We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Almyra Waterfront Lodge
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here on on our honeymoon, and I absolutely loved. The views from the room are stunning with bright blue water in the bay below the property. We're not usually bed and breakfast people, but Almyra is so beautiful, it won us over. The rooms are very comfortable, clean, and well kept. There was even a bottle of wine, chocolate, and two pieces of carrot cake for us when we arrived! Fiona and Ron are excellent hosts, and the breakfast was a delicious respite from all of our "travel food." They also have a selection of DVD's to watch, a gorgeous swimming pool, spa, and well-furnished living areas. I could've spent another couple of days just relaxing at Almyra!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillykris10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronfi, Owner at Almyra Waterfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

We are delighted that you chose Almyra for your honeymoon and that all your expectations were met. We hope that your lovely memories of your stay here will remain with you and that if you visit New Zealand again, you come and stay at Almyra on a future visit. our very good wishes for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

We were lucky enough to sneak away to peaceful, beautifully appointed Almyra for a two day break, and it lives up to the hype. Spotlessly clean, gorgeous gardens (can't wait to go back and see them in summer!), and a comfortable room with every little touch of thoughtfulness you could ask for. Big comfortable bed with beautiful linens, free wifi, and tea and coffee. The bathroom was spacious with a gorgeous shower and underfloor heating.
Ron and Fiona are gracious, charming, helpful, and friendly, but respect your privacy as well. Breakfast in the morning was fresh, tasty, and perfect, and served in a lovely setting overlooking the gardens, estuary, and mountain ranges in the distance.
Almyra strikes the perfect balance of making you feel welcome and comfortable (spoiled even), while maintaining a sense of quiet and privacy.
We are already planning our return trip. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephenwakegb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We absolutely loved our four nights stay at Almyra while we visited family. Thank you Fiona and Ron for your hospitality and providing us with a peaceful sanctuary and sharing your little piece of heaven. The breakfasts were excellent and enjoyed even more with your company and the beautiful view. We would have loved to have spent more time sharing travel stories - next time!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrainaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Our family thoroughly enjoyed a recent two night stay at Almyra. The property is very nice, and Fiona and Ron are delightful company and great hosts. The food was excellent- both the breakfast each morning and an optional evening dinner worthy of a very fine restaurant. We hope to return to Almyra for a longer stay on our next trip to New Zealand. Even after such a short stay, we consider both Fiona and Ron to be valued friends.

Room Tip: All three rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gray l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Really enjoyed our 5 day stay with Fiona and Ron, they made us feel really welcome. The optional evening buffet food was also excellent, drinks in the evening were another treat. The room exceeded our expectations, use of the swimming pool was a bonus. We would definitely visit again

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed for two nights in the Kina Suite, which was lovely and very comfortable. I typically don't prefer a B&B because I value privacy on vacation, but we never felt like we were too much in the middle of things. We were on our honeymoon and found it to be complete relaxation, with a high quality king bed and fine linens and the perfect place for a peaceful stroll around the perfectly-maintained grounds and estuary trail. Great toiletries too, which I always notice! Almyra is situated in a perfect location for activities at Abel Tasman (we loved sea kayaking) and exploring Mapua, the Ruby Coast, Nelson, etc. Coming back to the suite to have various food and drink items (high quality and a nice mix) was a real plus; we had breakfast and snacks in the room both days we stayed, and ate dinner on the patio the second night. Ron and Fiona's restaurant recommendations were great as well. A very special place!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBVChicago_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed at Almyra for 5 nights in February and the same the previous year, feel we have got to know Fiona and Ron rather well and they are great company and very hospitable. An evening glass of wine with them and a swim in their delightful pool helps end the day in style. Its hard to fault Almyra, fantastic house in superb location. They also do a very good platter of food if you are arriving late, well worth having. Plan to return in 2014

Room Tip: they are all great rooms with patios and views, would be happy with any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidmorganDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tasman
14.3 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
21.2 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
351 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#3 of 24 in Motueka
103 reviews
9.2 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
402 reviews
4.2 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almyra Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyra Waterfront Lodge

Address: 193 Kina Peninsula Road, Tasman, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Tasman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Tasman
Price Range: £169 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Almyra Waterfront Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury premium boutique five star quality coastal retreat accommodation for couples. The two accommodation suites offer total privacy & comfortable super king (twin bed option on prior request) or king beds dressed with 600 thread count Egyptian linens and duvets; thick-pile carpets; plenty of storage and hanging space; large picture windows leading onto private decks; luxury en-suites with walk-in showers; underfloor heating with Italian tiles; demist vanity mirrors; vanity; toilet; dressing robes and slippers; fluffy white towels - beach/swimming towels are also provided. The Kina Suite also has a living room/kitchenette for guests to self cater with an outside deck and BBQ. The Tasman Suite is our luxurious bed & breakfast suite - with breakfast served to the Suite. Each Suite is beautifully equipped for discerning couples looking for peace, tranquility and privacy in an amazing setting of 3.5 Acres of grounds with water frontage. Free WIFI is offered to all guests. Guest laundry (small charge), DVD Library - guests welcome to borrow DVDs free of charge, Gourmet dinner platter to share (prior notice please). We have a hot spa for year round use and outdoor solar heated swimming pool that guests are welcome to use in summer. Enjoy amazing water and mountain views; incredible sunsets; ever changing tides and the opportunity for bird watching; photography; painting; kayaking; fishing; boating; golf; relaxing and chilling out and just enjoying a magical break. The Accommodation wing is accessed by a private guest driveway and entrance, with separate guest parking. Feel free to come and go as you please without interruption or disturbance. A world class experience in an idyllic setting. No wonder so many of our discerning international and domestic visitors are rating Almyra Waterfront Lodge their No.1 Destination in New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Almyra Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing