We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stately, gracious place”
Review of Pen Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pen Villa Hotel
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A stately, gracious place”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I was reminded of a personal favorite, a five-star hotel on the Big Island of Hawaii: quiet, understated elegance and impeccable service. The big difference - the Pen Villa has modest rates, and a very comfortable, homey feel about it provided by Pete and Winnie, the amiable host and hostess.
A short walk from the beach, Pen Villa provides a sort of oasis from the outside world, with its large, sparkling pool and immaculate grounds. My room was large, spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished. The shower was powerful and the air con was very effective. The refrigerator in the room came in handy; there are two convenience stores a couple of minutes' walk away.
Pete, an Aussie with a PhD in engineering whose talents including brewing up a gourmet cup of coffee, and the delightful Win were ultra-attentive about anything I needed – even anticipating without my asking. They’re also a diligent pair: Pete out in the evening wearing his headlamp and vacuuming the pool, Win cheerfully raking the grounds, saying she was getting “one leaf at a time….”
Even the resident kitty, “Key Tag,” was super cordial, introducing himself by rubbing against my leg as I sat on the veranda, then curling up under my chair.
I’ve stayed in many hotels of all varieties, and my too-brief time (four days) at Pen Villa ranks as one of my most pleasant hotel experiences.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KenHPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    51
    2
    5
    0
See reviews for
73
127
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
halifax
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My husband and i stayed here with our 20 yr old son, we loved it. The hotel is exactly as the othe r reviews described, clean and comfortable, the pool is cool and a good size. Pete and Winnie are really helpful and informative, but not at all pushy. The breakfasts are good, especially the fruit platter and no strict time limits, we had breakfast at about noon one day! Winnie cooked us a lovely meal one evening for a very reasonable price, all in all a totally great experience. If you don't want to go to the beach in the evening for a meal there is a nice restaurant around the corner, called "The Flavour", turn left out of the main door of Pen Villa and it's just down the road.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We decided to stay at Surin Beach, as it was quieter than Patong Beach, when we went on our first trip to Phuket. Pen Villa turned out to be a great choice of place to stay. It was clean, quiet and very affordable. Pool was enormous considering there are only 20 rooms. Pen Villa is located within walking distance of the beach. However the best part were the hosts Winnie and Peter. They, along with Pantharee, were helpful in assisting in bookings for tours to the Phi Phi Islands and advising of local restaurants and attractions. They really made us feel comfortable and relaxed. Breakfasts were great, with good coffee and the sweetest pineapple we have ever tasted. Tip... ask for the Lava Eggs. Winnie's dinners were excellent... Green Curry, Yellow Curry and Moneybags were all amongst the best we had at any Thai restaurant in Phuket. Peter's beer from the bar was the coldest in Phuket. Rooms were a good size and many had been renovated and modernised over the last year. We found Surin Beach to be the pick of the beaches in Phuket. Would we stay at Pen Villa again, absolutely. Tip.... if you stay ask about the meaning of the cat's name, Key Tag.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. They may cost a few Baht more, but are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pedrobsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012 via mobile

From the very first second we arrived, Winnie and Peter made us feel like at home. The place is more than clean, rooms are simple but contain everything you would need. Free wifi all over the place. The whole staff is very kind. If you need assistance in organizing trips, scooters, massage,... they will be pleased in helping you with their perfect insider knowledge.
One must for all staying there: try at least once Winnie's delicous food. She is a great cook (even the sandwiches tasted great).
Beaches, supermarkets and restaurants can be reached within walking distance.
Go there - you won't be dissapointed for sure.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Reise007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed at the hotel in January for 5 nights. The hotel is very clean, very quiet & very well run by Peter & Winnie. My wife had a broken arm and both hosts were very helpful. The longer we stayed the more we liked the hotel. The longer we stayed the more we liked our hosts too. The pool is superb and we enjoyed every sunny hour laid out around it. If you want a proper massage, see Peter. He will sort it all out for you. They come and pick you up and drive you into a small town about 10 minutes away. It is well worth doing. Nothing is too much trouble and we would return to this hotel. Its great. Try the bar at the far end of the beach, to watch the sun go down. The best restaurant we found was twin brothers. Great food & good hosts who really look after you.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nannie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth City, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed for a week at Pen Villa and it was a very good experience. The hosts, Peter and Winnie, are very nice folks, attentive and helpful.
The rooms are simple, in a good way, and clean. The pool is great and has a surprisingly deep end.
a tip for music lovers - they've got a very good selection of jazz records, so ask Peter to make you a margarita and chill out to the sound of jazz.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinterbro, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Vi er av de første nordmennene som bor her, men vi kommer ikke til å bli de siste – vi har nemlig tenkt å komme tilbake. Maken til service finner du knapt andre steder, eierne; Winnie og Peter, står på hele døgnet for at du skal ha det bra. Det er rent og ordentlig både på rommet, i resepsjon/restaurant og i det store svømmebassenget, som også har en plaskedam for barn. Hotellet har ca. 20 rom og ligger fredelig, tilbaketrukket fra hovedveien og en liten spasertur (ca. 500 m.) fra Surin Beach hvor du finner alt av restauranter og barer.
Dette er stedet for de som ønsker en avslappende ferie – nesten som å bo i sin egen villa med den forskjell at det er full hotellservice. Du kan spise alle måltider på hotellet og ta deg en drink i baren, eller lene deg tilbake på terrassen utenfor ditt eget rom og nyte solnedgangen. Rommene er store med innredning i lokal stil og er fullt utstyrt med TV, WIFI og bra aircondition. Hotellet kan ordne transport til og fra flyplass og utflukter av alle slag.

We are among the first Norwegians which stay here, but we are not going to be the last - we have intended to come back. The service you get can hardly be found anywhere else, the owners; Winnie and Peter are on 24/7 to make you feel good. It is clean and nice both in the room, in the reception/restaurant and in the large swimming pool, which also has a small pool for children. The hotel has app. 20 rooms and is peaceful, secluded from the main road and a small walk (approx. 500 m) from Surin Beach where you find all the restaurants and bars.
This is the place for those seeking a relaxing holiday – almost like to live in your own villa with the difference that there is a full hotel service. You can eat all meals in the hotel and enjoy a drink at the bar or sit back on the patio outside your room and enjoy the sunset. The rooms are big with furniture in local style and are fully equipped with TV, WIFI and good air conditioning. The hotel can organize transport to and from the airport and activities of all kinds.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oyerikst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Choeng Thale hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#12 of 34 in Choeng Thale
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surintra
Surintra
#13 of 34 in Choeng Thale
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Bangtao Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa
Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa
#7 of 34 in Choeng Thale
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Villa Hotel

Property: Pen Villa Hotel
Address: 9/1, Soi Haad Surin 4, Srisoontorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Best Value Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pen Villa is a family run hotel set among the hills of Surin. The hotel is located away from the main road, its surroundings are serene and private, and Surin Beach is an easy 10 min walk away. The hotel offers some of the best value hotel accommodation in Phuket.Our rooms are spacious and perfectly suited for long-stay guests. All rooms overlook our large swimming pool and tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pen Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen Villa Hotel Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing