We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a country pub”

The George and Dragon
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tadley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The George and Dragon
Ranked #3 of 6 Tadley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 October 2012

What a hidden gem! This pub serves very tasty british pub grub! The food was of an excellent quality and the pub itself is really attractive in a lovely rural setting. The only thing was, the was no one else there on a Saturday lunchtime so it lacked atmosphere. I couldn't believe that such a great pub was empty...come on everyone head over to the George and Dragon...enjoy the food and help our local pubs!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyhels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for The George and Dragon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

A pretty "olde worlde" country pub in a lovely setting with chic modern rooms in the pub grounds. Paved terrace areas in front of the rooms to enjoy the sunshine and flowers. A short wander over to the pub for good beer and food. Perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seahorseshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed friday to sunday in this lovely setting down a country lane but so close to basingstoke and the motorways. The food is great - freshly made and such an improvement on the chains. Great pub atmosphere and good beer. The accomodation worth special mention - v v comfortable bed and room and brilliant shower - wet room style with stone tiles - good and powerful too. We stayed almost by chance but will always use this as a base when in the area. Faultless...

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank templelewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I was back at the G&D again this week for the annual St George's Day lunch and, as ever, had a wonderful day in the company of the lunch guests, the locals (who always turn out to see us) and, of course, Lionel, Paula and their great staff. Excellent food and a very comfortable room for the night (much needed after a long day of eating and drinking!). Shame I didn't make it up in time for breakfast! Looking forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RugbyRaccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We must have stayed at the wrong time as our experience wasn't as positive as other reviews, perhaps this was because Lionel and Paula were away on holiday and their son was left in charge. The T.V didn't work and needed tuning in, we were only left one set of towels for two of us,and a dead spider and fluff were behind the bathroom door for the two days we were there, there wasn't a hair dryer so we asked for one and we were loaned Paula's, then for breakfast we were given a jug of sour milk, we were told this was because the milk was delivered in bulk. The son was apologetic for all these faults and they were corrected, but it was a bit dissapointing, but the food was good and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eladmij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Lovely clean and comfortable room, well priced for the area, perfect for an overnight stay. Hidden away, friendly staff. Lovely freshly cooked breakfast to order. Would stay again if in the area

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kettlekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

The title says it all. Good food, good beer, good rooms, what more can you want?

Lionel and Paula always offer a warm friendly welcome to all of their guests. I have stayed many times and keep coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Osodit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tadley
1.6 mi away
Sandford Springs Hotel
Sandford Springs Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsclere
232 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
5.0 mi away
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
#10 of 13 in Basingstoke
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Broomsquire
The Broomsquire
#5 of 6 in Tadley
38 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bel & The Dragon
Bel & The Dragon
#1 of 1 in Kingsclere
140 reviews
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
The White Hart Inn
#6 of 6 in Tadley
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George and Dragon

Address: Townsend, Tadley RG26 5ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Tadley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tadley
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George and Dragon has been run by Lionel and Paula Shore since 1985. A true free house, we offer a good range of real ales and quality home cooked food, served in a warm and comfortable atmosphere. We provide bed and breakfast accommodation in a converted 16th Century barn, which offers 4 double rooms with en-suite, fast Internet access and flat screen colour T.V. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The George And Dragon Tadley, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing