We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How soon can we return?”
Review of Coruisk House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elgol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coruisk House
Ranked #1 of 2 Elgol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“How soon can we return?”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

The best I can say is that on the last of our four nights at Coruisk House we spent quite some time working out how soon we could come back, and how we could get there more directly.

Clare and Iain are wonderful hosts, and I'd have to describe Coruisk House as more of a two bedroom Five Star hotel than a B&B.

The welcome, the quality of the rooms and furnishings, the care and attention shown by Clare, and the wonderful food prepared by Iain and Clare are all factors, and they work together perfectly. Not being someone who relaxes easily, I was surprised and pleased to find myself steadily unwinding during our stay.

Then there is the location. You'll read elsewhere about the road from Broadford, and it can be a bit of a challenge, but please do not let it put you off. Just consider it a rite of passage, allow more time on your days out, and learn to enjoy the fantastic views it gives of the south west of the island. I'd argue there is more varied and wonderful scenery between Broadford and Elgol than in any similar distance you can drive on Skye, which is saying something.


Very highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    17
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
100
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meaford, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Can't really add much to the reviews already written. Best B&B I've ever stayed in. Lovely in every sense of the word. Excellent hosts, fabulous food, comfy room and bed. We stayed for two nights, which is about as long as I would care to stay, only because it's so remote, unless you're a dedicated hill walker. The boat trip to Loch Coriusk is worth it - take good footwear and walking sticks.

One dinner meal stood out - a dish dedicated to pork - pulled pork in a pastry shell, topped with pork rind, along with mashed potatoes with mustard seed, topped with pork belly and iron age bacon and seasonal veg. Tasted much better than my description. Fish dishes excellent - so much fresh fish available.

Room Tip: There's only two rooms. Clare insisted that my 6'8" brother-in-law take the room the yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drdavidrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent four days and nights at Coruisk House and would number them amongst the very best of any nights in any hotel anywhere in the world. The homely decor with practical, period furniture does not prepare visitors for the sheer brilliance of the whole place - the welcome, the comfort and the cuisine. Clare and Iain are the most fantastic and caring hosts who make everyone feel really welcome from the moment they arrive.

We had the most wonderful gastronomic experiences with every dinner we ordered - seriously the most delicious food we have ever eaten. The menu is based entirely on local produce - venison, lamb, fish, shellfish and more are all bought from local suppliers, some products straight off the boat! With this top quality, so fresh produce Iain performs culinary miracles. He is an inspired and incredibly creative chef who has a magic touch with food and produces the most memorable meals, the sort of meals we only dreamt of before dining at Coruisk House.

We have travelled and eaten widely all over the world and have never had such flavourful, superb meals whether fish, meat or fowl. The choices of menu vary from day to day to offer the best of the fresh but we must highlight two dishes on offer during our stay - the first a fish soup of marvellous consistency and taste which was better than any fish soup in France or elsewhere, and the second a dish of the tenderest lamb and mutton, one cooked slow and the other fast, giving a contrast of texture and flavour, delicious!

As if this was not enough Clare makes the most amazing bread to accompany meals, bread that is so good that it is the talk of the locals. Clare and Iain also have an excellent cellar and are very knowledgeable indeed about their wines.

Front of house Clare and her assistants offer a charming, observant and attentive service and can help with almost any tourists' enquiries, as well as advising on wines and after-dinner drinks. Both Clare and Iain are widely knowledgeable about their own area and the rest of Skye which is enormously helpful to those who need advice and ideas. They are a mine of information on everything from local wildlife and the geology of Skye to places to walk, climb or just visit. On the subject of wildlife you have a chance of seeing seals, otters, deer, hares, sea eagles and golden eagles - we managed three of the above and some wonderful sightings of oyster-catchers and curlews.

Coruisk House's prices are very reasonable indeed, which adds to the whole marvellous experience. We are already planning another trip up to Skye and Coruisk House and would highly recommend that everyone who can get there should do so.

Room Tip: Both rooms available at Coruisk House are well situated with views across to the hills, both are lux...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We spent 7 days travelling the Highlands and Islands. Skye was the highlight and Coruisk House was by far both the best accomodation and restaurant of a holiday where there was some serious competition.

We were warmly greeted on arrival by Clare who instantly made us feel welcome, offering much-needed shortcake and hot tea after a stunning drive up the single track road to Elgol.

We were shown to our tastefully appointed room, a subtle blend of creams, thick bed linen and light wall tones combined to give a fresh, modern, restful air - a tasteful blend of cottage-decor- meets thoughtful lo-fi chic.

Clare dealt with all of our questions about Elgol with good-natured patience and later we set off for a stunning walk to the beach, the evening sun against the misty distant hills gave the place a mystical almost spiritual feel, but it would be the food that night that would lift our spirits even higher.

Clare and Iain have clearly given considerable thought and care to the experience they wish to share at Coruisk and their undoubted hard work shows, both in the ambience and in the food.

We were seated in the small dining room overlooking the stunning countryside in twinkling candlelight and from the presentation of the menu we knew we were in for a treat.

We chose squat lobster and seabass with a wine from a well sourced list personally chosen by the owners. Clare could answer any question about any bottle, helping us pair our Italian red with the locally-sourced produce.

We cannot praise the chef enough for the superb quality of his cooking. It was clear from the reactions of the other diners that they too were bowled over by the plates in front of them and the food, the wine, the service and the beautiful choral music in the background leant the whole evening a peaceful conviviality we have seldom enjoyed.

I haven't even mentioned the very generous breakfast where we helped ourselves to freshly squeezed orange juice, homemade granola, porridge and smoked salmon with the fluffiest scrambled eggs, polished off with plenty of hot tea and Clare's homemade treacle bread smeared greedily with sweet local preserves.

We cannot thank Clare and Iain enough for their hospitality and welcome. Coruisk House was a true highlight of the holiday and will be a cherished memory for years to come.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller harro... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We booked last minute to go to Coruisk House and we had the most wonderful stay. We only wish we had booked for more than one night! We were greeted with home made shortbread and tea on arrival and made to feel incredibly welcome by Claire. Our bedroom (with the four poster bed and ensuite) was enchanting and beautifully decorated, In the bathroom were top quality toiletries, luxury bathrobes and and fluffy towels. The attention to detail was outstanding and far above that found in most B&Bs. For example, the breakfast menu, information sheet and even the weather forecast for the week were presented on arrival in a delightful box tied with a ribbon on the chest of drawers. Claire was very informative about the local area and the history and gave us lots of helpful information. We had a wonderful meal in the charming dining room starting with squat lobsters (a delicious shell fish which we'd never heard of before), followed by sea bass and venison and finishing with homemade carrot cake and lime semifreddo. All delicious and washed down by some excellent wine. Breakfast, with freshly squeezed orange juice, home made granola or porridge and full Scottish breakfast (not to mention Claire's delicious homemade bread) was superb. The drive to Elgol is spectacular and the tiny harbour one of the prettiest places on earth. We took the boat trip with Misty Isles to Loch Coruisk on Claire's recommendation and it was the highlight of our visit to Scotland. We cannot recommend this lovely restaurant with rooms highly enough and it is not without good reason that Elgol is known locally as the jewel in Skye's crown!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMR56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Coruisk House is 14 miles along a single track road to Elgol, the scenery on the journey there is breathtaking and a photographers dream. We were met by Claire who was a wonderful hostess from the moment we arrived until the second we departed 3 days later. Claire patiently answered all my husbands questions about weather, waterfalls, best scenery etc. and belive me he had lots. He was delighted to get shots of a Peregrine Falcon and a family of Otters. Claire is very knowledgable about the Island and very helpful, nothing too much trouble. Her bread is fantastic and Iain's food is out of this world, first class. All in all we had a great time and would love to go back. If you like quiet, relaxation, good scenery, good food and lovely hosts, you won't find better.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms at Coruisk House so book quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnSS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare W, Owner at Coruisk House, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you so much! We so enjoyed having you both to stay and the photographs of the otters are absolutely wonderful! Our very best wishes Iain and Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

We were staying in Port Elgol Cottage and heard this place was the place to eat. If your on Skye.... forget the Three Chimneys. .. and book in here. ...I had hand dived scollops from loch slappin down the road and local venison....perfect.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgol
11.5 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
18.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,055 reviews
29.3 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.2 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
178 reviews
11.3 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
11.7 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#1 of 2 in Sleat
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coruisk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coruisk House

Property: Coruisk House
Address: Elgol, Elgol IV49 9BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Elgol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elgol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coruisk House is the Restaurant with Rooms in Elgol. It is situated in the tiny but stunning fishing village of Elgol, two miles from the harbour. Elgol harbour overlooks Loch Scavaig towards the most spectacular view on the Isle of Skye - towards the Cuillin Ridge. Boat trips are available from Elgol Harbour between March to October for visits to Loch Coruisk and the islands of Soay, Rum and Canna (Iain and Clare will book the boat trips for their guests). Outside of these months, and weather dependent, boat trips are available by prior arrangement but guests should enquire well in advance of their visit. The area is renowned for spectacular scenery and is beloved of photographers and artists. There are many amazingly scenic walks that can be made from the house or just a short drive away. There are two rooms for guests at Coruisk House, each with views over towards the Sleat peninsula. Each room has a king size bed (one is a four poster), en-suite shower room and tea and coffee making facilities. The rooms are tastefully furnished, the beds have soft pillows and duck down duvets and the towels are fluffy! There is a cosy residents lounge with wood-burning stove and comfortable sofas to enjoy afternoon tea or a dram from a selection of fine single malts available. There is a television in the lounge. The restaurant (also with an open fire) serves lunch and dinner by prior reservation (24 hours advance reservation) from March until October using local produce (with a focus on seafood and highland game, although catering to specific dietary requirements with prior notice). Fresh shellfish is available having been landed daily (weather permitting) by the fishermen who leave Elgol Harbour early every morning throughout the year. Iain prepares delicious food with close attention to detail and will cater to guests specific requests if at all possible. Clare makes fresh bread daily for guests to enjoy. Afternoon tea is also available for all residents of Coruisk House. Iain and Clare greet all their guests with a warm welcome and make sure that their stay is relaxing and enjoyable in a truly stunning location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coruisk House Hotel Elgol
Coruisk House Elgol, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing