We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Penvilla”
Review of Pen Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pen Villa Hotel
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We spent 4 days at Pen Villa (our second visit) at the end of January. Winnie and Peter are excellent hosts and provided us with lovely home cooked fresh food and beverages' on demand, whether you want spicy food or not, early or late she and her staff always manages to do something delicious. Winnie's culinary skills gave us the best thai food we had in Thailand.
Peter, calm cool and smiling as always makes Thailands best Mango smoothie(and other excellent cocktails) in addition to providing sound advice about things to see and do in the area.The staff, indoors and outdoors, contribute to make your stay delightful We both felt very 'at home' It was a real pleasure to the villa and see them again.
The large swimming pool and its surroundings provide a haven of clean quiet peace and the nearby beaches give you either populous fun or beautiful peaceful solitude depending which one you choose!.
Accomodation is functional very clean and comfortable (thai beds are always firmish by european standards) and the daily household chores seem to get done by majic by the domestic staff.
We are already looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed for 8 nights in Jan/feb 2014 , it was my wifes 1st visit to Thailand and she fell in love with the place, the management and staff are very friendly and laid back, the property is very quiet and peaceful (even though it is only 300 mtrs or so to the main road) the pool and grounds are beautifully maintained , I do not understand a previous post moaning about the food, my wife has a food allergy and the chef spent a lot of time with her to make sure her meal was exactly how she wanted it and it was perfect, I time mine " Thai spicy" and again it was perfect, We were in room P1 which affords a little more privacy as you can sit on the balcony around a corner in your underwear should the mood take you, Surin beach itself was clean and not too crowded, and Patong Beach is a 500 BAHT Tuk Tuk ride away if you are pining for the bright lights, we will 100% be returning

Room Tip: end rooms give more privacy as you can sit outside with no one walking past
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kopite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We've had a really wonderful time staying at the Pen Villa Hotel. 10 out of 10 Peter, Winnie and all the staff. We stayed in room N 03 and have never slept better, a record 12 hour sleep. Wonderful! A nice little gem with beaches, shops, restaurants all within walking distance.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Peter & Winnie are welcoming, down-to-earth people! We stayed at the Villa for 7 nights & its like lodging with a family! They or their team are on hand & nothing is too much trouble!
All areas are spotless - the maids & grounds staff do an excellent job!
Our bedroom was beautifully decorated, spacious, with en-suite bathroom & had all the trimmings usually found in hotel accommodation. The beds are amazing - slept like a log every night!
The pool is fantastic.....sunbeds & umbrellas a plenty!
Breakfast choice set us up for the day & even after getting up late a few times during our stay, it was no trouble to order from the breakfast menu at around 11.30am!
Everything is so laid back!
A simple lunch can also be provided when asked for & if something is not on the menu, then always ask & Winnie & her kitchen staff will aim to please?
Evening meal choice was tasty, varied & extensive, utilizing seasonal foods but unless ordered in advance, there can sometimes be a little wait, as food is cooked fresh from scratch - please be patient as its worth waiting for!
Winnie & Peter organized taxi's to & from the airport on arrival & departure day at our request. Our only excursion was sea kayaking during our stay & that too was no trouble to organize!
All in all, we had a relaxing week away as the hotel is set in a quiet area, away from the main road, adjacent to private housing.
If music & nightlife is required - 10 mins walk brings you to the chic & trendy lounge clubs of Surin Beach.
We would definitely return to Pen Villa & recommend to others :D

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L12_BOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We went to Pen Villa one month ago and found that this is a Amazing place!

Different with Patong beach, it's a very peaceful and quiet place for relaxing. If you want to join some exciting events, it's the wrong place. But if what you want is a free time to running away from nervous life, it should be the best place.

1. When we went into villa on my first day, the owner Peter told us "Just make yourself comfortable." I think it's his business philosophy, and it's our main target for a vocation. When every time we asked "may I......", they always said "yes" (just like there is no any accommodation rule here) You can swim in the midnight, eat your own food from outside in their restaurant, do almost everything as long as it won't disturb others. Yes the rooms and furniture are old fashion, but who cares?

2. After booking their room, they wrote a mail to ask if we need pick-up service, and the fee is only for the driver. (the villa didn't benefit from it) If you want to go anywhere or eat something special, Peter and Winnie will spend time with you to discuss your schedule. You will never feel hopeless as a guest of Pen Villa.

3, The food here is quite nice. It's limited in the choice, but each dish is so delicious and cheap. They also recommended us a restaurant nearby named "The Flavour". you don't need to go very far to enjoy the real Thai food.

We regret that we only stayed for 2 days. Now we are planning our next 5 days stay in Pen Villa this year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean65535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We found Pen Villa whilst trawling the internet for the perfect getaway on the island of Phuket. We had pretty much given up finding something that suited our needs until we read the reviews of Pen Villa. When we arrived for our 9 night stay we were not disappointed.
Peter, Winnie and the rest of the hotel staff are warm and friendly with out being too 'in your face'. If you want five star luxury, be advised to look elsewhere. But if you are looking for friendly, small hotel with comfortable rooms in a pretty setting and fabulous food then Pen Villa is the place for you.
Our tips would be...
Ideally book a room on the first floor, great views over the pool which looks lovely at night.
Eat Winnie's fabulous food... This lady does not profess to be a first class chef but once you have tasted her food you will beg to differ. We like to think we are adventurous with our tastes and we ate like kings on the nights we ate at the hotel. Only comment would be is be patient because where the food is cooked from scatch to order there can be a bit of a wait.
Pick Pete's brains on what to do locally whilst sampling his cocktails of an evening... I tried my best to work my way through the list but I'm saving the rest for when we return.

Thanks Peter and Winnie!! We really enjoyed our stay hence why we are coming back in a couple of months.
Lord and Lady Nelson :-)

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are our personal faves but all rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chillikate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Pen Villa is a family run hotel, Pete and Winnie are very welcoming and accommodating and this contributes to the relaxed atmosphere of this hotel.

The rooms are nice and are kept clean and the public areas are also kept to a good standard. The pool is lovely and has sunbeds and umbrellas, it is spacious and relaxed and due tot the hotel not being huge is never too busy.

The staff are excellent and very friendly, the food is nice and the drinks are excellent (something that is not always the case in other bars).

We stayed for a week before moving on and didn't really want to leave as we had settled in and felt comfortable at Pen Villa.

Pen Villa is in Surin which is a nice area with lovely beaches nearby, it is a calmer area as opposed to places like Patong but is only a taxi ride away if you want a livelier night out.

We would definitely return to Pen Villa.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 797Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
0.2 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#13 of 36 in Choeng Thale
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surintra
Surintra
#17 of 36 in Choeng Thale
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
1.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
11.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Villa Hotel

Address: 9/1, Soi Haad Surin 4, Srisoontorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Best Value Hotel in Choeng Thale
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range: £50 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pen Villa is a family run hotel set among the hills of Surin. The hotel is located away from the main road, its surroundings are serene and private, and Surin Beach is an easy 10 min walk away. The hotel offers some of the best value hotel accommodation in Phuket.Our rooms are spacious and perfectly suited for long-stay guests. All rooms overlook our large swimming pool and tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pen Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen Villa Hotel Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing