We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveling is a bit steep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coral Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ko He
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The cost to travel to Koh he is expensive for the 6km. The resort made up for it though. During the day, tourist take over the island but at night it is all yours. Breakfast and dinner was great but also expensive. The staff were not so friendly but tolerable. Snorkeling was to die for with plenty of sea life. The island gets soiled by the hundreds of day visitors. The rooms were good and well cleaned.

Room Tip: The bungalows on the beach is far better
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frik65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Public Relations Manager at Coral Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Thank you for a rest in our hotel Coral Island Resort and for leaving a review. Every opinion about our hotel is very important for us. Every day we have shuttle boat to island 3 times per day, for present moment price 250 batt for 1 way by speedboat. Daily tours sometime coming to Coral Island but they can not to pass beach of hotel. That why near hotel you always can find quiet places where you can enjoy beautiful sea and sounds of wild nature.
Thank you and best regards Anna - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Coral Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2013

I get this uncontrollable urge to buy this place so I can fix it up to my standards. Paying lot of money to get here was not a big problem, but getting of the speed boat with big back packs and no help offered by the guys on the boat left us with a bad feeling. Check in was easy and pleasant. However our room in the third row had a non- working a/c and the sewer smell outside made us decide to pay extra for beach front. This was a great decision.
Food was ok, bit pricey. Service was good. House keeping was nice and early so also good.
Look out for tons of broken glass on the beach, the first day we picked up 107 pieces, yes we counted them. Lots of garbage every where. I know we can blame a lot of tourists for that, but the Thai people creates garbage dumps wherever they feel like it it seems. We have now spent a month in Thailand and it is the same every where, what a shame :(
Half of this beach is visited by day trippers and yes there is a lot of boat traffic, also no power twice a day. No problem when you know this.
There is not one comfortable chair in the whole resort, I would liked to have happy hour in a comfy chair.
This is an ok place to visit but I would not come back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank bosslady65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Welcome to the most beautiful place in Thailand! where do I start?
My husband and I stayed at Coral Island resort from xmas eve to after boxing day (4 days in total) we had just come from multiple transfers and extremely tired. The Coral Island resort staff were the most accommodating, beautiful bunch of people that just wanted to impress you and make you feel like you're at home!
We stayed in this gorgeous little bungalow right on the beach! The sand was pure WHITE, the ocean was gentle and crystal clear, full of coral and marine life - it was paradise! and only cost us $60 per night (AUS).
There's no television - at first we weren't too sure how we would handle that! but it turned out to be one of the best things about our stay. We read our books, we relaxed on our deck chairs and watched the sun set every evening. One night we witnessed an awesome storm passing over the horizon, another night we shared a huge fish BBQ'd perfectly by the chef.
We had the freedom to trek through the other side of the island which dazzled us with even more pristine beaches with white sand and FREE deck chairs.
The food was outstanding and quite extensive menu so it didn't feel like we were eating the same thing - I can recommend the Nasi Goreng!! We found the entertainment a bit out dated, but very funny! we can only recommend that the resort invest in some chillout music and a few board games (in case of bad weather).
Coral Island resort was the highlight of our honeymoon, thank you for helping us slow right down and enjoy the essence of Thailand - we will be back, but with all of our families!!!

Room Tip: Bring a good book, lots of sunscreen and a deck of cards.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Smurphy_8812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We spent 4 nights at the resort and had a great time! The staff was very friendly, and kept the resort very clean throughout the day, including the guest rooms and cabins. The beach itself was beautiful with great snorkeling, and easy access to banana beach via a trail. There were a few downsides: the amenities are in need of some upkeep, there are a lot of day trippers (all gone by 17:00), and food/drink and transfers to/from the island are a tad expensive.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank stygarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

A very nice location. The rooms were clean and good value. The food was the worst food I have had in Thailand. The advertised wi fi only worked very early in the morning and even then was very slow. Staff in the main were pleasant.

This is a very nice location and with a bit more effort could be a great place to stay. If you like the idea of an island try the Elixir resort.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Thanks God, we only stay for one night. if i have to back to this hotel, i prefer stay more days on phiphi island ^^ V

the tide was low on afternoon/ evening. so when we arrived, we can swim. because coral and rocks everywhere. so quite and boring : ( nothing to do

the tide was high at morning, so we can swim. the beach is blue and clean. but so many people from across (phuket) come to swim and have fun. crowded. good also

the staf are friendly, the food (dinner and bfast) also good.

the swimming pool is clean enough. the room is also nice (bungalow).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kuswandikwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Much like the rest of Thailand, it doesn't look like any maintenance or up-keep has been done since it was built - from the looks of the decore in the rooms, this must have been late 70's (but for $40 a night who's complaining) However, the Coral gardens just off shore live up to the Island name. Snorkelling over the coral and fish was spectacular, even though the visability was less than 10 metres and the coral looked mostly dead, colourless and covered in silt.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mtodd5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko He
4.5 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
12.6 mi away
Tri Trang Beach Resort
Tri Trang Beach Resort
#87 of 328 in Patong
404 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The Racha
The Racha
#1 of 4 in Ko Racha Yai
1,141 reviews
3.4 mi away
Baan Mai Cottages
Baan Mai Cottages
#35 of 43 in Rawai
87 reviews
9.4 mi away
Rayaburi Resort (Racha Island)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Island Resort

Address: Coral Island, Phuket, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Ko He
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ko He
Price Range: £30 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Island Resort situated 9 km. off the south east coast of Phuket, the island is surrounded by colorful reefs, hence the name Coral Island. Only 15 min. by speedboat from Phuket there is total seclusion in this lovely resort. We have shuttle boat every day from Chalong Pier to Resort and from Resort to Chalong Pier according schedule 3 times per day. For resort customer, accommodation rates include boat transfer on arrival and departure date. There are a total 64 rooms. The rooms are available with four types:- Superior rooms- Deluxe rooms- Beachfront Deluxe rooms- Family roomsAll rooms have air conditioning system, digital safe box, mini bar, coffee table and chairs, hot and cold water, bathroom amenities. Beachfront rooms offers absolutely sea view. Service and Facilities:- Outdoor swimming pool with kid pool- Satellite televisions at lobby- Free Internet access service available in lobby area. - Laundry service- Thai traditional massage and SPA- Shuttle boat service (based on hotels schedule)- Speedboat service- Transfer service- Currency exchange- Tour desk- Russian guest service representative (based on hotels schedule)Dining:- Breakfast is served daily from 07.00 am to 10.00 am- Beach bar- Restaurant serving international food, Italian food, Thai food and fresh seafoodIt is great for family, honeymooner, bird watcher and nature lover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coral Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Island Hotel Rawai
Coral Island Resort Ko He, Thailand - Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing