We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and service”
Review of Pen Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pen Villa Hotel
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel and service”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Pen Villa initially for 10 days for our hobeymoon. We had such a great time we extended our stay. From the moment we walked in, Peter and Winnie were incredibly welcoming. With their help, we were able to see and experience a great deal of Phuket. They arranged transport and provided excellent local insight and knowledge. The hotel itself is relaxed and clean. The rooms are large and the gardens and pool immaculate. The food is also fresh and tasty. Surin is not a crazy resort, at least not in low season. However, there are plenty of places to eat and the two closest beaches are great. Where else can you get a tropical beach to (very nearly) yourselves. We will be back and I don't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LeeWilson29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    51
    2
    5
    0
See reviews for
73
127
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I feel I have to respond to the latest review from 'VladNet, Singapore'.
Yes I agree, Pen Villa is an amazing and unique place to stay. But I totally disagree on your review of the local area. We found the local surroundings and the local people absolutely delightful. We have spent several holidays over the last few years in this area and NEVER has anyone been hostile towards us. The local Thais are beautiful, gentle people, show them a little respect and they will return it tenfold.
If you visit in the 'off' season then yes, Surin will be a lot quieter, but that is what is so appealing. If you wander around the Surin area or stroll down to Bangtao beach you will find many delightful local restaurants and bars. Or saunter the back streets and see how the local residents live. We have always found them smiling and friendly and they will happily offer you a porch to sit on to escape the sudden downpours.
Anyone who wants the craziness of Patong is welcome to it. We find one or two visits to Patong more than enough during our holiday. We prefer to experience a gentler, calmer Thailand.
We spent the first glorious week of our three week holiday last September at Pen Villa, our Second week at a Kata Noi Resort which, while a lovely 5 star resort, didn't quite have the same relaxing feel as Pen Villa (too regimental). The third week we were booked into a 5 star resort in Patong, and while the hotel was nice enough (although again not up to PV standards) we absolutely hated Patong so we cut our losses and checked out after 2 days. Thankfully, Peter and Winnie were able to accommodate us and we spent the rest of our holiday in total relaxation back at Pen Villa.
A little mention about the food. Winnie's cooking is absolutely amazing, always with beautiful fresh ingredients, so good that we found we didn't want to eat anywhere else. But, if you choose to venture out to eat elsewhere, there are many very good, very reasonably priced places to eat.
Food in Surin is not as Westernised as in Patong where you can even get a 'Big Mac', but why would you when Thai food is so tasty and fresh????? Yes, food in Patong may be cheaper, but not anywhere near as fresh and tasty as elsewhere on the island.
We enjoyed ourselves so much that we have booked another holiday, and we are looking forward to staying at Pen Villa again in 3 weeks time. This time we are taking along other family members and are looking forward to sharing the delights of Phuket with them. We will have a couple of days out exploring and seeing the sights, but we are all looking forward to unwinding and relaxing in the warm sunshine while doing nothing much in particular. Perfect!!!

Room Tip: We like the deluxe rooms on the upper level for the views, but we've also stayed in a Superior R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Pen Villa is indeed a very nice accommodation on Phuket island in Thailand. I fully agree with all previous reviewers on the highest standards of this place. The owners' hospitality is truly amazing. A lot of praises to Piter, his wife and a manager for keeping their villa in such excellent condition. Rooms are very clean, as well as a nice swimming pool. The only problem we encountered is a tribe of small ants everywhere, but this problem can be easily solved by setting ant baits in the rooms or just ignoring them. The furniture is a bit outdated though.

Piter helped us a lot with arranging airport transfer and trips around the island. The only day we didn't ask his advice and booked a tour from a cheap operator in Patong was a real disaster. All other trips he arranged were really good, and the driver is a very nice and polite man.

Now to the problems, which don't relate to the villa, but mostly to the place and may cause some disappointment if you aren't aware of them. It's Surin Beach, and that's why it's boring, particularly during the low season. Everytime we went somewhere on Phuket island, it took at least 30-40 min drive in one direction or even more. There is absolutely nothing to do at Surin beach except watching huge waves. The place is a distant desolated town surrounded by Muslims. This also makes the place relatively expensive. We had the same Tom Kha Gai soup at Surin beach for 180 baht, while at Patong - for 120 baht. Plus take into account that you need to pay each time you go somewhere at least 500 baht for one way taxi. And don't forget that this is Thailand where local people don't speak English and very arrogant and even hostile to foreigners. Unless you don't care to stay in the middle of nowhere with the dirty surrounding and building construction, at the very boring and distant beach with no attractions whatsoever, I would recommend Pen Villa. I just want to emphasise that Pen Villa is great and worh every dollar spent, but the surrounding area is terrible, as well as distance to major places and attractions in Phuket.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank VladNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 8 days at pen villa in Feb and really enjoyed it. Thought the price was excellent for such nice rooms and facilities. Peter and Winnie were great hosts and we spent quite a few nights eating and drinking in the hotel. The location is great for reaching a variety of beaches by foot or tuk tuk. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent 6 nights at Pen Villia with our 2 kids. It was fantastic, relaxing and delicious!!! Peter & Winnie where fantastic hosts, always accommodating and suprising us with fantastic meals the whole family enjoyed. The facilities are perfect for a family, the kids loved the pool, Peter mixes a great cocktail and Winnie’s food is supurb! We initially thought of staying in a resort but was cost prohibiting, so glad we didn’t as I can not imagine our trip could have been any better! We are currently looking at our diary to come back...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I just returned from 3 days & 2 nights at the Pen Villa and am kicking myself for cutting the visit short to stay in Bangkok - never again!!
Peter & Winnie are extraordinary hosts & the property is pristine in its cleanliness & atmosphere. You won't find ultra plush bath towel or a turndown service but what you will find is so much better: personalized, friendly service, great food & wonderful conversation.
The hotel is small & personal - Peter will arrange for everything from massages to kayaking adventures while Winnie will literally cook up whatever it is you want for dinner.
If you want to spend twice as much for a fancy place right on the beach, go for it - your loss!!
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Well off the main road so all rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday at Pen Villa. Everything about the hotel is perfect! The hotel is so clean and the service is exemplary. Peter and Winnie are excellent hosts and we would like to consider them friends now as they looked after us as friends do. I thoroughly enjoyed baking with Winnie and dining in at the hotel with excellent food served was such a treat. We look forward to returning to Pen Villa for our next holiday.

Room Tip: Lower ground floor offers quick access to the fabulous pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Choeng Thale hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#12 of 34 in Choeng Thale
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surintra
Surintra
#13 of 34 in Choeng Thale
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Bangtao Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa
Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa
#7 of 34 in Choeng Thale
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Villa Hotel

Property: Pen Villa Hotel
Address: 9/1, Soi Haad Surin 4, Srisoontorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Best Value Hotel in Choeng Thale
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pen Villa is a family run hotel set among the hills of Surin. The hotel is located away from the main road, its surroundings are serene and private, and Surin Beach is an easy 10 min walk away. The hotel offers some of the best value hotel accommodation in Phuket.Our rooms are spacious and perfectly suited for long-stay guests. All rooms overlook our large swimming pool and tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pen Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen Villa Hotel Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing