also easily wander down the hill to nearby Surin beach bars for a more adventurous night out.

The food was all fantastic and reasonably priced, starting with breakfast (which rates right up there with the Ritz breakfasts we enjoyed during our second week in Thailand!), to the tasty pizzas and snack menu available around the pool to the more formal dinner offerings.

We scored a massage from the spa treatment and although I'm not much of a spa/massage guy, I did thoroughly enjoy it. As did others from our group who tried them out. Many of our group also enjoyed some of the beach massages which don't quite give you the overall experience and pampering of the hotel spa - are a 'bit' cheaper:)

All in all we had a very memorable week at The Surin and I couldn't fault it.

If you're considering staying there, I would definitely recommend it. Don't let the stairs put you off, we had a number of 'prams' within our group and whilst this was at times a pain for people it certainly didn't offset the overall experience of a fantastic hotel/resort.

If you're considering The Surin as a wedding destination - I'd embrace it. Don't worry about wedding planners and the like - as Khun Bat and her team are more than capable of looking after your needs - they are truly fantastic and made our wedding absolutely perfect.

Looking forward to future visits for anniversaries!

Room Tip: Splash out for a beach front villa - you won't regret it as the views from the rooms and easy ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roamingfellowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMoreira, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
All in all we had a very memorable week at The Surin and I couldn't fault it. ....


On behalf of Khun Bat and her Team, as well as all the remaining Team of the Surin Phuket, thank you!
It is always a reward to read such encouraging comments.

Thank you!
MHM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,320
    366
    83
    36
    21
See reviews for
406
1,041
58
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The Surin is a lovely resort, situated on a gorgeous private, sandy beach with crystal clear water.
The accommodation is very comfortable without being "over the top". The rooms have everything you could need and we especially appreciated the constant and plentiful supply of bottled water.
We attended a wedding which was absolutely perfect in every way! All the details were managed by the hotel which left the bride and groom (and their families) free to relax and enjoy a very special few days with friends and family. We were very lucky to have had perfect weather which topped off a great stay. BEWARE it's very steep and some of our friends had over 200 steps from the lobby up to their hillside rooms! Folk should really take this into consideration when deciding which type of room to choose. Food prices at the resort are reasonable, and snacks are available on the beach from local families very cheaply. It's about a 10 minute walk around to Surin Beach where there are shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lid60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMoreira, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Wonderful resort...

Thank you for taking your time to write your review and share with all Travelers your experience.
We all will be waiting for your return!

Thank you!
MHM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had just 4 days off work and we wanted to rest. We found en excellent service, extremely clean, very good food by chef Alberto and Thai delicatessen.
The pool was excellent and the gym has everything you need to have.
The SPA is clean and quiet: what you need to relax!
If you have little time like me, it's an excellent place to spend 3/4 days and relax completely.

Room Tip: If you want to stay by the beach, avoid the hillside cottages. Cottages around the pool might have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 001_wasobia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMoreira, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
We found en excellent service, extremely clean, very good food by chef Alberto and Thai delicatessen....

We all will be waiting for your next 3/4 days break, or even more if you have the opportunity!
On behalf of my Team thank you for your review and positive comments.

Thank you!
MHM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were upgraded on arrival to a room closer to the beach - room 333. This was brilliant as we were moments from the sand and beach. When we return next we will NOt book a hillside cottage as they are way up the hill and too far from the beach.
Our first night was interrupted until midnight with wedding music. The restaurant where they hold weddings it right near the cluster of cottages we were in. The surin were apologetic when I called to query whether weddings would be held every night(no) and gave both of us a free spa treatment which was very much appreciated. Before booking or at check in, ask about the weddings though because in high season it could be an issue.
The restaurant food was great, breakfast plentiful and interesting, all very well presented and service staff all very friendly. English is mostly understood and spoken, with only the odd hiccup experienced.
If you like a very firm mattress then the surin will suit you. We had two pillow top add ins and it was still too hard for us.
If you are at all physically impaired then the stairs around the resort could be an issue as you can't escape them anywhere.
The hotel offered to do our flight checking for us and had breakfast boxes and coffee for us before our early departure.
We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: If you want to spend your time at the beach, request the beachside cottages, especially if stairs ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellair90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMoreira, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
“Excellent service, beautiful beach - a brilliant stay...

All the Team of the Surin Phuket will be waiting for your return!
Meanwhile thank you for such kind and rewarding comments.
It inspire us to continue to work hard to improve.

Thank you!
MHM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downunder
Level Contributor
159 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We spent a fantastic week at The Surin. Perfect weather and location. The Great Bits: breakfast, beach, gym. The Good Bits: room, staff, pool. The Bad Bits: the stairs. Breakfast was great each day with an impressive range of local fruits. Few reviews commented on the stairs from the beach to the reception. Our cottage was level with breakfast area and reception. So you can walk easier out of the resort to nearby local restaurants but get you get a work out each time you go to the beach. But it's not that bad in fact it's perfect for burning off those wonderful curries. The beach was perfect and largely private for the 2 resorts on the beach. Yes the family which runs the "private" beach bar are fantastic. We will return.

We did a day trip with Phuket Sail Tours: Phang Nga Bay in a speed boat which was great and a thai cooking school with Phuket Thai Cookery which was excellent. You start with a wet market tour was very interesting.

Room Tip: If you want to spend all day at the beach/pool then choose beach front. If you want to leave the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMoreira, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Loved it. Cannot wait to return....

We all will be waiting your return, meanwhile thank you for such a positive review.

Thank you!
MHM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
196 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Just came back from another great vacation at The Surin and had a wonderful stay.

->The staff were excellent as always (special Kudos to Lek, Tan, and Sara who made the stay that much better with their personal attention, smiles, and service!).

->Our room was great - spacious and clean - and the bed very comfortable.

->The food was excellent - love the breakfast with fresh fruits/juices, and eggs, waffles, pancakes etc made to order. Need to be sure the cappuccinos come out HOT (had a few that were barely warm).

->The beach area was fantastic as always and really one of the best beaches in all of Phuket. Wonderful white sand, emerald green water, and plenty of "water toys" for the more active and adventurous.

I think the combination of the great staff and outstanding beach make this the best bang for the buck on the planet.

My only concern: parking. We rented a car and consistently had to park far away up the hill from the entrance because the Surin's own vehicles were parked in the slots closest to the entrance. I would think the guests should have priority for the slots closer to the entrance for parking.Do hope this is addressed before our next visit.

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to the beach if you don't like stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaikKubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMoreira, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Another Day in Paradise - Fantastic Stay at The Surin!...

The Paradise will be waiting for your return!
Thank you to share with all your overall experience.
Suggestion for all the Guests who rent a car, please do not hesitate to ask the assistance of our Bellman at the door or Receptionists, they will be more than pleased to help you.

Thank You!
MHM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Beautiful hotel set on the beach, very private and relaxing, friendly staff and obviously beautiful setting. On of my best trips, probably best for couples but also family friendly. Only problem was that rooms smelt a little bit of humidity but I was there in December which is the end of the monsoon season so I guess that should have been expected. Other than that would highly recomend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDE86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMoreira, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Beautiful hotel set on the beach, very private and relaxing, friendly staff ....

Thank you for your so positive review, all the comments are important for us.
It has been a pleasure for us to receive you and we hope to have the same pleasure to receive you again in a near future.

Thank you
MHM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
12.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
472 reviews
9.9 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,537 reviews
12.9 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
7.5 mi away
The Slate
The Slate
#3 of 9 in Nai Yang
3,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surin Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surin Phuket

Property: The Surin Phuket
Address: 118 Moo 3, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#8 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surin Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surin Phuket is an exclusive beach retreat for discerning travelers, families and couples seeking relaxation and indulgence in a serene beachfront setting. A member of Design Hotels™ and located on the tranquil Pansea Beach on the west coast of Phuket Island, Thailand.Offering a total of 103 hillside and beachfront cottages and suites all discreetly built into a carefully conserved landscape amidst coconut trees and gently sloping down to meet a small coral reef. The Surin, Phuket offers a contemporary Thai experience in timeless simplicity and modern sophistication. Shaded by a canopy of coconut trees and joined together by a network of jungle walkways the Hillside Cottages are just the things for guests who wish to experience a tropical rustic experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Travelbag, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Surin Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surin Phuket Hotel Thalang
Chedi Phuket Hotel Thalang
Chedi Phuket Thalang
Chedi Hotel Phuket
The Surin Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing