We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The resort is simply beautiful. If you want a quiet get away, this place is highly recommended. We stayed in a Sala beach villa and was very surprise by the size of the villa and the pool. I thought the pool will be small but it was actually a very decent size pool. The breakfast is yummy especially the egg Benedict and pancake. Good kids menu.

If you have the time, do visit the spa which is located on a hillside cliff. The environment is super relaxing and the view from the spa rooms is simply amazing. The price is a little high though.

We took a meter taxi from the airport (cost about 400bhat) The hotel do provide pick up service but it will cost about 2000bhat. If you intend to take a meter taxi from the airport, do bring along the full address of the hotel as our taxi driver actually lost his way. I guess the resort is still fairly new and not many taxi drivers know the way.

I thought I should mention that the beach is not the highlight of this resort. If you want a beautiful beach, then it will be better to choose another resort. Overall we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Icedex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Icedex,

Thank you for recommending Anantara Phuket Layan Resort &Spa for a quiet get away. The resort is indeed beautiful and our Sala Pool villas amongst others are very generous in size. Our Spa offers amazing views as well as a wide selection of treatments.
All our guests keep raving about our breakfast selection and all the yummy dishes.

Like every coastline in Thailand, our beach is considered the property of the King or in other words public property. In Phuket there are no private beaches. However the unique aspect of our location ensures a very private and quiet experience. Our sandy beach is quite shallow, therefore influenced by high and low tides but allows for year round swimming.

The entire team joins me to invite you to come and stay with us again, so we look forward to welome you back for an other wonderful time.

Sincerely,

Andy Kunz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

507 - 513 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had a group trip at this resort for the last weekend, Quiet and relaxing at the resort. Very good breakfast. We had an incredible sea side dinner with a fire show, all of my colleague had a memorable time and we all wish to come back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ada T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Ada T,

Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa is the perfect location for incredible sea side dinners, it was a delight to welcome you and your group and we are very happy that we were able to provide you with a memorable time.
We also wish you to come back next year.

Until then we send you our smiles from Paradise.

Cordially,

Andy Kunz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed for 5 nights at one of the pool villas and it was absolutely lovely. We got the complimentary fast track at immigration which was a breeze,no standing in long ques at the air port. Breakfast spread was vast so you don't get bored with the same menu all the time,especially if your staying for more that 2-3 days. Quality of service was excellent from all staff be it front desk, restaurants, poolside, kids club and the spa. The beach is very quiet and the hotel is not central to most of the touristy spots of Phuket, although that didn't bother us as we enjoyed the private pool, beach and the spa. Wife and I had a couple of relaxing massages at the spa while our 6 year old was at the kids club. Really relaxing and chilled out place. Unfortunately, we couldn't try the Thai restaurant at the hotel as it was closed most days. Overall it was a relaxing and amazing place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rajeev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Rajeev R,

We are pleased to read that you had a relaxing stay in our amazing place. Thank you for staying with is and for rating our service as excellent. We are looking forward to welcome you again to Paradise.

Regards,

Andy Kunz
Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Beautiful property, amazing villas and lovely staff all around. Service was excellent and the staff are very attentive. Planned a few trips through concierge and they were great.

A bit far from what Phuket has to offer but the resort has great value for money and their Thai restaurant is one of the best I've been to, you have be there around the weekend to try it as it's not open 7 days a week due to some construction works on their residence. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tee_S_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Tee_S_80,

Thank you for choosing Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa for your stay in beautiful Phuket. we are delighted t read that you found the property beautiful, the staff attentive and the service excellent. Deeplee our Thai restaurant serves amazing dishes from all over Thailand, thank you for rating it as one of the best you have been to.

We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to see you again soon in Paradise.

Kind regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at this resort for 10days in April. The quality of the service was incredible. Nothing was an issue. The breakfast buffet was by far the best we have ever had. The pool was very nice and the villa was incredible.
This hotel is located in a very secluded bay far from everything, so if you want peace and quiet this is the place for you.
The beach itself is not nice at all, the tide is in only a few hours a day and the sand feels like mud; however, about 200m away there is an excellent beach that is great to swim on. We used the paddle boards to reach there and swim for a while every day.
We had a special dinner included in our package, and although the booking/setting up was quite confusing for the staff (we had to talk to them 3-4 times for it to happen) the end result was an incredible and delicious beach romantic evening.
We would definitely go back to this hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sofia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Sofia D.

Thank you for your testimony. It was a delight to serve you for your honeymoon and we look forward to see you again in Paradise. Maybe for an anniversary?

Best regards,

Andy Kunz
Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife and I took a trip to Phuket in April and decided to try all of the Anantara resorts in Phuket. It was our first chance to stay at Anantara Phuket Layan. The resort is the ideal getaway and is removed from the busy over crowded areas in the south of Phuket. The private beach front was a real highlight and also the pool was perfect for relaxing. The accommodation was a high standard. We stayed in a Deluxe Pool Villa, however I would recommend to spend the extra money and book one of their beach front villas. The services at the resort were also of a high standard. From the attention to detail shown by the room maids to the amazing breakfast prepared by the kitchen staff, all aspects of the stay were impressive. Management also were present and interacting with guests around the resort. A special thanks to Chef Umberto and the Resort Manager Carla for making our stay memorable. Overall we can highly recommend Anantara Phuket Layan.

Room Tip: Beach Front Layan Pool Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dylan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Dylan C,

An excellent review for an excellent stay! Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcome you and your wife back to Paradise.

Best regards,

Andy Kunz
Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We spent a week at this new resort (it is actually an upgrade and expansion of an existing resort that Anantara purchased) in mid April. It was during the soft opening so they were still trying to get the kinks out of their services, which there were quite a few of, before the formal opening . This included housekeeping failing to make up the room to the same standard each day (we did not get towels for the pool until the 5th day!), did not provide fresh fruit in the villa each day as they were supposed to, fruit flies on the breakfast food buffet, broken pedals on most of the bikes, light in the pool did not work, door bell for villa did not work, lack of in depth knowledge of available activities at the concierge, etc.

Since we had booked this resort based upon the nice photos of the beach we were we were quite disappointed to find that it was not as advertised. The resort sits on a secluded bay that is very shallow. When the tide is going in or out the beach is effectively not usable. The water levels drop to leave 400M of muck, rocks and coral to trudge across to reach the waterline. This also means that you can only use the watersports equipment (stand up paddle board, wind surfer, kayak) for about 3 hours during the day when the water is near high tide. Quite disappointing to us, however, as many of the resort guests never move farther than the pool this may not matter to everyone. (check out the photos that we have posted of the beach)

The Sala Pool Villa was also not quite as spacious as advertised although it was new and quite comfortable. It was essentially the size of a moderate hotel room (about 30M2) with a very large bathroom. The king bed was great but there really wasn't any other place to sit in the room other than a very small table with 2 chairs. It would have benefited from having a sofa or other bench seat in the room. There were 3 of us including our 14 yr old son and found it smaller than we would have liked. Having said that I would not recommend the standard pool villas which are really small and have pools that are just a bit larger than a bathtub!

On the positive side the breakfast buffet was incredible with a wide variety of fresh fruit juices, fruits, eggs, salads, cheeses, meats, etc.., the resort is remotely secluded so that there is no traffic noise bothering you and the staff were very friendly and accommodating making you feel very welcome.

A nice resort if your intention is just to lay by the pool all day, not use the beach or venture outside of the resort to explore Phuket.

Room Tip: Do not choose the beach pool villa if you want privacy as the large windows on the villas and the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gregg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Layan Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Gregg C,

Thank you very much for posting your review and pictures on TripAdvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed the secluded location of the resort, our incredible breakfast buffet and that you found our staff to be very friendly and accommodating.

I also appreciate your constructive feedback and apologize for some service shortfalls. This allows us to identify areas where we need extra attention to ensure a great experience for all our guests.

I am sorry that you did not find your Villa exactly as expected, a floor plan as well as pictures of all our room types are available on our website. I also regret that you were disappointed by our beach being affected by low and high tides.

Thank you again for visiting Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa and we look forward to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Andy Kunz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
8.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#4 of 36 in Choeng Thale
724 reviews
10.0 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
3.8 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#3 of 36 in Choeng Thale
1,943 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trisara
Trisara
#1 of 36 in Choeng Thale
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Layan Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Layan Phuket Resort

Address: 168, Moo 6, Layan Beach Soi 4 | Cherngtalay, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#4 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range: £130 - £1,078 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Layan Phuket Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a truly unique tropical hideaway, set prominently on the white sands of Layan beach. This quiet bay with crystal clear waters remains a hidden gem away from the developing beaches of Phuket. A wide range of accommodation options suit your every need; step off your private deck onto the warm sands, or take in a stunning sea view from the hillside. Swim in pristine waters and observe the vibrant sea life below the surface, or explore nearby attractions and nature, learning about local island life. Situated on Layan beach, one of Phuket's most picturesque bays, the resort enjoys a prime location away from busy island life, yet is still conveniently connected to a host of attractions. Just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport, on the islands west coast, excursions to the Andaman's famed sights are readily available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelbag, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anantara Layan Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bundarika Villas And Suites, Phuket
Bundarika Villas & Suites, Phuket Hotel Layan Beach
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing