We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect B&B”
Review of Rowan Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elgol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rowan Cottage B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Elgol B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Best B&B we had ever stay at with my family. We were a group of 6 ; 4 adults and 2 children. The family room on the first floor is simply perfect for families. The hospitality of Jim and Christie was fantastic. It is quite a remote place so you won't find any restaurant close by, but it isn't a problem since christie is a real chef. Her fish pie is the best .....unfortunately, she won't give you the recipe ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertrand M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here on our recent tour of the highlands. I would definitely recommend that you include Rowan Cottage if your thinking of Skye. Firstly, the drive to and from Broadford (in good weather) is absolutely spectacular! Secondly the sleep quality is amazing from the memory foam mattress and thirdly the hospitality, friendliness and knowledge of Christine and Jim is second to none.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yinmeout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

It's a long trip to reach the Rowan Cottage, you will drive a single track road with a lot of passing places, crossing loch, hills, finding cows and especially sheeps on your way, but when you will be in Elgol and then in Glasnakille you will see only the sea and hear only nature speaking. A dramatic paradise! Then the door will open and Christine and Jim (and Socks, off course!) will make you feel at home. Super porridge (the best I've ever tried), tasty banana cake, fantastic fish pie but above all their hospitality, their sense of humour, their lovely house and the beautiful nights spent all together laughing and drinking.........Jim owns some chickens which are as "daughters" to him, and the very last morning he served us breakfast with his kilt! A great honour from the truly scottish tradition! Simply an unforgettable b&b! Viviana and Carlo

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vivian1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Rowan Cottage was the perfect place to finish our visit to Scotland. The location and views are great. Christine and Jim are so friendly and helpful. Nothing seems to be a problem. Christine's home made banana cake and Jim's porridge were perfect. Chris & Rosie.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Rowan Cottage is by far the best B&B we stayed at on Skye. It is a long drive to get there, but what does that matter, when you drive through some of the most stunning views on the island and the views from Rowan Cottage beats everything. Jim (unfortunately we didn´t get to meet Christine) and even the dog Socks make you feel so much at home. Fine rooms, good breakfast and the home cooked evening meal is a must. We had such a good time here and a great laugh, as Jim has the finest humor, you will come across. We would love to come back and next time we will definitely stay longer……

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gitte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stopped for one night and were made to feel very much at home by Christine the owner and Jim the crew. The cottage was spotless and the superb view well-assisted by the glorious weather. Nothing is too much trouble for these friendly and special people including bringing a toilet bag, which had been left by mistake, down to the pier a good challenging couple of miles away. Thanks guys and hope to see you again!!

Room Tip: No doubt Christine will sort you out and not disappoint!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights. The cottage is so nice and so are the hosts. You will get the most beautiful view from all the rooms in the cottage. If you love nature - this is the place to choose. We took a boattrip to Loch Coruisk and Walked back. We had a great time.
The two danes

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 160,759,052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rowan Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowan Cottage B&B

Address: 9 Glasnakille, Elgol IV49 9BQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Elgol
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elgol
Price Range: £36 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowan Cottage welcomes the intrepid traveller and provides modest, comfortable and quiet accommodation in the small crofting community of Glasnakille, two miles from Elgol. Perfectly placed for the Skye Trail and visits to Spar Cave, Prince Charlie's cave, and the remains of ancient forts and tombs. The cottage provides, twin, double and kingsized bedroom accommodation with private shower room and WC. There is a cosy guest lounge with TV and plenty of books. Enjoy a hearty Scottish breakfast looking over Loch Slapin and the mountains and islands beyond. Yummy baking, suppers and packed lunches are available for our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rowan Cottage Bed And Breakfast
Rowan Cottage Hotel Isle Of Skye
Rowan Cottage B&B Elgol, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing