We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value”
Review of Pen Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pen Villa Hotel
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Pen Villa is a family run hotel, Pete and Winnie are very welcoming and accommodating and this contributes to the relaxed atmosphere of this hotel.

The rooms are nice and are kept clean and the public areas are also kept to a good standard. The pool is lovely and has sunbeds and umbrellas, it is spacious and relaxed and due tot the hotel not being huge is never too busy.

The staff are excellent and very friendly, the food is nice and the drinks are excellent (something that is not always the case in other bars).

We stayed for a week before moving on and didn't really want to leave as we had settled in and felt comfortable at Pen Villa.

Pen Villa is in Surin which is a nice area with lovely beaches nearby, it is a calmer area as opposed to places like Patong but is only a taxi ride away if you want a livelier night out.

We would definitely return to Pen Villa.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 797Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    51
    2
    5
    0
See reviews for
72
127
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Our family of 4 stayed 3 nights in the family room which was huge. It had a renovated bathroom, and small kitchenette and two huge bedrooms. Very clean and with a large covered balcony that overlooks the very large pool and landscaped gardens.

The place is located down a narrow street and is within an easy walk to Surin Beach. The beach here has soft white sand, clean safe waters, and there is an ample array of food establishments and cheap massage stalls that run along the beach foreshore.

Pen Villa has a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere and its smaller size gives you a more personnel boutique experience.

The biggest pluses for staying here however is the service. The owners Peter and Winnie were absolutely outstanding in every respect. They were not in your face, but at the same time very attentive to your every need. As an example, Peter in fact got up at an ungodly hour of the morning to personally see us off for our Phi Phi island trip, and he also manages to pour a mean cocktail.

The dinner menu is limited but the food was simply some of the best meals we had in all of Thailand. Winnie and the girls in the kitchen did a great job. We also did a cooking class, which included visiting some local markets to get our ingredients. We thoroughly recommend this if you want to do something different. Winnie even gave us a copy of the recipes to take home and have since cooked up the tamarind fish for Christmas using snapper and it was a huge hit with our family.

Would certainly go back without hesitation. Great value for money with exceptional service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussietez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Rooms are spacious and clean.
The staff are friendly and helpful.
The food is good
5-7 minute walk from the beach and bars.
Taxies available from outside the hotel.
Perfect base for a Phuket holiday..

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahdi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Pen Villa and would highly recommend it. Peter was very attentive and helpful. The only reason for the 4 star rather than 5 is because of the bathroom. The shower did not have a curtain, therefore, water got on the tiled floor of the bathroom. Also, because of their plumbing, toilet paper could not be flushed rather, it had to be thrown in trash. This is not a deal breaker and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Surin beach is about a 10 minute stroll. They have hats, sunscreen and beach toys to borrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UtahPuglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We only stayed one night but the staff was very accommodating. We were on our way to another island nearby but stayed in Phuket for one night. On our return trip we were going through Phuket and had a very late flight that night. They allowed us to use a room for half price for a few hours before our flight. We had dinner there that night and the food was quite good. They had a set menu but then offered to cook us basically whatever they had available. Felt like staying with a family. Pool was nice. Hotel is about a 7 minute walk from the beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Our 7 days at Pen Villa was the highlight of our trip to Thailand. Peter and Winnie are the most fantastic hosts one could ever hope to meet. Long before we arrived, Peter went the extra mile to track down a rental car for us after his regular company was fully booked out and also arranged our airport transfers. We loved the place from the moment we arrived. Our room overlooking the nice big swimming pool and beautifully manicured grounds was large and comfortable and exactly as it was described on the website. Peter kept me supplied with the coldest beers I could ever want and he is an expert bartender. My wife Michelle loved the mojitos!! Others have mentioned Winnie's cooking in their reviews but it's not until you try some of her dishes that you can truly appreciate how good she is. We ate some of the finest meals we have ever eaten anywhere. Everything is so fresh and the flavours are wonderful. We had continental breakfasts every morning, which were just the right size and Peter's piping hot freshly brewed strong coffee was the perfect kick-start to the day. The staff at Pen Villa are also fantastic - very friendly and helpful and Peter and Winnie are obviously great to work for - as their staff are very happy. Surin Beach is only 10 mins walk down the road and there is a 7-Eleven at the end of the street and plenty of ATM's close-by. There are also some laundry places within 5-mins walk of Pen Villa as well as a few shops and eating places. Pen Villa was everything we had hoped for and more and felt like our home away from home. If the opportunity presents itself again - we'd love to come back and stay even longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I only stayed here 2 nights, but the staff Winnie and Peter were really fantastic. It was my first experience arriving in Thailand and they helped make sure it was comfortable, clean, and helped get me acquainted with the area. I had a great time getting to know them and even drinking a few beers! Thank you for your hospitality and for making my stay pleasurable. I even came back for their breakfast because the fruit was so fresh!

Room Tip: I think most rooms have a nice patio, but I had a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brittneycj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
0.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.2 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#14 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
14.6 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
2.1 mi away
Kamala Tropical Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
Surintra
Surintra
#13 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Villa Hotel

Property: Pen Villa Hotel
Address: 9/1, Soi Haad Surin 4, Srisoontorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pen Villa is a family run hotel set among the hills of Surin. The hotel is located away from the main road, its surroundings are serene and private, and Surin Beach is an easy 10 min walk away. The hotel offers some of the best value hotel accommodation in Phuket.Our rooms are spacious and perfectly suited for long-stay guests. All rooms overlook our large swimming pool and tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pen Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen Villa Hotel Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing