We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, location and dining” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anantara Layan Phuket Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service, location and dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

What makes the hotel stand out from its peers is great service, great location and great food. The staff were not only very friendly, but professional and proactive - their special attention made us feel like we were the only ones staying at the hotel.
Our Sala villa was also excellent with lots of space both inside and outside and a pool big enough to enjoy with a family.
The food exceeded our expectations in terms of flavor and presentation and the restaurant setting is just lovely with a great view of the bay and sea.
Its a place we would definitely like to return to!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Braunies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Braunies,

We strongly believe that great service is what makes the difference. Adding to that a great location, great food and friendly but professional and proactive staff and we will have very delighted guests as yourself. So a heartfelt thank you to you for choosing our resort as your home in Phuket and we already look forward to welcome you again.

Regards,

Andy Kunz
Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    88
    28
    8
    6
See reviews for
139
325
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is our first experience with Anantara Resort and one of the best that we ever stayed! We booked Beachfront Layan Pool Villa for 2 nights, and I wish I can stay there for another 2 nights! Impressive villa with huge bathroom, huge pool with both stunning beach view and lagoon view. Staff were very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woodwoodlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear woodwoodlily.

Thank you for posting your pictures and comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that we were able to make a right first impression for Anantara and hope this is the beginning for many more visits to our amazing collection of hotels and resorts.

Kind regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This property is pure paradise! From the minute you arrive with the wonderful welcome you receive (you must try their welcome drink! Delicious) to the sad day when you have to leave . . . you will be so impressed. We stayed in a pool villa and our friends stayed in a Premier Sea View room. Both rooms offer someone for someone. I am a pool person so my room with a pool was fantastic plus the bathrooms in the pool villa's are made for a queen!!! My friends are "view" people and you truly can't beat the sea view from the Premier rooms.

The breakfast buffet is literally the best breakfast buffet I have ever seen or had. What an amazing experience. You have to try to special egg and lobest dish that Chef Umberto will creat for you. I almost stayed an extra night just for breakfast.

A must is having dinner in "dee plee" the resorts Thai restaurant. The restaurant sits on the hill overlooking the sea and has the most delecatable Thai food (you have try try the Khao Soy Gai). Go for a drink during sunset so you can experience a stunning sunset.

I found out the resort has a wedding chapel! I must may have to find a husband so I can get married there :).

All in all - what a wonderful 3 days we had there. The resort is perfect for friends, families, couples, honeymooners - everyone and I will definitly go back!

Room Tip: The resort has several room types - it all depends if you want a view of the sea or a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Meg E,

It was our pleasure to have you in Paradise and we are delighted to read that you had a wonderful 3 days and we certainly look forward to welcome you back to your home in Phuket.

Let us know when you find a husband and we will get the wedding chapel ready.

Until next time....

Best regards,

The Anantara Phuket Layan Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

My husband and I had previously stayed at the Anantara Phuket Villas and had a wonderful experience there. So, when it came to planning my joint 40th birthday with my BFF Elaine, the newly opened Anantara Layan became the obvious choice for our group of 13 adults and 15 children. Our experience there ranged dramatically from over-the-moon fantastic to downright disastrous!

Fantastic:
Nearly all the families got free upgrades, which was a godsend, because the seaview rooms we had booked were just downwind from a very noisy and dusty construction site.
Our 40th birthday party was wonderful, from the beach cocktails to the amazing Thai feast. Well done, Elisabeth d'Souza, party-planner extraordinaire!
The food we had at the Thai restaurant and breakfast, especially on Easter Day, was spectacular. Chef Umberto rocks!! Our stay was made all the more special thanks to the Chef who was always on hand, day and night, to make recommendations, tweak menus to accommodate our preferences and whip up special requests.

Disastrous:
The reservations department was often poorly managed, getting the bookings mixed up, not being able to fulfill simple requests of extra bed or cot in a timely manner.
Slow service at the restaurant. Again, communication between the kitchen and wait staff was evidently lacking. SOme of our meals appeared quickly and others took over an hour.

Overall, we had a great time. The beach is lovely, especially at low tide. The pool is very nice, although the deck area around it is too small. We stayed in the Sala pool villa which was beautiful, despite a couple of design flaws. I think that in a year or 2, after all the building works are done and after all the kinks have been ironed out, this resort will be top-class.

Room Tip: The pool villas are great. When we were there, the seaview rooms were right next to a massive const...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Audrey W,

Thank you very much for choosing Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa to celebrate your joint birthday with your friends. We were very delighted to have you and we appreciate very much your feedback. we are glad that you had fantastic moments despite also some disastrous ones. We are fully aware of the shortfalls as they were discussed with you and your guests during your stay and I can assure you that the entire team has, since then, been working hard to ensure the problems you faced do not reoccur in the future. I would like to apologize once again for all those misses and hope to welcome you back in the future to show you that we ironed out all the kinks.

With warm regards

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I visited during the soft opening and found no issues with noise that some other reviewers mentioned. Furnishings and amenities were very nice and the breakfast spread was unbelievable. We had wine and champagne for breakfast!! Nice pool right next to the beach. Quiet location and not walkable toNikki beach, though the hotel will drop you off at the main road from which it is a 15 minute walk. I think the hotel has an arrangement with Nikki beach that gives hotel guests free tables. The room service menu is not particulary cheap - we paid 110b for like 15 fries and 260b for two chicken nuggets with what would have been a small fries from McDonald's. Far away from most things so highly recommended for vacationers who just want to laze about and enjoy each other's company but if you want to go out and do stuff you're better off staying somewhere Patong.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank powdersnowed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear powdersnowed,

Excellence is what we strive for every day and it is through the feedback from our guests that we can further improve. Thank you so much for your comments and review.

Best regards,

Andy Kunz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel - even when staying there as we did during the soft opening period, and I would happily return later when everything is completed.

There are many great points but beyond what is expected if a 5-star hotel (which it delivers on), I would especially highlight the secluded location and private beach, the calm and luxurious ambience, and unusually friendly staff.

Two let downs.

I desired two specific day trips (diving and snorkelling). I went to reception expressing what I desired and every time the reply was no availability. It took me at least 20 minutes each time to sort out, getting the hotel to ring other agents and each time I had amazing luxurious trips to my desired destination a that I would have missed out on if believing reception. As a guest in a 5-star resort I expect the hotel to supply what I ask for and think beyond their own agent.

A integral part of coming to this part of the world is spa treatments and massages. The hotel is very aggressively priced for treatments with prices well above other 5-star hotels both in Asia and Europe. I cannot exclude that the finished spa will lend itself to such prices but I would be surprised. This price policy needs managerial consideration.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SE1er_in_Lodnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear SE1er_in_Lodnon,

"Excellent. Tranquil. Luxurious." - Thank you for these great description of Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa and fo highlighting our friendly staff.

It was a great pleasure for the entire team to make your stay enjoyable.

I also appreciate your feedback in regards to the difficulties with your day trip bookings and your concerns with our Spa pricing. Rest assured that I will look into this to ensure we do not let our guests down.

Again thank you for your visit and until next time...

Sincerely,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We spend 12 days in this brandnew Anantara Resort at Layan Beach Phuket. A small paradise amongst the beautiful sandy and romantic beaches of Phuket. Arriving at Anantara is always an event; a very personal touch and feeling right away at home. We had an upgrade (to a beautiful Pool Villa) because of the works up in the hills, where they were finishing the last buildings in which we booked a room. The service was impeccable, fluently and personal. The staff is amazingly friendly and helpfull! We fell in love with them and were sad to leave those lovely people! The extra complimentary service is really incredible; every night we received a Chef's Degustation in the room, all high class appetizers or drinks: wonderfull! The breakfast was sensational; great presentation and everything a person could ever want for breakfast! But the staff: they are so lovely and adorable (Specially Au and DeeDee, Patrick, and all the others!) The only negative we experienced was the prices of the lunches and dinners, the drinks and the wines. I think that needs to be finetuned, quality-price relation. If there were little more balanced and less expensive rates for these F&B, we should have eaten (and drank) much more inside the hotel. Anyway, we were already huge fans of Anantara, and after this holiday, we are even more fan now! Thanks for the smiles, service and love of you all, staff at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterSas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear PeterSas,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Paradise. We are incredibly proud of our associates who work hard to deliver memorable experiences and getting the recognition of our valuable guests encourages us to always do more.
I have noted your comments in regards to our food and beverage prices. We review and compare our prices on a regular basis with similar restaurants in other resorts in Phuket to ensure we offer good value.

We look forward to welcome you again soon in the Land of Smiles.

Warm regards,

Andy Kunz
Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
8.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
10.0 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#5 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
9.3 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
3.8 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Layan Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Layan Phuket Resort

Property: Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Address: 168, Moo 6, Layan Beach Soi 4 | Cherngtalay, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Layan Phuket Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a truly unique tropical hideaway, set prominently on the white sands of Layan beach. This quiet bay with crystal clear waters remains a hidden gem away from the developing beaches of Phuket. A wide range of accommodation options suit your every need; step off your private deck onto the warm sands, or take in a stunning sea view from the hillside. Swim in pristine waters and observe the vibrant sea life below the surface, or explore nearby attractions and nature, learning about local island life. Situated on Layan beach, one of Phuket's most picturesque bays, the resort enjoys a prime location away from busy island life, yet is still conveniently connected to a host of attractions. Just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport, on the islands west coast, excursions to the Andaman's famed sights are readily available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Anantara Layan Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bundarika Villas And Suites, Phuket
Bundarika Villas & Suites, Phuket Hotel Layan Beach
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing