We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous House and Grounds”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Grange

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Grange
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
La Grange
Secluded pool from the lavender garden
Secluded pool with views over fields and woods
A large lawn to play on
Alfresco dining near to the kitchen
A large kitchen for family dining
Space for everyone
Secret views through the kitchen bull's eye window
And so to bed up the stone staircase
'Blue Room' with ensuite bathroom and balcony
'Multi-Room' - Twin with ensuite bathroom
'Cream Room' - Double with ensuite bathroom
'Yellow Room' - Single with distant views and shared bathroom
'Green Room' - Twim with distant views and shared bathroom
Upper landing with 'yellow' & 'green' rooms and bathroom
And back down again!
La Grange and its barn
Make a grand entrance!
or a grand exit!
Visit local mediaeval towns
Visit the magnificent Chateau Fenelon a short drive away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Payrac, Lot, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
fakeplast...
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous House and Grounds”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

La Grange is a wonderfully relaxing place. The grounds are awash with lavender and wild flowers. The pool and pool area are well maintained and the loungers were comfortable. The house layout is perfect for us. Spacious, clean with a warm ambience. Overall the house and facilities have an attention to detail that adds a wow factor. The house manager Jackie was friendly and helpful. Correspondence with the owners re booking, deposit etc. was clear, responsive and simple.

Highlights for us were...outdoor meals with pleasant views. Star gazing. Lounging by the pool. Nearby village of Payrac for supplies including local produce. Our children playing in the large garden.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2017
Thank you Simon for a great review. Please come again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was very quaint but gorgeous
Liked least: The plumbing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Nov 2016
Thank you for a wonderful review and please recommend us to all your friends!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
legodimon...
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“A stunning place to stay”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We were a group of 8 - 4 couples so the house was ideal for us, each room with it's own bathroom. It's large and very comfortably furnished, and all instructions in English, which helps!
We only used the pool once as it was quite cold much of the time, but the pool is a most welcome addition in hot weather.
Serres is a small hamlet near Payrac which has much needed shops and the odd restaurant, and it is not far to many of the gorgeous villages the area is known for.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is an old style farm house.
Liked least: The plumbing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmr0bins0...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic house!”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Had a great time staying for a week in May. House has plenty of space inside (with quiet bedrooms for sleeping young children) and wonderful grounds with a pool. It has plenty of storage space for bikes etc. It is also in a brilliant location for exploring the region and convenient to get to local towns. I would have no problem in recommending staying here. Brian the owner was very organised and helpful when booking our stay.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belisariu...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“VERY PEACEFUL AND PLENTY OF ROOM”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at La Grange as part of a holiday in France after our son’s wedding in Limoges. I was looking for somewhere to cater for ourselves and our two married sons. This was perfect. There was plenty of room either to be together or if you wanted a bit of peace and quiet to yourself. The location is beautiful – and very quiet. It is a great place to stay if you just want some tranquillity or if you want to go exploring. We found no difficulty finding plenty of places to eat and visit. Rocamadour, the Padirac and Cougnac caves, the Marqueyssac gardens and the Castelnaud castle / museum are all within easy driving radius.
The information left for visitors is excellent and the internet has a good connection.
I corresponded directly with Brian, the owner, and always received a prompt, helpful and informative reply.
One restaurant I must mention is the one recommended to us by Jackie, the lady who met us on behalf of the owners when we arrived. It is the Restaurant Combroux in Masclat, a few miles from the house. I have written a separate review for this one – talk about value for money!
I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to stay in the Dordogne.
One small point – don’t worry if you can’t find the hamlet of Serres on Google maps – the name didn’t show up on my initial search. However, the directions are perfect and the map on the Tripadvisor website is accurate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace
Liked least: Can't think of anything.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dream house and grounds in wonderful area for a fantastic family holiday”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This most wonderful house, set in a lovely area was the perfect setting to celebrate my 60th birthday with my family (7 of us in total including a toddler and 6 year old).

All the rooms were very large and comfortable and the kitchen and lounge were fantastic spaces for family fun. We were most fortunate with the weather and so spent most of our time enjoying the refreshing pool (almost too refreshing for the wimps) and playing games in the huge grounds.

The location was great for us; we enjoyed many walks around the local area some longer than planned (forgot to take a map). Possibly not for those looking for a short walk to activity, but Payrac is only 5km away and we did walk it a few times to pick up some breakfast.

All in all this place was perfect and we had an unforgettable holiday.

We'd love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable rooms and the pool
Liked least: For the price some basic herbs and spices would have gone down well. But understand this might get out of hand topping up during the season.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sro00
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Idyllic, isolated (but only 4 miles from Payrac) and well appointed house. We were two families with 5 young children who never wanted to leave the pool. Beautiful quiet country lanes for cycling, walking and running. Close to fantastic Dordogne and tourist attractions if you choose. One of the best holiday lets we could find and a truly spectacular friendly region of France - and understandably the visitor book shows many repeat visitors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: massive multi level property in fantastic location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing