We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secluded Tranquility and Luxury”
Review of The Surin Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Surin Phuket
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Secluded Tranquility and Luxury”
Reviewed 19 November 2009

First the negatives; it is expensive to stay, eat and drink here and once you're here, you are a captive audience and options for alternatives are limited without a long walk or taxi ride . The bungalows are widely spread out and there is a LOT of walking required to get to and from your room. There was no bathtub in my room and no fitness/ gym facilities which for a 5 star resort is surprising.

Having said that the location is stunning, and it's located on the hillside above what is effectively a private, very quiet and beautiful beach. The beach vendors are friendly and unobtrusive and will sell you pretty much anything you want much cheaper than the hotel. The hotel staff are very friendly and the service is excellent.

It is very much a couples/ honeymoon place and the peace, quiet and seclusion is the real appeal of the hotel. They run a courtsey bus to the craziness of Patong if your senses need stimulated in the evening.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moxo2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,301
    363
    82
    36
    21
See reviews for
399
1,031
57
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

We travelled to thailand sept 08 and can honestly say it was the best holiday we have had so far. We paid a little extra for beach side villas but this was well worth the money. The hotel consists of individual villas which we thought was really nice as it feels very private and exclusive. The beach is incredible and breathtaking and having done a bit of travelling to nearby places we definately had the best beach. The holiday was totally relaxing and we lived at our own pace. The hotel is quiet and the only people that are around the hotel and on the direct beach is either the chedi's hotel guests, the hotel next doors guests or staff which makes is special.
We booked ourselves on to several trips, visiting phiphi islands and 'The Beach' from the film.

I cannot make a single even slightly demeaning comment about the hotel, surrounding areas or trips we took part in. We have spent this kind of money on other holidays such as to cape verde islands and they do not even compare! If your interested - go for it!!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hanben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

We enjoyed very much our 6 days stay at the Chedi, especially because of the location : a wonderful beach, white sand and clear water, lovely bungalows under coconut trees, a very natural site, not like in most places in phuket were concreet dominates in a sometimes horrible manner!! So, if we were to retun to Phuket, which I doubt we will, because there are so many unspoiled beaches to discover, we would definitely return to the Chedi. We have beeen visiting different beaches ans hotels and most often either the hotel is not ON the beach (Twinpalm) or the beach is not very clean and difficult to swim (Indigo Pearl). So we were very happy with our choice. Swimming pool is large and very well situated. The bungalows themselves are nice but not especially well designed (like for exemple the Zazen in Samui) and they are getting old... Breakfast is very good but lunch or dinner at restaurant is under average and expensive !

Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank legoutdesautres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minsk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

The best of the hotel is its private beach. But if the hotel is fully booked, there are not enough chairs for everyone. The swimming pool is close to the beach and is also very ok. Its not 5 stars deluxe as Amanpuri, but there is something that makes you want to come back there!
The hotel provides free shuttle bus to Patong (20-25 min) everyday and it’s very comfortable. There are also some good restaurants 10 min walking distance from the hotel.
Would like to thank to the people writing the reviews, they have been very useful in choosing the place to stay during 2 weeks of our holidays!!! In Patong we found the restaurant named Sea Hug and it was really great!! Thanks a lot)))

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LenaDemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

The Chedi shares a great beach with the Aman resort. It is one of the best beaches in Phuket and quite private. The Chedi takes advantage of it and does some amazingevenings on the beach. A room on hte sand, costs a little more but is well worth the money. The biggest problem of the Chedi, like many other hotels on thecliffs, is the number of stairs you need to climb to go to the reception and the spa. But at least if you are staying on the seafront you are taking full advantage of the sea and the pool.

The food is cery good and the service too.

Recommended for couples, like us, who need to be on less crowded beaches. Avoid the time of the year we went , October, as weather still very windy, not ideal.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rpernot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We arrived at the resort and felt immediately welcome. The resort is built on a sloping hill heading down to a private beach. There beach was lovely and quiet (but there were still locals providing massages / beverages if you wanted them). We had a hut two rows back from the beach which was great because the sloping hill means that nearly all the huts have a good view.
Food was good at the restaurants, entertainment was good (there was a "traditional Thai" evening which we thought was great. We also hired a moped and drove down to Patong which was a fun drive and a good distance for a ride. (15 - 20 mins). There are local establishments in walking distance and plenty within a short moped.

-ve's: With three typhoons in Philippines during our honeymoon there was not much opportunity to swim in the ocean.
There are a lot of stairs at the resort which would be hard for less mobile people but meant that most villas had a good view and some privacy.
The bed was squeaky. Not so good for a honeymoon!

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sachmo_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
76 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

The Chedi has been on our minds since our stay there in April 08, it was a total WOW.
It is a very nice treat, not as high-end as the Amanpuri next door but it is more authentic in its design, the decor and the huts and the spa are very thai, gives you the real exotic touch which I personally love. The spa is really exceptional, it's like a temple in the middle of the tropical rainforest. the swimming pool is perfect. the beach is great and the hotel provides snorkkling / even windsurfing materials for guests so that's really great. Service is perfect, very genuine people and they are so kind and sincere from the heart. For their level I was surprised there was no bathtub, it was only a shower.
Some might find the stair from the hill to the beach a problem but it did not disturb us at all.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freakytsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
0.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
12.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.9 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#9 of 95 in Thalang District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
6.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,349 reviews
12.9 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surin Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surin Phuket

Property: The Surin Phuket
Address: 118 Moo 3, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#1 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#8 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surin Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surin Phuket is an exclusive beach retreat for discerning travelers, families and couples seeking relaxation and indulgence in a serene beachfront setting. A member of Design Hotels™ and located on the tranquil Pansea Beach on the west coast of Phuket Island, Thailand.Offering a total of 103 hillside and beachfront cottages and suites all discreetly built into a carefully conserved landscape amidst coconut trees and gently sloping down to meet a small coral reef. The Surin, Phuket offers a contemporary Thai experience in timeless simplicity and modern sophistication. Shaded by a canopy of coconut trees and joined together by a network of jungle walkways the Hillside Cottages are just the things for guests who wish to experience a tropical rustic experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Surin Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surin Phuket Hotel Thalang
Chedi Phuket Hotel Thalang
Chedi Phuket Thalang
Chedi Hotel Phuket
The Surin Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing