We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incedible Setting!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Almyra Waterfront Lodge
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We had an amazing time here exploring Abel Tasman on our honeymoon! Fiona & Ron were very hospitable and knowledgeable of the area. Such a relaxing setting and gorgeous construction. Breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrookeFenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Almyra Waterfront Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2011

Everything was of the highest quality, including the furniture and fittings. It is a very peaceful area with wonderful views which could be enjoyed from both inside and outside. We were made very welcome by our hosts who gauged our tastes and advised accordingly. The solar heated pool and free internet access were added bonuses. The excellent website captured the house, gardens and views very accurately. We hope to be able to return some day.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We stayed here for three nights, and thankfully had chosen this location rather than Nelson City as it turned out to be perfect for visiting the wineries, Abel Tasman National Park and the top of Golden Bay, without having to drive back into Nelson every day. There were lovely cafes at both Motueka and the beautiful Mapua inlet a quaint fishing village a short drive from Kina.. There was lots to see around this area, and we didnt have time to lounge around the beautiful pool or go walking but that would be good if you wanted a quieter time. As for the accomodation, we stayed in the Tasman suite a near new well appointed room with quality fittings, great view and the hosts were lovely, particularly with an indepth local knowledge and happy to make bookings for restaurants and trips, without being pushy. Highly reccommended place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryce40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We stayed 2 nights in the Tasman Suite which was just great. The suite was very clean and beautifully furnished. The bed was extremely comfortable with good quality sheets. The bathroom has a nice big shower and lots of fluffy towels and heated towel rail.

Fiona & Ron are fantastic hosts and Ron cooks up an excellent breakfast which is eaten in the dining room with floor to ceiling glass windows and a magnificent view.

Towels are provided for the swimming pool which is solar heated and very enjoyable on a hot summer's day.

Almyra is in a good location for visiting Abel Tasman National Park and is only 5 minutes drive from Mapua which has some great galleries and restaurants.

You will not be disapointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkeywhistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

This modern, glassy, purpose-built B&B lies high on the southwest flank of the Kina peninsula with wide views over lawns to the shallow tidal lagoon, coastal highway (N60) and mountains in the distance. The sandy Kina Beach is a five minutes walk away. You can easily walk around the Peninsula from the property.

We first stayed for 2 nights in the brand-new, tastefully appointed, Tasman Suite. It has a small kitchenette, a heavenly bed and great shower. Ron does an excellent job with cooked breakfast.

We spent a further three nights in the next-door Kina apartment. It has a cosy living room with a comfortable leather settee and chairs and a well-equipped kitchen and BBQ for self-catering. After many weeks of travelling and eating out we preferred to cater for ourselves.
The Kina apartment has a wide terrace that is accessible from the bedroom and the living room. There is fast Wi-Fi for your laptop or iPad and a docking station for your iPod.

A real plus of this immaculately clean accommodation is that it’s Eco friendly. Fiona provides amenities from the Linden Leaves range, which are 100% natural.

The entrance of the Abel Tasman Park is only 25 minutes by car via Motueka. This small town has a large New-World supermarket, many ATMs, lots of places to drink coffee, a small museum and a lively market.

Fiona and Ron are wonderful hosts. We loved the warm welcome, hospitality and the great time we had staying at Almyra at Kina. R&F really went the extra mile to ensure that our stay was perfect. We could not have wished for more.
We can highly recommend this beautiful B&B to anybody who appreciates stylish accommodation. It’s a perfect base to explore the area over a week or more and when you are tired of exploring there is a large pool and sun-loungers. It’s a place to recharge your batteries!

Next time, we will stay longer!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoka-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Fiona Oliver knows how to treat her guests. Nothing asked was to much. We even could invite friends, who stayed elswhere, to dinner.
Fiona seems to have invented hospitality
The location is fabulous. The stunning view is unbelievable.
The B&B is luxurious.
The room is really beautiful

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piantaalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Almyra is beautifully appointed and we fully agree with all the other reviews. But what tops our list as to what makes it so special are the hosts, Fiona & Ron. We so enjoyed talking with them over breakfast and getting their tips on the area. I hope we see them in the States soon!
Dave & Adrienne

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WoodrowsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tasman
14.3 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
14.0 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
673 reviews
21.2 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#3 of 24 in Motueka
102 reviews
9.2 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
398 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bronte Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almyra Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyra Waterfront Lodge

Address: 193 Kina Peninsula Road, Tasman, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Tasman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Tasman
Price Range: £168 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Almyra Waterfront Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury premium boutique five star quality coastal retreat accommodation for couples. The two accommodation suites offer total privacy & comfortable super king (twin bed option on prior request) or king beds dressed with 600 thread count Egyptian linens and duvets; thick-pile carpets; plenty of storage and hanging space; large picture windows leading onto private decks; luxury en-suites with walk-in showers; underfloor heating with Italian tiles; demist vanity mirrors; vanity; toilet; dressing robes and slippers; fluffy white towels - beach/swimming towels are also provided. The Kina Suite also has a living room/kitchenette for guests to self cater with an outside deck and BBQ. The Tasman Suite is our luxurious bed & breakfast suite - with breakfast served to the Suite. Each Suite is beautifully equipped for discerning couples looking for peace, tranquility and privacy in an amazing setting of 3.5 Acres of grounds with water frontage. Free WIFI is offered to all guests. Guest laundry (small charge), DVD Library - guests welcome to borrow DVDs free of charge, Gourmet dinner platter to share (prior notice please). We have a hot spa for year round use and outdoor solar heated swimming pool that guests are welcome to use in summer. Enjoy amazing water and mountain views; incredible sunsets; ever changing tides and the opportunity for bird watching; photography; painting; kayaking; fishing; boating; golf; relaxing and chilling out and just enjoying a magical break. The Accommodation wing is accessed by a private guest driveway and entrance, with separate guest parking. Feel free to come and go as you please without interruption or disturbance. A world class experience in an idyllic setting. No wonder so many of our discerning international and domestic visitors are rating Almyra Waterfront Lodge their No.1 Destination in New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Almyra Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing