We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country house with fine dining restaurant”
Review of Demeure de Flore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Demeure de Flore
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lacabarede
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely country house with fine dining restaurant”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at Demeure de Flore for 3 nights after our very disappointing and abortive stay at the disasterous Chateau De Siran at Siran in the Minervois ( please see my review on this nightmare experience - not for the feint hearted).

Demeure de Flore was the perfect antidote with the passionate and enthusiastic Franco and his team who made us very welcome at this high quality country house hotel. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable with French doors opening onto our own terrace in a quiet spot adjacent to the Italian gardens and swimming pool. We had dinner in the hotel and since Franco is an award winning chef and formerly of the Old Course Hotel, St Andrew's, the dining was exceptional with a super wine list to boot. Breakfast was served either on our terrace or in the dining room.

The hotel is located on the edge of the National Park and a short and beautiful drive to Carcassonne. We were made very welcome and looked after very well in this wonderful property and can confidently recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room with its own terrace was quite lovely and within a few steps of the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fergus_McKenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    18
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
24
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltic Coast, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our short (2 day) stay at the hotel was a perfect start to our longer vacations in the south of France.

The building charming, rooms comfortable, service very attentive (although apart from the owner not English speaking :). We managed to communicate with the nice staff in the restaurant nevertheles.

Kids loved the backyard with its pool and small garden.

It is an hour drive from Carcassonne so a good place to stay at if Carrcassonne is too busy or overbooked.

Room Tip: Pool side, ground floor rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oppegard, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Even though the town isn't much this hotel is situated in a beatiful landscape with lots of opportunities nearby as long as you drive. For us it suited well as a three-night base to explore the area.

A nice alley leads you up to the well-kept garden and the old charming hotel. The interior is kept in an authentic style which gave us a relaxing feeling and an insight into how french village life must have been like in earlier times.

The room (the Collett suite) was nicely decorated and had two small balconies and a nice bathroom. The staff and the owner gave a personal and warming service both at the reception and at the meals.

The food was excellent and we enjoyed the chef's selections. All in all a great experience both for wine- and food loving adults and for pool loving children :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianFoWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stopped here for lunch because the restaurant got a good review in the Gault Millau Guide. The food was very good. There was no choice, but as the charming chef/patron explained, that meant he could offer what was best from the market that day. And the bream was superb, on a bed of endives. Best tiramisu I have ever had. Good gnocchi to start with although my wife found them too doughy.
The main disappointment was the dining room - chalet style from the 1940s, with pale red tablecloths and heavy curtains. And modern sculpture in plastic of female torsos on the walls.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

I stayed here two nights and just didn't warm up to the place. We did stay in a terrace room (i.e. one of the better rooms). It was OK, reasonably comfortable (prettily decorated) but for the price not worthwhile. The bathroom was below-average. Other than the nice bed linens, it was on par with much less expensive places.

And while I know this is a sort of one-time-thing, I will mention it anyway: The room had been freshly painted and absolutely reeked of paint-smell. If I were a hotelier, I would not put guests in a room that smelled like that. But it felt a bit indicative of the attitude there.

Lacabarede is on-the-way to a lot of places, but there isn't much there to recommend it. That was part of the surprise in the prices at this hotel------it just isn't in a great location.

We felt that the 35 euro dinner menu was very high-priced, so walked ten minutes along the busy road to a mom & pop resturant called AubergeL'Oustalet. The food was so good I wrote the owners a thank you letter. Quintessential French cooking. That place was so good it might be worth staying at this hotel just to be near it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cessnapilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FdB15, Owner at Demeure de Flore, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor following your stay at the Demeure de Flore.
It was a pleasure to know that you liked the decoration of your room and the bed linen. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the discomfort caused as a result of the paint smell in your room. The room had been treated with air freshener and was thoroughly cleaned after its recent refurbishment. I am very sorry to hear that we were unable to eliminate the odor or offer an alternative room at the time of your stay.
The small village of Lacabarede is located in Tarn in the Midi Pyrenees region of France with a variety of interesting places to visit and explore in the surrounding area.
With reference to your comments about the prices for Dinner, we are proud to serve our guests sophisticated Mediterranean cuisine using the freshest ingredients and a wide selection of quality wines at prices which offer excellent value for money.
We greatly appreciate your feedback as we constantly strive to maintain a consistently high standard of product and service. I would like to reassure you that your comments will be taken into consideration for further improvements to be made.

Sincerely yours,


Francesco Di Bari
Demeure de Flore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacabarede
20.0 mi away
Domaine de Rasigous
Domaine de Rasigous
#1 of 1 in Saint-Affrique-les-Montagnes
96 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#2 of 11 in Castres
243 reviews
17.4 mi away
Logis Le Relais de Fusies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Hotel Renaissance
Hotel Renaissance
#4 of 11 in Castres
241 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hotel Le Miredames
Hotel Le Miredames
#6 of 11 in Castres
85 reviews
16.7 mi away
Le Caussea
Le Caussea
#5 of 11 in Castres
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demeure de Flore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demeure de Flore

Property: Demeure de Flore
Address: 106 Grand rue | Allée des Tilleuls, 81240 Lacabarede, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Lacabarede
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lacabarede
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Demeure de Flore 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Demeure de Flore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing