We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hiking in Aracena” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Posada de San Marcos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Posada de San Marcos
Ranked #1 of 3 Alajar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Hiking in Aracena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

La Posada de San Marcos is a pleasant place to stay in a beautiful area. We enjoyed the quiet village setting after spending time in the cities. We did two day-hikes that were interesting and enjoyable. The proprietors were interesting and friendly, and even provided us with a ride into Seville when we continued our trip. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious, and our room was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJandWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    22
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
166
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bilthoven, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Very nice stay and walking experience in Andalusie. Friendly and warm hospitality. Nice rooms and facilities. Routes for walking available. The rooms on the ground floor have assess to the garden and nice pool area for relaxing after a day walking in the very nice surroundings. We had a nice dinner in the evening on the terrace. The picnics we were provided by Lucy were very tasty during our walkings.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Staying with Angel and Lucy was a real treat. Lucy is a great cook, dinner is served with a sunset view and Angel is very passionate and knowledgeable about the area – he can speak about everything from olive oil and Iberian ham to fantastic little restaurants in nearby villages and the best tracks for hiking or running in the hills. We couldn't have felt more welcome, and Angel and Lucy really were a great help in pointing out all the best things to do, see and eat in the area.

Alajar is a very pretty and charming little village too, and the posada really is a fantastic place to stay – easy walking distance from the town square and still you get to spend those long, tranquil, warm afternoons in a wonderful garden with a pool and a view.

We went in the second half of September 2013, which was a great time to be there.

All in all, highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_HCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Went to Alajar to do the spanish cooking and Iberico ham course, absolutely fantastic. My wife with help from Lucy cooked an evening meal for all the guests, the clean plates from everybody said it all. We both went on the pig course, fascinating, from the one man (and his wife) farm to the much larger commercial operation in Aracena it was an eye opening experience. Lucy and Angel are excellent hosts, with lots of information and knowledge regarding the area and are only to happy to share this with their guests. Beautiful village, beautiful countryside, beautiful weather, wonderful people, would go back again just to see the pigs. Lucy and Angel, good luck for the future ..you certainly deserve it.

Room Tip: There doesn't seem to be a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Have just returned from a lovely stay at the Posada San Marcos. Lucy and Angel made us very welcome. Our room on the ground floor came out straight onto the garden, only a few steps away from a very inviting swimming pool, especially after a hard day's walking.
Lucy's dinners were simply delicious, full of flavour and beautifuly cooked and presented.
We would certainly look to return to the Posada again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

My daughter and I stayed there for two nights. I fully agree with every positive review written about this gem. As a Spaniard living abroad (London 2 years, New York 10 years till present), the Posada San Marcos makes you feel "proud of your country". I would like to go farther on my recommendation and to add a "tip" for forward-thinking leaders and specialists whom are thinking to generate new ideas and new visions for the future of their respective firms.
Lucy and Angel are superb "posaderos" offering amazing hospitality in Alajar. They told us they had not long ago hosted a Seminar for Scientists with great success; I can't imagine of a better place for innovative and progressive firms.
Combining the benefits of a terrific and relaxing location in a charming andalusian village (terrific views of the hills, beautiful trails along rivers and tasting incredible local food) is the perfect scenario to come up with new ideas. A natural environment to think freely and move into new areas of thought and ultimately create solutions.
I will definitely come back with my husband!
Beatriz from New York

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatriz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I really enjoyed my two-week stay here. Lucy and Angel (and Sofia!) are wonderful hosts and their posada is beautiful. I also really enjoyed the relaxing yoga sessions with the wonderful, multi-lingual Susanne!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M_AnnMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajar
5.8 mi away
Hotel Convento Aracena & Spa
0.0 mi away
Casona del Duende
Casona del Duende
#1 of 1 in Alajar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
4.1 mi away
Finca La Media Legua
Finca La Media Legua
#2 of 9 in Aracena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hotel La Era de Aracena
Hotel La Era de Aracena
#6 of 9 in Aracena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Finca Valbono
Hotel Finca Valbono
#5 of 9 in Aracena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
5.9 mi away
Essentia Hotel Restaurante Galeria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada de San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de San Marcos

Property: La Posada de San Marcos
Address: Calle Colon 12, 21340 Alajar, Sierra de Aracena and Picos de Aroche Natural Park, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Sierra de Aracena and Picos de Aroche Natural Park > Alajar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alajar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — La Posada de San Marcos 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a wonderful stay in a special part of the Natural Park Sierra de Aracena y Picos de Aroche at Las Posadas in Alájar providing low impact, environmentally friendly accommodation within a natural park along with invaluable help and advice from your hosts Lucy and Ángel. At La Posada de San Marcos the only sound you will hear is the breeze in the cork oak trees, the babbling of the stream, birdsong and crickets. The view towards the oak clad hill behind us or towards the village and the Peña beyond provide the perfect backdrop from your room terrace or the gardens. The perfect opportunity to experience an environmentally friendly, energy efficient hotel with a superior level of accommodation and disabled access. Relax in our garden and if it gets too warm plunge into our 12 metre pool to cool off or take some exercise.Or alternatively you can stay at our sister hotel La Posada de Alájar, a renovated inn dating from the 18th Century where you are surrounded by the history of its walls and chestnut beamed ceilings. Centrally located by the village square with its restaurants, bars and shops everything is close to hand. Cosy rooms, cheerfully decorated, ensure an enjoyable and comfortable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your La Posada de San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing