We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wharetutu Boutique B&B Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tasman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wharetutu Boutique B&B Accommodation
Ranked #2 of 2 Tasman B&B and Inns
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

If I were told there was only one place I could return to in New Zealand it would be Wharetutu in Tasman. Stan and Jenny could not have done more to make our stay a memorable one. Accommodation was first class, tastefully decorated, comfortable, clean and with all that anyone might need. I would recommend Wharetutu to anyone without a moment's hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikelapsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

This place ticks ALL the boxes. At $220 per night it is an absolute bargain compared to Kimeret Place in Mapua which is $350. The hosts San and Jen are the most hospitable hosts you would care to meet. Excellent breakfast, Free Internet. FREE unlimited calls to The UK and other destinations.

We have been to New Zealand 6 times and without a doubt this is the best value for money

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grabybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

We stayed here to access the Abel Tasman park. The property is a stunning architecturally designed house set high on a hill overlooking the Mountains and coast, between Mapua and Motueka. It is well sited for all the local attractions. Facilities are first class with a swimming pool and hot-tub. The rooms are clean and well appointed. The bathrooms are shower only, but fantastic! The hosts, Stan and Jenny are warm, friendly and knowledgeable and serve a great breakfast. Bookings can be made for restaurants and trips through Stan and Jenny.
For those quiet days there is a private lounge. A wonderful wonderful place.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AandLUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

Myself and my partner and mother stayed here in preparation to do the Abel Tasman for a one day walk. We loved it, it was lovely accommodation. The house was warm due to the design, modern, and the beds were so comfortable. I think you'd be hard-pressed to find a better B&B. Theres a pool and spa-pool on a lower level down from the rooms. Jenny and Stan are fantastic hosts and make you feel like one of the family. Its a shame I didnt take any photos to post here. I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigatbarbican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamási
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2009

This is a great accommodation in Tasman. Jenny and Stan are very kindly hosts. We spend a few days in Wharetutu at last xmas and that few days were the best period of our trip in New Zealand (4 weeks). Jenny and Stan thank you for everything!

Family Csokas.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Domgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2009

What can we say staying with Jen and Stan was an absolute treat- Wharetutu is absolute Paradise. We had to pinch ourselves every morning when looking out at the incredible views outside our window of rolling hills and stunning mountains. The pool is just divine and sitting in the hot tub was just so luxurious and relaxing. The accomodation itself at wharetutu is absolute luxury, really modern and immaculate. We still think about this very special place everyday. Stan and Jen are the loveliest hosts and make a fabulous English breakfast - my husband still talks about their poached eggs! We can't wait to stay with them again. Highly recommend staying here its unbelievable and the little town of Tasman is lovely!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

Our stay at Wharetutu was part of a five week adventure with another couple to see New Zealand from top to bottom and do it in style.

Wharetutu is a modern house on a hill overlooking a picturesque valley with stunning views of the mountains and the tidal bay. It is a purpose built B&B. The self-contained guest area is modern and spacious. They have mood music throughout if you want something different. Both bedrooms and other guest rooms look across the valley to snow covered mountains. The luxury bathrooms were given 10 out of 10 by both women in the party (and that is very important to them). The accommodation is modern, well equipped and tastefully arranged. The swimming pool and hot tub were great features found only in hotels in our travels.

The hosts, Stan and Jenny are magnificent and to his credit Stan cooks a mean egg and bacon breakfast to complement the excellent range of “continental” food available. They were on hand but not in our face as some other hosts were. We enjoyed one evening on the patio having a few drinks with them, but they left us alone during the day.

The surrounding area is beautiful with walks around the peninsula. We walked to the golf club which looks out across the bay to Nelson in what must be one of the most beautiful and cheap courses in the world and the beer was cold and great.

Back to the accommodation. It is like a house from the popular “Grand Designs” TV series. It even has a rainwater harvesting system which will please environmentalists.

We have only one regret. Living in England it will be a long time before we can come back, but come back we will if only to get some more of Stan’s breakfasts looking out over that breathtaking view.

Don’t go to New Zealand south island without visiting this brilliant place.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Basingstoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tasman
1.6 mi away
Almyra Waterfront Lodge
1.3 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#2 of 26 in Motueka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
4.3 mi away
Accent House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 5 in Motueka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aporo Pondsiders
Aporo Pondsiders
#3 of 7 in Tasman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pine Hill Lodge
Pine Hill Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ruby Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wharetutu Boutique B&B Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wharetutu Boutique B&B Accommodation

Property: Wharetutu Boutique B&B Accommodation
Address: 12B Kina Beach Road | Tasman, Tasman, Mapua 7173, New Zealand (Formerly 2 Acres @ Wharetutu)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Tasman
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tasman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jenny and Stan welcome you to Wharetutu with its breathtaking views of mountains and peaceful countryside. It is perfectly located for you to explore the many attractions the Nelson and Tasman region has to offer from the beautiful golden-sand beaches and stunning scenery of the Abel Tasman, to the award-winning Nelson wines and succulent food available at nearby vineyards and restaurants. Our guest wing with private entrance offers two luxurious well-appointed rooms with quality bed linen, robes and flat screen LCD TVs. Ranch sliding doors lead out to a courtyard with swimming pool and spa. The dining room has a fridge, microwave and bench area with a choice of coffees and teas. Complimentary internet access available. Enjoy our delicious continental and gourmet cooked breakfast in the guest dining room overlooking the pool. Dine out at one of our local restaurants, or cook your own BBQ. If you value the good things in life and are looking for an authentic cultural experience then come and enjoy Wharetutu. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing