We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Surin Phuket
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angsana Laguna Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Premier Bangtao Beach Resort & Spa(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa Surin Beach(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chava Resort(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$412
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$383
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pavilions Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trisara(Choeng Thale)
US$1,192
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,143)
Filter reviews
2,143 results
Traveller rating
1,592
398
91
41
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,592
398
91
41
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesprivate beachpansea beachdeluxe cottagebeach barsell drinksbeach frontperfect beachlocal vendorscloser to the beachsound of the wavesbeach vendorsbeach baglittle toucheswhite sandour honeymoonbreakfast buffet is
Filter
Updating list...
1,112 - 1,117 of 2,143 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed for four nights over a long weekend and had a very memorable stay. If you feel like escaping the crowds at Patong or even Surin this could be the place for you. Its not often you find a resort with its own beach, and lying on a sun lounge or listening to the waves during the night its easy to feel life doesn't get much better.

Rooms are spacious and very well appointed, and it was a sad moment when the time came for us to check out.

The beach is private as the only access to the resort (including its beach) is over a hill towards the main road. The villas are perched up the side of the hill, offering views of the beach and the lovely sunsets. Many of the resort facilities including the reception and main restaurant blend in with the cliff face which they form part of, and make for some incredible architecture with views over the water.

I wouldn't call it a downside, but the trade-off of placing a resort in such a dramatic setting is that there are a large number of steps.. In fact at times it can seem like you're stuck in one of M.C. Escher's works, as to get to some villas you do go up and then down quite a few stairs. Anyone with a wheelchair or other mobility issues might be best to avoid most of the rooms, however we stay reasonably fit with the occasional run so enjoyed the added exercise while moving around the resort.

Without exception the staff were genuinely warm and welcoming. The Surin also deserves credit for allowing locals to sell drinks on the beach, which is a nice touch and solid alternative to eating or drinking at the pool bar. There are other good dining options outside on the road leading towards the resort, if you need the occasional escape. Otherwise the library and gym are both very well appointed, or if all else fails and you get bored, go for a massage or cocktail on the beach, where you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daave_Marshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

tucked away in Surin Beach comes this amazing getaway. Even though we had to walk up and down the staircases just to get to our little 'cottage' by the sea it was all worth it. Service was impeccable with them catering to almost all my requests of an early check and check out. The staff made my stay there enjoyable
Will come back again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delaroch3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Surin_RM, Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2014

Dear Guest

It is rewarding for us that you had a great experience during your recent stay with us, having the secluded location and tranquility of our beach and bay.

Your compliments are deeply appreciated. We are pleased that you had the full experience of the Surin Phuket during your stay.

Our staff and I are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Jann Hess
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at the Surin last April, and it was a very good surprise. Unlike most hotels in Phuket, the Surin offers a peaceful private beach, excellent villas and a quite reasonable service.
Although not being the ideal place for those looking for crowds, it is perfect for those who seek a place to relax and enjoy a good stay at a beach front hotel.
The villas are quite good, totally renewed, and it is certainly a top quality hotel, much different from the average hotels in Phuket.
I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gnm82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My family and I stayed at the Surin in January, and we had a very memorable and stunning holiday at the Surin.
The location is outstanding, with the best beach on the island by far! Crystal clean water that you are not sharing with a million other noisy beach goers (like on every other Phuket beach), it felt luxurious.
The staff were always there to help, yet remained discreet, the true distinction of an upmarket resort. My 10 year old son LOVED his time here, he still talks about it.
A perfect holiday we will sincerely recommend to all out friends.
Thank you for such a happy holiday, we will be back!

Room Tip: Pick anything, but the beach cottages are special!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FMartin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

After researching for nearly a week, I ended up booking a beach front deluxe cottage for 3 nights at The Surin. I had several complaints for the first half of the trip.

1. Airport transfer wasn't there to pick me up. Apparently got stuck with another guest
2. Beach towels looked old
3. Some furniture looked really worn out
4. Only one staff serving all the guest laying on the lounge chairs on the beach
5. Stairs. Lots of stairs

All these prompted me to get in touch with the manager, Nicolas, and give him feedback. He made the effort to hear me out and try to make the remainder of my stay more enjoyable which I really value. He also explained that they were going through some management changes and are going to address these issues very soon. Some positives:

1. Sent us a nice bottle of wine for the initial hiccups
2. He said beach towels are new and they are looking for a good laundry service to give better care for the linens
3. Furniture are about to be touched up soon
4. More staff were visible after the chat improving service
5. The location and layout is tough to put an elevator but they understand the need and looking for a way to install one.

Overall, Nicolas was able to make adjustments to ensure we enjoyed the rest of our stay. The beachfront location was key for us but we learned there aren't plenty of resorts that are right on the beach. Most have buggies to take you to the beach.

Other notes, we drove down to patong, bangla road twice. All the action is there. Seafood restaurants, bars, street stalls but selling mostly counterfeit products and jewelry. There are a few restaurants nearby the resort which we didnt get to try and this beach club called catch which we also didnt get to visit.

Weekend, we went to the big night market in phuket town 30 plus minutes away. A long drive but we enjoyed eating all the street food in the market.

Nicolas was nice enough to see us off and hear our overall feedback. This is the same owners as the amangroup. I'm confident given some time they will improve. We booked a stay 3 nights pay for two promotion. When they are able to make all the improvements (especially elevator) i'd be happy to pay for all three nights.

Next time we will try something closer to Patong. Maybe a nice villa with a pool since we dont swim much in the beach anyway. And when we do want to go the beach, we'll just take the buggy there and check it out.

Room Tip: If you can't walk, see if they can put you near the buggy path for the staff. the stairs are quite tiring.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews