We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but internet totally unreliable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bangtao Village Resort
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed here three times for up to a week at a time. Obviously that means that there is much to recommend, though my main reason was its proximity to a place I was working. Still, the single rooms were beautiful in their own style and the breakfast staff were wonderful. The breakfast choice got to be so boring that I sometimes went without instead of eating the same thing, and the available outlets in the room are unacceptably few and badly placed. The big complaint, however, is that at least during off season you must expect the internet will not be available the first night. It will also always be so weak if you are far from the front desk that your connection will drop every few minutes. They are sweet as can be about apologizing, but that hardly makes up for being 24 hours late to answer that emergency email you couldn't get. By the next day they will fix it and tell you it never happened before. You can count on it. Bottom line: nice looking pool when it is open, nothing else to do in the immediate area, poor choice of eating in walking distance, unreliable internet, but the room looks so damned nice and the breakfast crew is so pleasant that I've kept coming back. I'm forever done with it now myself, but you'll probably like it the first few times as well until you catch on.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms with two bedrooms & baths joined into a suite. The only reliable internet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gringleoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Handy for the beach, great accommodation, clean & great value for money.
Would DEFINATELY stay here again, but hopefully the land next door will have finished clearing the site & not drilling from 8-8 - We literally felt the earth move when we were in our beds!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolmeBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel. The staff were extremely friendly. The breakfast was really good, they couldn't give us enough! The rooms were spacious and clean. We didn't use the pool but it looked very clean.
The only problem for us was there wasn't a lot to do in the area, but that has no reflection on the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cknight91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We had a wonderful time at the hotel, the rooms are nice and clean, we had two rooms however one of the rooms toilet smelt at times, but over all a good deo, friendly helpful staff. Breakfast was simple, eggs, bread, cereal, fruit, yogurt, sausages. The beach is a five minute walk, a lovely relaxing beach and the hotel was surrounded by lovely restaurants, Thai massage and beauty parlours. A comfortable hotel with a lovely calming environment.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neetu06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

This in not a luxury hotel, it is not even a four star unit and it does not claim to be. It is comfortable, friendly, well run and good value 3+ star hotel, with spacious bungalows, good bathrooms, a decent pool and a simple but well-done fixed breakfast. The staff top to bottom were exceptionally helpful. It is also quiet and restful but close to beaches and cafes

It exceeded my expectations, I would stay there again. Nice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank peterpig888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Overall we had a pleasant stay at Bangtao Village Resort. This is not a luxury resort, simply a comfortable stay. Our room / villa has a good amount of space and was clean. The staff were friendly and we used the pool while we were there. Breakfast consisted of tea / coffee, eggs, "bacon", toast & fruit, which was perfectly adequate for us.

I was ill for a couple of days whilst staying here, so appreciated the relative bug free-ness of the rooms and the couple of english tv channels that they had. The free wifi in our room was also a bonus!

On the slightly negative side, the shower has hot water but only stays hot for about 30 seconds, you need to constantly adjust the taps to get the right temperature and again it will last 30 seconds before needed to be adjusted again (this however could just have been specific to our room). Also, although the rooms were bug free overall, we had a few ants climbing up the walls a couple of times and a couple of geckos living behind the tv during our stay! None of this stuff really bothered us however.

On the whole I would stay here again if I was ever in Bangtao. However Bangtao itself is not a place I would visit again. We chose to stay here for the surfing and the beach and expected Bangtao to be a small beach resort, but it was like a ghost town. There were barely any visitors around and the majority of the beach was unusable due to high tide. The only part of the beach that it was possible to sun bathe on was outside the Dalar resort and there were only a handful of deck chairs. There are no eateries on the beach like any other resorts either. It is probably because we travelled in September (which is a rainy month,) but we are not sure, since we expected some sign of good surfing and nice beach-ing which was publicised on a surf school website however we found none.

Travelled in Sept 2011 as a couple.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 111_Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 9 December 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
0.1 mi away
Arinara Bangtao Beach Resort
Arinara Bangtao Beach Resort
#13 of 36 in Choeng Thale
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baan Chayna
Baan Chayna
#31 of 36 in Choeng Thale
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kris Resort
The Kris Resort
#85 of 97 in Thalang District
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
#2 of 8 in Bang Tao Beach
598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andaman Bangtao Bay Resort
Andaman Bangtao Bay Resort
#6 of 8 in Bang Tao Beach
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bangtao Beach Chalet
Bangtao Beach Chalet
#2 of 20 in Bang Tao Beach
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangtao Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangtao Village Resort

Address: 72/26 Moo 3 Soi Had Bangtao, Srisoonthorn Rd, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Price Range: £21 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bangtao Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bangtao Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangtao Village Hotel Cherngtalay
Bangtao Village Resort Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing