We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury at an affordable price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Luxury at an affordable price.”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stayed here with my wife during April 2014, and we both agreed it is one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in (perhaps only bested by our Four Seasons Florence experience).

The staff are absolutely fantastic, from the front desk staff to the guys driving the jeeps up to our apartment, nothing was too much trouble, and it was almost as if they anticipated our needs before we had to ask. Everything was done with a big smile - so charming!

The apartment was a "deluxe", and we couldn't really have asked for more. For once a hotel's photos are realistic! Extremely comfortable bed, lovely bathroom, as well as an outdoor bath and sun loungers.

Breakfast was great too - I had omelette or poached eggs most days, along with fresh fruit and yoghurt, and a pot of tea. The curry made an interesting (delicious) breakfast!

As others have mentioned, there's access to two beach clubs (the beach is 5-10 mins walk away, and the hotel provides a shuttle bus between certain hrs - 11am to 6pm I think). The beach clubs are great, free loungers, excellent service, and tasty food.

Couple of dinner options - the hotel food is amazing, so agree with others that it's worth trying at least once. I had chicken satay (best I've ever had, and it's my Thai starter of choice!), followed by the trio of curries - amazing!

Also, Taste on the nearby beach had lovely food - the pulled pork sliders and fish tacos were addictive!

We're expecting our first child in a few months, so unfortunately we won't be able to stay at The Ayara Resort again (no kids allowed), but we're recommending it to all of our friends. We really did not want to leave!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lony1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    151
    41
    9
    12
See reviews for
49
612
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I don't normally write reviews so I'm afraid it will be short but sweet.

Quite simply this is the best hotel we have ever stayed in from start to finish, it is truly amazing.

If you go to Phuket, Surin is the place to go to and you must stay at the Ayara hilltops for a slice of heaven.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights in early May and everything was beyond my expectation.
My room was the courtyard suite on the mid of the hills, and I think it was really a good choice.
It wasn't on the top of the hill but still could appreciate the amazing sunset and at the same time, close to the lobby area even without the buggy.

The spa was also very nice, i got the thai massage, aromatic oil and foot massage during my 5 day stay at the Ayara and the aromatic oil massage was just perfect. I hardly fall asleep during massage, actually i never did before, and the aromatic oil made me fall asleep even very briefly.

The size of the room was big enough for 2 girls with tones of shoes, clothes and everything.
The shower outdoor was a very exotic experience and i never used the indoor shower during my whole stay. That also was a surprising plus of the hotel, after a dip in the Surin beach, we could take shower simultaneously.

The whirlpool in front of our room did not have a heating, but no need. It got a jet spa which works very well.

The mini bar was surprisingly cheap, if I'm correct the San Pellegrinom 750ml was about 140 Thai baht.

The staffs were very professional, friendly and honest. You ask for something to them, they bring you not just what you asked but more, whatever it might be.

I'm definitely staying here again!

Room Tip: The upper the room, it has better view and also more expensive. But I don't think it would make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

From the minute the organised pick up occurred to the minute the organised drop off left, The Ayara went above an beyond expectations and accomplished what i consider to be the most relaxing stay ever had, in a hotel which boasts the best rooms every stayed in, with a view to match.

Check was quick. We received hotel credit to redeem on food or massage. This was a great perk.

The hotel buggy quickly took us to our room, and a guided tour by staff demonstrated everything we needed to know. The view was outstanding, and the size and space of what we had was tremendous. Incredibly clean, beautifully laid out, huge bed, and large bathroom with out door shower as a feature. Two separate outdoor area's...one a louging area the other a spa. Two flat screen TV's with excellent reception and TV guide provided. High speed WiFi and lots of power points for devices. A good lock box for valuables, and lots of hanging space. Heavy curtains to block light a benefit for a sleep in. The high altitude provided a view over Surin Beach with million dollar sunsets.

Staff were excellent and attentive. Our room was quickly cleaned and organised. The drivers took us to nearby beach clubs upon request (Bimi and Catch provide exclusive offers to Ayara). Waiting staff and pool side staff were great to chat with and looked after our every need. Day trips and taxis were organised for us with safe, reliable drivers in clean and modern cars (eg Toyota Prado etc)

Food was delicious. From pool side snack to full buffet. Breakfast was more like dinner in size and quality...The buffet breakfast a 10/10....just needed a morning paper to go with it. Enjoyed the Thai Buffet dinner one night which was spectatular. The cocktails were some of the best i drank, and very reasonably priced especially during happy hours.

Location is supurb. A short walk to beach, and many mini marts in close walking proximity. With excellent dining and high calibre beach clubs close by it adds a very unique dynamic to such a relaxing spot if you want to change gear. Mini golf and golf clubs not far away either. All can be arranged by hotel staff. The nearby soccer/football pitch is great to go to if you are lucky the home team is playing one night....a great experience if you get a good game.

For travellers wanting a break from the riff raff of busy SE Asian beaches or cities, this hotel, and location delivies in every area. The hotel was exceptional and provided value and an experience we will benchmark for future travel.

Room Tip: All are amazing....but the higher rooms may provide a better view at sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HindleyHunter11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights over Easter and were blown away. The hotel is smaller which is great as a much more intimate experience. The service was excellent. It feels like there is 3 staff members per guest. There is never a wait for the taxi driver to take you from your room to the restaurant. We booked a cooking class and the woman who helped us was just as sweet as can be! To add to that comment, the cooking class was very well priced. You do pay a bit more at this resort, but once you are in, all prices on food, excursions, spa packages are less than anywhere else and are very well worth it. The breakfast was a 10/10 and the dinners we had every night were a 11/10. Both my partner and I LOVED every meal we had there and ate way too much because it was so delicious! Our room was great as well with a wonderful view and outdoor shower. It's also very close to a fun strip of beach bars in Surin beach if you are looking for a night or afternoon out... I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heatherbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Great resort in Phuket, last stop in our Andaman Sky tour of the Andaman coast and Bangkok, great trip, thanks to them for a holiday of a lifetime. We loved the Ayara Hilltops, there is something really special about being perched on a headland above the sea in a really luxurious and private room, room is a bit of a small word though, it was more like a suite, with lots of space and all the amenities you could possibly ask for. Highly recommended, would return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Shannon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed in a room with a nice view over Surin Beach. Overall the service was good the rooms were well laid out and convenient. The buggy service from the reception to the room was useful, as was the service to take you to the beach. The access to Catch and BiMi beach clubs also a bonus in staying here.

On the downside, the air-conditioning needed some fixing in the bedroom. However this was done promptly.

Breakfast was ok. A wide choice, but it's buffet, and therefore the food is not that fresh or hot, if like me, you roll in at 9:30am.

Restaurant food was very good, and a meal by the pool is recommended, but I would avoid the room service as it seemed to take some time to deliver, and was not hot. This was probably due to the distance to the kitchen.

Overall, very good, romantic, beautiful setting and gardens, and we would be tempted to stay here again.

Room Tip: ask the hotel for the option of pick up from airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dhenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
0.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
12.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#9 of 95 in Thalang District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa

Property: Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa
Address: 125 Moo 3 , Srisoonthorn Road | Surin Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
#11 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The days are yours to create, ours to fulfill. Caters to ADULTS only (No Children)(No extra beds). An enclave of 48 LUXURY SUITES set in 23 Villas amidst sloping exotic gardens, taking advantage of the arresting views offered by the emerald green Andaman Sea.Facilities and service are inspired by the single goal of helping each guest create their own journey of respite from the rigors of civilization.Whether you venture only as far as the boundaries of the resort or go further afield, the days are yours to create and ours to fulfill.Welcome to the private world of Ayara Hilltops! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayara Hilltops Hotel Thalang
Hotel Ayara Hilltops
Ayara Hilltops Resort And Spa Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing