We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Almyra Waterfront Lodge
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Taste of Paradise”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Highly recommend a stay at Almyra Waterfront Lodge on the Kina Peninsula. Luxury, well-appointed accommodation, friendly, helpful hosts - Ron is an accomplished pastels artist - and both he and Fiona have a wealth of knowledge of the local area, activities and restaurants. Located within easy reach of the Abel Tasman National Park for beautiful walks or water sports and close to many delightful vineyards. But if you just want to chill out, the beautiful views and serene atmosphere at the accommodation make it the perfect spot to relax.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia6048_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
97
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Almyra Waterfront Lodge arriving on 4/2/14 and departing on 4/4/14. The lodge sits on a great piece of land that sits above the water with great views in a 360 degree orientation. It is far enough from the beaten path that makes it a great find and limits access to through traffic (of which there is none). It is also conveniently located within good proximity to all that Tasman and it's surroundings has to offer. We were pleasantly greeted by Fiona and Ron upon our arrival. They have done an amazing job with the house layout and landscaping. It is a stunning sight to see.

My wife and I were going to explore the Abel Tasman national park. Fiona made it incredibly easy for us to have a wide array of options to choose from while visiting. Furthermore the selection of restaurants they suggested were also a great dinning experience.

The overall feel of the lodge is very welcoming. We were able to use the pool and hot tub. Ron and Fiona cooked us amazing breakfasts both morning. They also had really good coffee :)

The experience will never be forgotten! Our trip to New Zealand was greatly enhanced by our stay at the Almyra Waterfront Lodge! We stayed at eleven difference places between the south and north island over a three week period, and this was honestly the top place that we stayed!

Thank you Fiona and Ron!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We recently toured New Zealand and had the good fortune to have three nights in the Almyra. Upon our arrival we were personally greeted by our host Ron who showed us through the Kina Suite. We were delighted with the attractive furnishings and the artwork. So many of the places that we stayed at in New Zealand were very modern, but austere and not particularly homey. We immediately felt comfortable and right at home here. Outside we had our own patio and deck that overlooked beautifully maintained grounds. My husband enjoying swimming in their large pool. The views from our suite were outstanding looking over an estuary and to the mountains. The fridge was stocked with the most wonderful yogurt, bread, and other breakfast fixings. There are plenty of restaurants in two nearby towns. We especially enjoyed dining at the Apple Shed. Our hosts will also prepare dinner or cheese/meat plates on request and given advance booking. One night we had the most extraordinary selection of cheeses (we ordered cheese only) along with some fruit and chutneys. That was enough for our dinner and lunch the next day. Ron and Fiona are interesting people and we enjoyed sharing a glass of wine and visiting with them one evening. We stayed at many high end places during our three weeks in New Zealand, but overall our stay in the Almyra was the most enjoyable of all because the accommodation was modern, but homey and comfortable and because our hosts were gracious and hospitable. Be sure to see Able Tasman while you are staying there. It has wonderful ocean scenery and great hiking trails.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxsable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona O, Owner at Almyra Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for your very positive and lovely review which we appreciate very much. It was our pleasure to meet you both and we are so pleased that your stay here at Almyra was one of the highlights of your New Zealand holiday and met your expectations.
We hope that if you make a return trip to New Zealand, you will include Almyra again in your places to stay. With our thanks and good wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We spent three nights in February at Almyra. We would highly recommend staying at this property if you plan on going to Able Tasman. Ron and Fiona Oliver have a beautiful contemporary home surrounded by beautiful scenery. Almyra sits above an estuary with views to the mountains. They have beautiful gardens, a lovely pool and very spacious accommodations. Ron and Fiona are great hosts who always made us feel at home and were always willing to make suggestions on what to do and where to eat dinner. We loved the restaurant (The Apple Shed)they suggested in nearby Mapua and ended up eating there three nights in a row. Delicious breakfasts were prepared by Ron and Fiona. All in all, it was one of our favorite accommodations during our three week trip to New Zealand.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona O, Owner at Almyra Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank so so much for your very positive review and feedback. I am sure that your positive experience will help other travellers to make their decision regarding a stay at Almyra Waterfront Lodge. It was our pleasure to meet you and host you both during your stay here and we are glad that you had such a wonderful time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

If you want to spend a few days in luxury and in beautiful peaceful surroundings, and yet be within easy driving distance of the Abel Tasman NP and other area attractions then this is the place for you.

We stayed for 4 nights in late January. Our hosts, Fiona and Ron, made us so welcome and couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was enjoyable and every need catered for. They made sure we knew about the area and what it had to offer, had maps for us, and also booked us restaurants and a superb boat trip along the coast.

Our room was comfortable and beautifully furnished, and the en-suite bathroom was perfect with fluffy towels and nice toiletries. We looked out over extensive gardens to the estuary and the mountains and had our own deck on which to relax and enjoy the expansive views.

The house itself is magnificent - the best of contemporary architecture with lots of glass and is nestled into the landscape. There is also a large sparkling swimming pool and a spa.

Breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. For evening meals there are nice restaurants within a ten minute drive.

A perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GJW345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona O, Owner at Almyra Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for your very positive review which we value and appreciate greatly. It was our pleasure to host you both for your 4 day stay here and to know that you enjoyed your stay so much. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you both back again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Kina Suite for the 3 rd year running for 5 nights and it suits us down to the ground. Fiona and Ron are excellent hosts, very sociable and we get to use their delightful swimming pool and to share the occasional glass of wine. We love the location, great sunsets, and like the suite as we can self cater. It's beautifully fitted out with everything you could need including your own BBQ. All good quality sheets, pillows towels etc, good wifi and if you need anything you can always ask Fiona and she is keen to oblige. Already booked for 2015

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank davidmorganDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona O, Owner at Almyra Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
It was such a pleasure to welcome you both here again for your third stay and to know that you enjoyed yourselves just as much as on the previous two visits, so much so that you booked your fourth stay for next year, before you left here! we do so much appreciate your positive feedback and knowing that we have helped to make your trip to New Zealand such a wonderful one again. Look forward to seeing you again next February!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We spent 3 nights in early February at this wonderful spot staying with Ron and Fiona. We received a very warm and friendly welcome and our hosts could not have been more helpful. The accommodation was superb, very modern and spacious, matching our every need. The setting was beautiful and the location was perfect for further exploration of Abel Tasman National Park.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nigel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona O, Owner at Almyra Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for your very positive review which we appreciate very much. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both and hosting you here at Almyra Waterfront Lodge and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here so much. Hopefully if you make a return visit to New Zealand, you will visit us again - we would be delighted to welcome you both back here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tasman
14.0 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
667 reviews
14.2 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#15 of 41 in Nelson
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#2 of 24 in Motueka
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
390 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bronte Country Estate
7.1 mi away
Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almyra Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyra Waterfront Lodge

Property: Almyra Waterfront Lodge
Address: 193 Kina Peninsula Road, Tasman, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Tasman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Tasman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Almyra Waterfront Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury premium boutique five star quality coastal retreat accommodation for couples. The two accommodation suites offer total privacy & comfortable super king (twin bed option on prior request) or king beds dressed with 600 thread count Egyptian linens and duvets; thick-pile carpets; plenty of storage and hanging space; large picture windows leading onto private decks; luxury en-suites with walk-in showers; underfloor heating with Italian tiles; demist vanity mirrors; vanity; toilet; dressing robes and slippers; fluffy white towels - beach/swimming towels are also provided. The Kina Suite also has a living room/kitchenette for guests to self cater with an outside deck and BBQ. The Tasman Suite is our luxurious bed & breakfast suite - with breakfast served to the Suite. Each Suite is beautifully equipped for discerning couples looking for peace, tranquility and privacy in an amazing setting of 3.5 Acres of grounds with water frontage. Free WIFI is offered to all guests. Guest laundry (small charge), DVD Library - guests welcome to borrow DVDs free of charge, Gourmet dinner platter to share (prior notice please). We have a hot spa for year round use and outdoor solar heated swimming pool that guests are welcome to use in summer. Enjoy amazing water and mountain views; incredible sunsets; ever changing tides and the opportunity for bird watching; photography; painting; kayaking; fishing; boating; golf; relaxing and chilling out and just enjoying a magical break. The Accommodation wing is accessed by a private guest driveway and entrance, with separate guest parking. Feel free to come and go as you please without interruption or disturbance. A world class experience in an idyllic setting. No wonder so many of our discerning international and domestic visitors are rating Almyra Waterfront Lodge their No.1 Destination in New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Almyra Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing