We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Bit of Paradise...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden View Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garden View Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Rolleston B&B and Inns
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Little Bit of Paradise...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Our December 2013 stay at the Garden View B&B in Rolleston, south of Christchurch airport, was a wonderful way to begin our NZ tour. Our hosts, John and Beth, gave us a warm welcome and a personal touch, answering our questions and giving us pointers on what to expect on our travels. When we arrived, Beth had prepared a tasty spread of snacks for us to enjoy on the patio in full view of the bountiful garden. The acre+ garden is a beautiful array of domestic and exotic plants and reflects John's background as a plant scientist and his eye for color, texture and composition. Our room was comfortable and immaculate. In the morning they prepared a hearty breakfast and we embarked on our NZ adventure with warm wishes and glad that we had stopped at the Garden View B&B and met John and Beth.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
33
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

John and Beth were great hosts and their house and garden are beautiful. Our conversations were so interesting, we couldn't quit talking, so we were late to bed and got off late, but it was well worth it. For Americans, if you ask enough questions, you will find out that they are the parents of Phil Keoghan, the host of the Amazing Race. The flowers were in full bloom, and the gardens are wonderfully laid out. They are out in the suburbs of Christchurch and new home and subdivisions are moving out their direction. You have to look pretty closely for their sign. Again, this is a wonderful place and I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Very interesting people. a wealth of knowledge that they are more than happy to share. felt very comfortable and almost one of the family. Highly recommended . The service they provided was far more than one would expect. Thank you John and Beth for a pleasent stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwidriver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We had a lovely stay here. The hosts were very friendly and helpful and the room was in perfect condition, fresh roses in the room and a beautiful bathroom. There is a big garden around the house and you wouldn´t guess that you are in the middle of a built up area. The only minus is that you really have to take the car to get to a restaurant in the evening. The local center had no charm at all, but a very,very good indian restaurant! Lots of recommendations if you want a nice place to relax!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GCK C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

I let out a sigh of relief when I walked into the Garden View Bed and Breakfast. John and Beth are as warm and sweet as the cup of tea and yogurt covered cookie they greeted me with at the door. They are so welcoming and are great conversationalists. I felt right at home from the minute I walked in the door.

We loved every minute we stayed there and lingered a little longer than we should have.

The room was spacious and beautiful. I loved the collection of magazines and books available for me to peruse.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nattyjay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

Wonderful house with beautiful garden view. Very kind welcome from the host and it is worth to visit. If I go to Christchurch again I will defiantly go their again :)


Best Regards,

Sultan Alqassabi

From OMAN

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sultan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We found this place through a recommendation from another B & B in Akaroa. As a result of the earthquake a couple of years ago, there is a significant shortage of accommodation in downtown Christchurch, and people have to get lodging out in the suburbs. We were indeed fortunate to find this jewel. John and Beth run a fabulous B & B just 14 miles from the CBD – are so hospitable and we had the luxurious ensuite accommodation with an amazing and huge bathroom. John recommended a walk for us in the Peel Forest, about 50 miles away, and just as we were leaving for the trip, Beth gave us a picnic basket with fruit, cake and coffee and milk in thermos’. (This was completely spontaneous).

Room Tip: Try to get the ensuite option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heckmondwike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rolleston
11.5 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
13.9 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Rolleston Highway Motel
#2 of 4 in Rolleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
M&Y Guest House (Christchurch Airport)
0.5 mi away
StoneHill Bed & Breakfast
StoneHill Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 4 in Rolleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
9.7 mi away
Airways Motel
Airways Motel
#12 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Bed and Breakfast

Property: Garden View Bed and Breakfast
Address: 133 Lowes Road, Rolleston 7614, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Rolleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rolleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden View Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA Spirit of Hospitality B&B Award finalist. Located just 10 minutes south of Christchurch and 20 minutes from Christchurch International Airport. Three guest rooms (one with en-suite), nearby restaurants, shopping centre and new Aquatic Centre. Garden View features free Broadband/WiFi access, buffet breakfast, off-street parking and award-winning gardens (1½ acres) uniquely landscaped in New Zealand native plants, roses, fruit-trees. Convenient, quiet and comfortable stopover as you arrive for your South Island tour and before you leave to return home. Well suited for business visits, wedding groups, honeymooners, family reunions, travellers and outdoor adventures including the Tranz-Alpine Train (2 mins) away), skiing, swimming, trekking, golfing, camping, hunting, fishing as well as many renowned wineries. Perfect too, for your romantic getaway or relaxing holiday. Rural environment convenient to Christchurch and Canterbury attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Garden View Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing