We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm luxury !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Almyra Waterfront Lodge
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Almyra is a haven of calm on a gorgeous peninsula. The location takes full advantage of the gorgeous distant views of the Kahurangi National Park mountains. The property is luxurious with your every need taken care off. Rooms are modern, large and tastefully decorated with superb detail in the huge bathroom. The glass doors lead out to your own private deck to enjoy the tranquility for a freshly brewed morning coffee or pre-dinner drinks.For travelers there are laundry facilities which you are most welcome to use. Breakfast weather permitting can be taken outdoors which is a great oomph to start the day with fresh fruits, yoghurts, fresh juices or a well executed cooked breakfast. Fiona & Ron are always on hand to offer solid advice for the duration of your stay whether visiting the vineyards around Nelson, the amazing coastline of cliffs and the best beach your eyes can encounter the sensational Wharariki beach not forgetting the stunning surroundings of the Abel Tasman Park. Try to do the area some justice and stay if time permits for 3 days as there really is so much to do. Great value and warm sincere hospitality. I enjoyed my time here immensely.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_Dera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

I had a hard time finding a really beautiful place to stay in the Abel Tasman area and Almyra exceeded my expectations. We chose the Kina Suite which is great because you basically have your own 1 bedroom luxury apartment. We were able make breakfast one morning which is so nice after staying in hotels for weeks. The accommodations were lovely and our room had a patio with a beautiful bay view. Our host, Fiona, went out of our way to make sure we had a great stay and even mailed me a shirt that I had left behind (without charging me for her time or the shipping costs!). She also gave us great advice about what to do in the local area and the best restaurants to try out. Everything was perfect during our stay - stay here if you'd like some luxury at a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Can't say enough about the warm, genuine hospitality of Fiona and Ron. A lot of attention to detail, a first class property. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBISeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

It's not often one's expectations are exceeded by a wide margin, but we absolutely loved Almyra and were so well looked after by Fiona and Ron. We stayed for 6 nights in the main suite and had friends join us for 3 nights in the adjoining room. This was ideal as we were able to eat in on. 2 occasions, using the BBQ that was provided, and on one evening Ron thoughtfully brought over his gas patio heater as we seemed to be settled outside.
The bed was big and comfy, excellent towels, linen etc, comfy sitting room/kitchen all fully fitted, free wifi , didn't try the TV as the view was great. Also free use of the swimming pool and gardens and to cap it all the platter we had on our first evening was also spot on.
By comparison with other places we have stayed on our 3 trips to NZ a bit of a bargain at the prices they were charging. We also love this area, lots to do and undoubtedly we will be back

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidmorganDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed in the Kina Suite, the largest of the rooms available at Almyra, and our expectations were fully met. Contemporary facilities to a high standard, a warm welcome from our hosts Ron and Fiona, and excellent views from the property.
Could do with air con in the bedroom but their is a good ceiling fan. Otherwise perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

To start with, we had the big suite which I can only highly recommed. Of all B&Bs hat we visited on our 3.5 week New Zealand trip here we had the best rooms.

Location:

On a peninsula a couple of kilomters north of Nelson (abut 20 minutes drive) in a very tranquil area and with wonderful looks since it is on a small hill. Beautiful garden with lots of birds and a wonderful view over the lagoon to the mountains. Yery quiet and nobody to disturb you. Only a short trip up to Abel Tasman park and a few minutes drive to the next toown with supermarkets to buy provisions.

Rooms:
With the Kima suite we had a large bedroom, a large bath and a good sized living room with a small kitchen area. There is a wonderful terrace to have breakfast or dinner on with good armchairs to lie in. All that you can ask for in terms of towels and pillows is there and the whole complex is nicely decorated. The kitchen contained the essentials for cooking , pans, dishes, mircowave, two cooking places(pepper, salt, and oil included) and was good enough for a small cooked breakfast or some dinner. A very nice and big bed with a view directly to the lagoon. A small little flat. Be careful with the towel heating, it gets pretty hot. I-Pod docking station was also provided.

Hosts:
Our ferry to the South Island was delayed by one hour and we phoned ahead so they would know and they were great in accomodating us. We wanted to book a boat trip to the tasman park and they were most helpful (at 9pm) to get us a trip in the morning. Very friendly and easygoing people and making sure we had all we needed. They do offer a cheese platter for the evening meal and for 40 NZD that was well worth it.

Breakfast:
As this was self contained there was only the basic stuff but with eggs, toast ,some yoghurt, milk, bread and butter it was all that was needed for a basic breakfast. The fridge you have makes for a nice place to cool some wine and sparkling btw.

We did not use the pool, it looked great but it was not warmed yet, but we liked to lie in the chairs, read, enjoy the birds (tuis) and the bumblebees in the garden so we had a wonderful stay in a very lovely place. If you want to splurge on your holiday, this place is surely worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We were delighted with the warm and friendly welcome from Fiona and Ron. The accommodation was excellent and scrupulously clean.
We would thoroughly recommend this top quality B&B

Room Tip: Tasman Sute very quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tasman
8.5 mi away
Motueka River Lodge
Motueka River Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ngatimoti
16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windhover Suites
Windhover Suites
#2 of 7 in Tasman
6 reviews
7.1 mi away
Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#3 of 24 in Motueka
105 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aporo Pondsiders
Aporo Pondsiders
#3 of 7 in Tasman
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almyra Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyra Waterfront Lodge

Address: 193 Kina Peninsula Road, Tasman, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Tasman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Tasman
Price Range: £203 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Almyra Waterfront Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury premium boutique five star quality coastal retreat accommodation for couples. The two accommodation suites offer total privacy & comfortable super king (twin bed option on prior request) or king beds dressed with 600 thread count Egyptian linens and duvets; thick-pile carpets; plenty of storage and hanging space; large picture windows leading onto private decks; luxury en-suites with walk-in showers; underfloor heating with Italian tiles; demist vanity mirrors; vanity; toilet; dressing robes and slippers; fluffy white towels - beach/swimming towels are also provided. The Kina Suite also has a living room/kitchenette for guests to self cater with an outside deck and BBQ. The Tasman Suite is our luxurious bed & breakfast suite - with breakfast served to the Suite. Each Suite is beautifully equipped for discerning couples looking for peace, tranquility and privacy in an amazing setting of 3.5 Acres of grounds with water frontage. Free WIFI is offered to all guests. Guest laundry (small charge), DVD Library - guests welcome to borrow DVDs free of charge, Gourmet dinner platter to share (prior notice please). We have a hot spa for year round use and outdoor solar heated swimming pool that guests are welcome to use in summer. Enjoy amazing water and mountain views; incredible sunsets; ever changing tides and the opportunity for bird watching; photography; painting; kayaking; fishing; boating; golf; relaxing and chilling out and just enjoying a magical break. The Accommodation wing is accessed by a private guest driveway and entrance, with separate guest parking. Feel free to come and go as you please without interruption or disturbance. A world class experience in an idyllic setting. No wonder so many of our discerning international and domestic visitors are rating Almyra Waterfront Lodge their No.1 Destination in New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Almyra Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing