We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't keep away from this place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Can't keep away from this place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

For the third year running, we've broken the Sydney winter with a sojourn in Phuket. Two glorious weeks at Ayara, and we were just as delighted as the prior 2 years. The wonderful staff deliver this resort on a lavish tropical platter. The standards haven't slipped a bit, and we are already planning our 2014 trip there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gottatellyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    151
    41
    9
    12
See reviews for
49
608
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at 3 hotels on our last trip to Thailand. They were all in the same price range, but the Ayara definitely outperformed the rest.The front desk was very helpful and professional. They made reservations for us seamlessly and helped us arrange a tour very last minute. The buggies that pick you up/take you to your room always run right on time. Breakfast was good with a great selection. The pool was pristine. Take the shuttle to Surin beach and hang out at Catch Beach Club, which you will have free passes to courtesy of the hotel. Location wise, it is a bit for from the more happening areas (like Kata, Patong and Karon), however some may argue that it's not even worth going down there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soulfultravelandfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

I really do not want the rest of the world to know what I know as my stay with Ayara was something I will never forget and hope to experience again. The personal attention from the moment you step foot on the property to the last wave goodbye, is top notch. The staff is there to please you however they can, and with a smile. The rooms are amazing, pay for the view, it is more then worth it. You can see Surin beach to your left and Bang Tau beach to your right. The landscaping leading to your villa, is tropical and complex. The pool area was clean, inviting and beautiful. The spa experience was fairly priced and exquisite if you can find a reason to tear yourself away from your amazing room. The room itself was spectacular by design, by the interior decorating and by function. To top all of that off with small touches such as fresh flowers throughout your space, and nightly pillow snacks with your turn down service leave you feeling like a celebrity. I never waited longer then 2 minutes for a buggy to take me up to my room. I enjoyed walking down from my room, the scenery is delightful. The walk down to the beach is very doable in 10 minutes and there is no need for a tuk tuk unless you really want one or have some special adaptions. Prepare to salute the security guard with a smile on your way. I have seen many beaches around the world and Surin Beach tops the list from a scenery perspective. The surf was a bit rough, so i would not plan long swimming adventures there, but it is a great place to grab a cocktail, put your feet in the water and take phenomenal pictures. This is a hotel for couples. Romance is inevitable in this place. Not really a family place. Not really a singles joint. However for couples, it is hard to find anything more pleasurable and affordable then Ayara Hilltops. Ssssh, don't tell too many people, I want to continue to be able to afford to go back over and over again. Considering I am from the United States, that is a feat....but Ayara and Surin Beach will draw me back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband (then fiancé) and I were there to celebrate our engagement. Ayara Hilltop was located near Surin beach, away from the crowded Patong. Though it was relatively far from the town center, the beach was private with helpful and attentive staff. Upon reaching the airport, we were fetched straight to Ayara with warm towels with tinge of ginger which was very refreshing. It was really scorching hot at the beach and thoughtful stuff brought me not one but two beach umbrellas.

If I did not remember wrongly, there were less than 40 rooms in Ayara. As its name suggested, it was located on a hill. But traveling to and fro the main lobby was made convenient with a buggy which was a call away. Staff were always smiley whenever we needed a buggy.

The room was splendid! I had to control my screams when a staff brought us to the room. It was huge with a living area, comfortable bed and stunning bathroom. There was an outdoor jacuzzi and indoor bathtub. There were ponds just outside the room which made sleeping at a foreign land easy. The main pool was very clean and well maintained as well. By nightfall, it was very romantic and difficult to fall in love in this secluded resort.

My husband was not a fan of spa (didn't like strangers rubbing him around) but I convinced him to have one with me. It was so enjoyable that we dozed off. It was the best 2 hours spa we ever had. We then had dinner at Ayara's restaurant, green curry veggies and steamed fish with plain rice. It was sooooooo good that we don't think we can forget the taste of the sweet fish.

Hubby requested transportation for us to hang around at Patong. Service was prompt and well-received. As briefed, the driver waited for us at a certain point at Patong to fetch us back. We were pretty tired and decided to return to the resort earlier and to our surprise, the driver was there all along to wait for us in case we need anything.

Although Ayara Hilltop was indeed pricy, but a splurge for a special occasion is definitely worthwhile!

Good job Ayara! :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissyYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

What an amazing trip! We took the hotel transport option from the airport, it was lovely being greeted with cold towels and water for the journey to the hotel. On arrival the check-in was perfect we were greeted with more cold towels, a cold drink and jasmine garland. After that we took a hotel buggy up to our suite, we had booked a pool suite and as it was probably the most we had ever paid for a hotel room we were a bit nervous it wouldn't live up to expectations but wow we were not disappointed. The suite was in two buildings separated by the infinity pool. The view was to die for, we really felt we were in the hilltops. As it was the rainy season having a suite really paid off so we could sit in the lounge area watching the storms roll in across the bay with a cold beer. We ate mostly at the hotel as the food was really good, the highlights were the bar snacks during happy hour and the eggs benedict for breakfast. The restaurant also has a nice setting next to the pool and is beautifully lit at night. The hotel is good location and you can walk easily to Surin, I was a little underwhelmed with the dining options though as they weren't authentic, however leave the hotel, turn right and walk the main road until you get to Pai Tong which is a cheap and cheerful Thai similar to those you find in Bangkok. The 7/11 is also near to pick up beer/wine for the room. Lastly the spa is not to missed, the service was excellent and the prices was really good, we went 3 time during our 4 night stay! A fantastic hotel that was worth every penny.

Room Tip: 842 was a great room with views over both bays
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fuzzo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

It's a sad state of affairs when you spend the last 30 mins of your stay in a hotel writing about it more rather than squeezing the last few drops of pleasure out of it, however a long journey awaits! The Ayara Hilltops is exceptional in every way, from the meet and greet all the way to the private pool overlooking Surin Beach! The GM, Jean-Pierre, has poured his heart into this hotel and in doing so has inspired his incredible team to do the same.
I was worried that the lack of direct beach was going to be a problem during my 2 night stay, but not at all. The buggy transfer was always on hand and in reality I only went once due to the resorts outstanding facilities (and that private pool!)
Brilliant!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nick-selective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

The Ayara is a beautyful small boutique hotel. It offers very nice accomodation and excellent food (though not a huge variety). It has only one pool and one restaurant with no direct acces to the beach. It is nicely built into a steep slope but has no parks or large garden areas like other resorts so if you are looking for a resort with big gardens, multiple pools, direct beach access and a variety of restaurants or entertainment for children then this is simply not the place for you. The staff needs quite some training and the language barrier is quite a problem for most of them. In conclusion the Ayara is nice but offers too little for too much money compared to other resorts in Thailand. And yes, the traffic on the road that seperates the Ayara from the beach is quite audible.

Room Tip: make sure you get a suite further up on the slope with a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
0.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
12.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#8 of 95 in Thalang District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa

Property: Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa
Address: 125 Moo 3 , Srisoonthorn Road | Surin Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
#11 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The days are yours to create, ours to fulfill. Caters to ADULTS only (No Children)(No extra beds). An enclave of 48 LUXURY SUITES set in 23 Villas amidst sloping exotic gardens, taking advantage of the arresting views offered by the emerald green Andaman Sea.Facilities and service are inspired by the single goal of helping each guest create their own journey of respite from the rigors of civilization.Whether you venture only as far as the boundaries of the resort or go further afield, the days are yours to create and ours to fulfill.Welcome to the private world of Ayara Hilltops! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayara Hilltops Hotel Thalang
Hotel Ayara Hilltops
Ayara Hilltops Resort And Spa Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing