We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute favorite hotel yet”
Review of The Surin Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Surin Phuket
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Absolute favorite hotel yet”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Surin Phuket is my most favorite hotel, to date. I still daydream about laying out at the beach, enjoying the unbelievable views. If I could go back tomorrow, I would in a heartbeat.

The hotel is gorgeous. We stayed in a one bedroom hillside cottage. I loved that we had our own little "house". The staff is extremely friendly and always willing to help.

The hotel is on a small, private beach (Pansea Beach) that is shared with another hotel, but you honestly feel like you have the entire beach to yourself. They have kayaks and other fun water activities that guests can take out onto the ocean for free. There is a family who walks up and down the beach selling beers and other drinks for super cheap- maybe $5 a drink? They aren't bothersome; just a nice family who wants to make a living. There are also a few ladies who will offer massages on the beach. Those were around $12 for an hour long massage. I think I got one of those almost everyday! There is also free bottled water at the hotel which was a definite plus for us. Every afternoon the hotel staff would bring out fruit on a stick to those sitting around the pool which was a nice touch!

Breakfast was included in our rate. The assortment was great- everything was fresh and delicious. We had dinner at both Lomtalay and the Sunset Cafe, as well. Great food! Most nights we did walk down to Surin Beach though for dinner.

The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to Surin Beach, which has a ton of restaurants to choose from. Super cheap curries and seafood dishes. Pass up the Catch Beach Club and keep walking south. It's an over priced restaurant/beach club. Most of the restaurants were cash only, just an fyi. We went to Taste, Salt and Sea Breeze- all fantastic.

We booked two activities through the hotel- a group speedboat tour to the Phi Phi Islands and an elephant trek with Siam Safari. Definitely recommend doing the trek with Siam Safari. It was an incredible experience (and we only did a 30 minute ride)! I recommend doing a private speedboat tour instead of a group tour. The beaches that we visited on the boat tour got a little crowded. I'm sure the hotel could assist in booking that.

As a side note, if you are looking for a tailor while in Phuket, my husband got a suit and jacket made at the Surin Armani. The shop is located right at the end of the hill from the hotel. They custom made it in less than 36 hours. Highly recommended!

Stop searching for hotels and go ahead and book The Surin for your stay in Phuket! You'll thank me for it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TravelingChelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,345
    368
    83
    36
    21
See reviews for
411
1,058
59
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Surin. It has front beach, a nice pool, gym, spa, library - everything you would look for in a relaxing vacation. There are some minus points though..
- We stayed in a 2-bedroom cottage and there's just one toilet and one (stand) bathroom, so we had to wait for each other in our morning routine.
- There's no lift in the resort, so if you have troubles walking upstairs you'd better ask them to arrange a room on a lower level or nearer to the lobby.
- There are a lot of insects and flies because they have trees everywhere. I even saw a snake on the way from my room to the lobby, which made me quite scared.

If you're looking for a quiet place to just relax, The Surin would be a perfect choice. You can walk out to the nearby neighborhood for more F&B options and take a cab (500 THB) to Patong.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trang D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was the luxury highlight of our 3 stop custom-designed tour of the region with andaman adventuures. Top marks to them for a great job done, this was the first time we had booked a custom holiday and it won’t be the last, it’s fun to visit more than one destination, and to get help selecting the hotels that best fit your budget and preferences. The Surin was the last stop in our tour and we wished we had had longer here, we stayed in a villa/bungalow right on the beachfront, which was surprisingly affordable too. Wonderful location, great food, luxury accommodation, what more can you ask for in a hotel?

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Akiko W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very private cottages on the most beautiful beach. All the staff in the hotel are fantastic. I would recommend The Surin if you are looking for a relaxing time in an unspoilt bit of Phuket. There are several bars and restaurants to choose from nearby as the town is only a ten minute walk down the hill.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

When you review a resort online you expect there to be some retouching of photo's and favourable reviews that you find to be not quite in line with your expectations. Well I have travelled to some pretty fantastic destinations and The Surin at Phuket is a wonderful find. Absolutely stunning beach and the resort is first class. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the food and service were fantastic, in fact there was nothing I could have wanted for. We travel at least twice a year and this was the most relaxed I have felt for as long as I can remember.
A huge thanks to the staff and management of The Surin.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed for four nights over a long weekend and had a very memorable stay. If you feel like escaping the crowds at Patong or even Surin this could be the place for you. Its not often you find a resort with its own beach, and lying on a sun lounge or listening to the waves during the night its easy to feel life doesn't get much better.

Rooms are spacious and very well appointed, and it was a sad moment when the time came for us to check out.

The beach is private as the only access to the resort (including its beach) is over a hill towards the main road. The villas are perched up the side of the hill, offering views of the beach and the lovely sunsets. Many of the resort facilities including the reception and main restaurant blend in with the cliff face which they form part of, and make for some incredible architecture with views over the water.

I wouldn't call it a downside, but the trade-off of placing a resort in such a dramatic setting is that there are a large number of steps.. In fact at times it can seem like you're stuck in one of M.C. Escher's works, as to get to some villas you do go up and then down quite a few stairs. Anyone with a wheelchair or other mobility issues might be best to avoid most of the rooms, however we stay reasonably fit with the occasional run so enjoyed the added exercise while moving around the resort.

Without exception the staff were genuinely warm and welcoming. The Surin also deserves credit for allowing locals to sell drinks on the beach, which is a nice touch and solid alternative to eating or drinking at the pool bar. There are other good dining options outside on the road leading towards the resort, if you need the occasional escape. Otherwise the library and gym are both very well appointed, or if all else fails and you get bored, go for a massage or cocktail on the beach, where you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daave_Marshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

tucked away in Surin Beach comes this amazing getaway. Even though we had to walk up and down the staircases just to get to our little 'cottage' by the sea it was all worth it. Service was impeccable with them catering to almost all my requests of an early check and check out. The staff made my stay there enjoyable
Will come back again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delaroch3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Surin_RM, Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, 4 December 2014
Dear Guest

It is rewarding for us that you had a great experience during your recent stay with us, having the secluded location and tranquility of our beach and bay.

Your compliments are deeply appreciated. We are pleased that you had the full experience of the Surin Phuket during your stay.

Our staff and I are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Jann Hess
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
12.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
480 reviews
9.9 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#8 of 95 in Thalang District
1,876 reviews
6.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,652 reviews
12.9 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surin Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surin Phuket

Property: The Surin Phuket
Address: 118 Moo 3, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#8 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surin Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surin Phuket is an exclusive beach retreat for discerning travelers, families and couples seeking relaxation and indulgence in a serene beachfront setting. A member of Design Hotels™ and located on the tranquil Pansea Beach on the west coast of Phuket Island, Thailand.Offering a total of 103 hillside and beachfront cottages and suites all discreetly built into a carefully conserved landscape amidst coconut trees and gently sloping down to meet a small coral reef. The Surin, Phuket offers a contemporary Thai experience in timeless simplicity and modern sophistication. Shaded by a canopy of coconut trees and joined together by a network of jungle walkways the Hillside Cottages are just the things for guests who wish to experience a tropical rustic experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Surin Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surin Phuket Hotel Thalang
Chedi Phuket Hotel Thalang
Chedi Phuket Thalang
Chedi Hotel Phuket
The Surin Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing