We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Quiet Hotel”
Review of Pen Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pen Villa Hotel
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I only stayed here 2 nights, but the staff Winnie and Peter were really fantastic. It was my first experience arriving in Thailand and they helped make sure it was comfortable, clean, and helped get me acquainted with the area. I had a great time getting to know them and even drinking a few beers! Thank you for your hospitality and for making my stay pleasurable. I even came back for their breakfast because the fruit was so fresh!

Room Tip: I think most rooms have a nice patio, but I had a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brittneycj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We just spent 13 nights over Christmas and New Year here at this family-run gem. It is one of those places that you are thrilled to find and their website accurately reflects what you actually experience. As you read through the reviews, you will read exactly what we experienced with the owners Peter and Winnie - super friendly and can't do enough for you to make your stay as good as it can possibly be. Peter runs a fabulous bar and will make whatever booking that you want, Winnie runs a fabulous kitchen and they have employed delightful staff with warm personalities. Our 6 year old daughter became a favourite with them all, especially Shin on the front desk.

We had a deluxe 3 person room, which was huge and and kept very clean by the staff. It was simply furnished with local Thai furniture and met all of our needs. Our other family members had a standard double which was fine for their needs - but I am glad we went for the deluxe as the bathrooms are updated and the extra space was good.

The location is great on a quite street in Surin village and about a 10 minute walk to Surin Beach or a 15 minute walk to Bang Tao Beach. But the pool is deep and cool, surrounded by a lovely garden and with enough sun lounges and umbrellas - here is where we spent most days relaxing, reading, sleeping, sun-bathing and swimming. It is a short 5 minute walk to cafes, local Thai restaurants, 24-hour mini markets, cash machines, shops and taxi stand. As a tip, the local Thai restaurants within walking distance such as Blue Lagoon and Pai Tong are as good as any you will find right at Surin Beach but with prices that are at least 1/3 of those on the seafront.

We regularly ate breakfast at Pen Villa as well as frequenting nearby Mr Tan's Coffee House and Boconccino Deli. Winnie cooked us a very special dinner on New Year's Eve, which we were able to organise with her a couple of days earlier - garlic & pepper squid, steam crab with chilli dipping sauce, lobster with tamarind sauce and beef in green curry (which I have never tasted better anywhere). It was the best meal of our entire stay in Surin Beach. By the way, her normal dinner menu is pretty special too and it changes based on what she can get at the markets.

Pen Villa is not a chain hotel, nor is it a 5-star luxury/boutique hotel - but I have little doubt that it is the best hotel in Surin and thoroughly deserves the high praise on Tripadvisor reviews. I only have one complaint - the beds are very firm - some readers will love this fact, but we sleep on a latex/memory foam mattress at home and can't cope with firm beds.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mutiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My son and I spent 7 nights at Pen Villa. Even before we arrived, Peter had answered questions and arranged our airport pick-up. All of the staff is warm and friendly. Everyone goes out of their way to be helpful and accommodating. The rooms are clean and spacious and the grounds are manicured and lovely. The pool is very nice if you can break away from the beach and other excursions to enjoy it. Additionally, Everything that is prepared in their kitchen is delicious. My son and I ate most of our dinners at the hotel because we couldn't find anything else that even came close. Delightful. I would recommend it to anyone and I hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindyb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

After a busy few days filled with flights and busses, pen villa was our first opportunity to relax. And that's exactly what we did!
A very warm welcome from the owners Peter and Winnie along with the friendly staff was just what weary travellers need! The rooms, dining area and pool were clean, well looked after and good value for money.
We ate breakfast every day which was fresh and served to personal taste.
I would definitely stay here again.

Oh, and Peter makes the best mojitos for miles around :-)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank maxkitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Pen Villa. The staff we all very friendly and always available if you had a query.

One day we went on a boat trip and the restaurant had closed when we got back, however they very kindly came to our room to offer us a meal which we accepted and enjoyed. Some days we got up late (most!) after the breakfast time, but there was never a question of not serving us.

The rooms are basic, but for the price you pay in this area in comparison to the other resorts it really is very reasonable. They only give you 1 towel for your room and 1 for the beach, could do with a third for the pool but luckily we had our own.

The pool area is clean and relaxing, and the gardens are kept immaculately.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esher_resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

After the madness of Bangkok this was such a great place to stay.
Just read the other reviews, this isn't a hotel it's like staying over at a friends house, with the added attraction that there is a Bar and restaurant.
Pen Villa is run and kept to a very high standard that a lot of other places could do well to copy, Peter, Winnie and their staff are incredible they will make your stay here so comfortable you definitely won't want to leave.
As other guests have said, we couldn't fault it, we had breakfast which was great but never eat dinner in hotel's, no disrespect to Peter and his staff we just always eat out.
From the Pool that is cleaned regularly to the good size rooms that are well Air conditioned, this truly is a great experience that will enhance your enjoyment of Phuket.
The beach is a short walk away which i s a lot quieter than Patong and is all the better for it, forget the mainstream hotels, stay at Pen Villa.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevieshirt28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at Pen Villa; thanks to all for helping make it such a relaxing break. We would have no hesitation about booking again: the food and the pool (a deep 20mtrs long!!)as well as the well-appointed rooms would easily support that, and the laid-back conscientious service is the icing on the cake. That the villa is a short walk from the beach is an advantage;we found ourselves saying 'why bother with the beach?' ;0)

Room Tip: Excellent food- Eat in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmjk92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
0.2 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#12 of 36 in Choeng Thale
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#2 of 36 in Choeng Thale
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.2 mi away
Surintra
Surintra
#15 of 36 in Choeng Thale
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surin Beach Resort
Surin Beach Resort
#16 of 36 in Choeng Thale
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Villa Hotel

Address: 9/1, Soi Haad Surin 4, Srisoontorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range: £30 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pen Villa is a family run hotel set among the hills of Surin. The hotel is located away from the main road, its surroundings are serene and private, and Surin Beach is an easy 10 min walk away. The hotel offers some of the best value hotel accommodation in Phuket.Our rooms are spacious and perfectly suited for long-stay guests. All rooms overlook our large swimming pool and tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pen Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen Villa Hotel Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing