We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful people, spectacular view and get setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Almyra Waterfront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Almyra Waterfront Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful people, spectacular view and get setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

What a pleasant surprise and wonderful two days. Once you have arrived and settled into the beautiful accommodations (clean, modern and private) you immediately wonder whether you should just sit and enjoy the complimentary wine and cheese while looking across the sea or whether you should continue on with the original plans to explore the area. The private lockable entrance allows you to come and go without feeling any pressure to check-in or notify the owners which makes it the best of both worlds. Privacy and comfort of a private home and yet amenities of a luxury hotel. The breakfast was over the top with eggs, fruit, toast and anything else you could wish for....the hospitality of Ron and Fiona was equally great. You cant go wrong with Almyra

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UpintheAir1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
96
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

Almyra is a very special place which Fiona and Ron the proprietors are rightly proud of. The accommodation is modern, clean, perfectly kept and in a wonderful location. We had planned on staying 2 nights but extended to 3 because we liked it so much. If you are looking for something special then this has to be on your list. When we come back to NZ we'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJB98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

Stayed three nights in the Kina Suite on a tour round NZ. Marvellous location - away from it all but close enough to restaurants and things to do. Fantastic view across the water to the distant hills - great place to sit and watch the sun go down with a glass of local wine.

High quality accommodation with everything we needed. and good value too. Fiona and Ron really worked to make sure we enjoyed our stay.

We'd go back in a shot.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steev_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

We had an amazing time here exploring Abel Tasman on our honeymoon! Fiona & Ron were very hospitable and knowledgeable of the area. Such a relaxing setting and gorgeous construction. Breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrookeFenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

Everything was of the highest quality, including the furniture and fittings. It is a very peaceful area with wonderful views which could be enjoyed from both inside and outside. We were made very welcome by our hosts who gauged our tastes and advised accordingly. The solar heated pool and free internet access were added bonuses. The excellent website captured the house, gardens and views very accurately. We hope to be able to return some day.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

We stayed here for three nights, and thankfully had chosen this location rather than Nelson City as it turned out to be perfect for visiting the wineries, Abel Tasman National Park and the top of Golden Bay, without having to drive back into Nelson every day. There were lovely cafes at both Motueka and the beautiful Mapua inlet a quaint fishing village a short drive from Kina.. There was lots to see around this area, and we didnt have time to lounge around the beautiful pool or go walking but that would be good if you wanted a quieter time. As for the accomodation, we stayed in the Tasman suite a near new well appointed room with quality fittings, great view and the hosts were lovely, particularly with an indepth local knowledge and happy to make bookings for restaurants and trips, without being pushy. Highly reccommended place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryce40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bomaderry
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

We stayed 2 nights in the Tasman Suite which was just great. The suite was very clean and beautifully furnished. The bed was extremely comfortable with good quality sheets. The bathroom has a nice big shower and lots of fluffy towels and heated towel rail.

Fiona & Ron are fantastic hosts and Ron cooks up an excellent breakfast which is eaten in the dining room with floor to ceiling glass windows and a magnificent view.

Towels are provided for the swimming pool which is solar heated and very enjoyable on a hot summer's day.

Almyra is in a good location for visiting Abel Tasman National Park and is only 5 minutes drive from Mapua which has some great galleries and restaurants.

You will not be disapointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeywhistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tasman
14.0 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
21.3 mi away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
14.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#2 of 26 in Motueka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
9.1 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
4.2 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 5 in Motueka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almyra Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyra Waterfront Lodge

Property: Almyra Waterfront Lodge
Address: 193 Kina Peninsula Road, Tasman, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Tasman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Tasman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Almyra Waterfront Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury premium boutique five star quality coastal retreat accommodation for couples. The two accommodation suites offer total privacy & comfortable super king (twin bed option on prior request) or king beds dressed with 600 thread count Egyptian linens and duvets; thick-pile carpets; plenty of storage and hanging space; large picture windows leading onto private decks; luxury en-suites with walk-in showers; underfloor heating with Italian tiles; demist vanity mirrors; vanity; toilet; dressing robes and slippers; fluffy white towels - beach/swimming towels are also provided. The Kina Suite also has a living room/kitchenette for guests to self cater with an outside deck and BBQ. The Tasman Suite is our luxurious bed & breakfast suite - with breakfast served to the Suite. Each Suite is beautifully equipped for discerning couples looking for peace, tranquility and privacy in an amazing setting of 3.5 Acres of grounds with water frontage. Free WIFI is offered to all guests. Guest laundry (small charge), DVD Library - guests welcome to borrow DVDs free of charge, Gourmet dinner platter to share (prior notice please). We have a hot spa for year round use and outdoor solar heated swimming pool that guests are welcome to use in summer. Enjoy amazing water and mountain views; incredible sunsets; ever changing tides and the opportunity for bird watching; photography; painting; kayaking; fishing; boating; golf; relaxing and chilling out and just enjoying a magical break. The Accommodation wing is accessed by a private guest driveway and entrance, with separate guest parking. Feel free to come and go as you please without interruption or disturbance. A world class experience in an idyllic setting. No wonder so many of our discerning international and domestic visitors are rating Almyra Waterfront Lodge their No.1 Destination in New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Almyra Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing