We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel next to the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Surin Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surin Bay Inn
Ranked #11 of 27 Choeng Thale B&B and Inns
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice hotel next to the beach”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Very friendly and good looking hotel with attractive rates, good service and superb location opposit beautiful Surin beach. You can select Thai, English or American breakfast which tasty and good cooked. Staff meet you with a smile 24h a day.

I booked 4 night and get free transfer from the airport. Car was nice and clean.

Even standard room is big, very clean, all furnitures in very nice conditions. Tea/coffee set, AC, TV, telephone, nice bathroom.

I'm happy to spend these days here at Surin beach. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    27
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
5
25
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I've been to Surin Beach a few times and have stayed at different hotels each time, and by far this is my favorite. I had one of the deluxe rooms with a balcony looking toward the beach. The road isn't very noisy, so that wasn't an issue - however - on some weekends people do shoot fireworks off at the beach. But that's usually brief.

The room was extremely large, a big comfortable bed, a nice sitting area, some English language programs on the TV (not just news), mini-fridge, a nice bathroom, free wifi, and room service. The AC worked great, and the room was always spotless, as was the rest of the property. Mai, she and her husband Terry own the place, is also a wonderful hostess, and her staff is very friendly and helpful. The staff at Surin Bay Inn can arrange your tours, car rental, car service, pretty much anything you need they can handle. The only thing Surin Bay doesn't have that some of the larger properties do, is their own beach restaurant, so you have to rent your chairs down at the beach, but it's not exactly expensive..

Surin Bay Inn's location is perfect - it's as close to the beach as you can get (None of the hotels at Surin are beach front) with a peak of it from the rooms with balconies, you have to walk across a small beach road and through a path through the field to get to the beach) , near the tuk-tuks for getting around, and there's a small convenience store 2 doors down. Surin Bay Inn not only has extremely reasonable rates, but also has some great perks if you stay for more than a couple days, when booked direct their rates usually include at least a 1 way airport transfer, longer stays round trip transfers. Breakfast is usually included to, and can be eaten in your room or downstairs in the dining room/bar area.

The restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and the food is very good with a mix of Thai and English, and all of it can be served in your room. If you get tired of eating there, there are numerous restaurants serving almost any type of food imaginable just footsteps away, both along the main road, the road the hotels are on, and down at the beach, and Patong is a fairly short 15 - 20 min tuk tuk ride away.

Room Tip: Very small hotel, there's no elevator - but they take your bags up and down the stairs for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beentheredonethatoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I stayed here with my wife for two nights in the deluxe sea room and was pleasantly surprised. The room was massive and cleaned to a high standard. Fast free Internet and a very tasty breakfast all included too.

My brother had a standard room which was about a third of the size of our room so if you can it is worth paying the extra for a deluxe sea view room. Also his air con was noisy, but ours was fine.

All in all no complaints and recommend to those travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike116610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The rooms were very unclean, Damp & the AC wasnt working. we felt suffocated. The staff couldnt repair the AC hence we were asked to shift to another room but that one was worse.
Their kitchen doesnt seem to have any exhaust - the dining area was full of cooking smell..
Not a place to stay if you are looking for connectivity & visiting places.

We had asked them to book 2 tickets for the island tour & they charged twice what was generally recommended by others.

One good point
Surin Beach is absolutely beautiful & not very crowded. If one wants such beaches instead of those crowded phuket beaches - one should stay in this location .. but not in this hotel

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank krithika_2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Choeng Thale hotels

mikk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

they brought down the rate for us drastically and still allowed us to have breakfast. the room was clean, spaceous, all you will need and more. the breakfast was amazing and a giant helping. they kept our stuff for us. totally worth it. and so close to the beach!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikkMikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Mai and her staff are very accommodating and hospitable and even though the Thai's are noted for that (which is true as long as you are kind too) they are among the best. Price is very reasonable and the restaurant is outstanding!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank park86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed here 4 nights. Staff are all extremely friendly. Breakfast great and can eat anytime you like. WiFi works very well. Rooms are spacious and comfortable with fridge/Kettle + ample coffee/tea supplied. Restaurant /bar good and reasonably priced. I would not bother to book sea view room though as the view is over the street and the back rooms offer better value for money. (1100bht/night) PS: no elevator to 4th floor, so if you struggle make sure to book on lower floors.

Room Tip: Don't bother to book sea view , other rooms just as good and cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
0.2 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#8 of 95 in Thalang District
1,827 reviews
0.2 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#14 of 34 in Choeng Thale
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa
Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa
#7 of 34 in Choeng Thale
792 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surin Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surin Bay Inn

Property: Surin Bay Inn
Address: 106 11 Surin Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Surin Bay Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surin Bay Inn is located 100 meters from Surin Beach on the West Coast of Phuket. A well-established family hotel, this property offers the serenity of the much sought after Surin area, whilst being within easy reach by taxi, of the world renowned nightlife, Patong. Surin Bay Inn offers a convenient location to base your holiday, whether you choose to relax on the beach or explore the Island known as the "Pearl of the Andaman". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surin Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surin Bay Hotel Surin Beach
Surin Bay Inn Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing