We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, quiet & typical.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Posada de San Marcos
Ranked #1 of 3 Alajar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Liege, Belgium
1 review
“Nice, quiet & typical.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

very nice place: traditionnal spannish house with nice garden and terrace located in a wondefull village. Warm welcome from the owners. Excellent food (3 course dinner!) & good service.
Recommanded to everybody.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank simon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    24
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
168
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had a wonderful time in Alajar in April. The spring wildflowers were extraordinary, and the people lovely. We walked from Alajar to another village and stumbled upon a Michelin rated restaurant! Every day a new day hike, with something wonderful to experience. The food everywhere was wonderful. The cheese was exceptional, and if you like ham, this is where people go to do ham tastings! What we loved was the pure of joy of seeing old villages where people actually live and work, and not mobs of tourists. We toured around Spain for three weeks, and although we loved it all, our stay at La Posada was the most memorable. La Posada is the place to stay. It is a green hotel, and Lucy and Angel make sure that you know where to get the best of everything the area has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1HappyOne_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

What a find! We happened across Posada San Marcos when we decided to spend a few days away from our coastal resort. After receiving a warm welcome by the hotel owners, we were introduced to what this unspoilt, peaceful area Spain has to offer...plenty of nature, a taste of rural life and welcome delicious home cooking. We spent a day hiking, thankful for the easy to follow walking guide and appreciative of the fantastic picnic; another day spent in nearby Aracena, visiting the magnificent caves (it's worth spending the extra Euro on the audio guide if you don't speak Spanish) and dining with the locals near the town square, and a day relaxing by the pool in an idyllic, tranquil setting. The hotel itself is spotless, the owners, Lucy & Angel were so helpful in ensuring we made the most of our 'short break' and we enjoyed a couple of wonderful dinners, cooked by Lucy, including thoughtful vegetarian options for my wife. The breakfasts were interesting & plentiful, I never realised olive oil came in so many varieties...we also discovered a lovely restaurant & some friendly tapas bars in the village. Thank you Lucy & Angel for introducing us to another area of Spain, we loved the laid-back yet welcoming feel to the Posada. We'll be back, we know now there's so much more to discover such a short distance away from the coast. Next time we're looking forward to learning about the local Jamon and visiting some of the interesting villages nearby and we'll bring hiking boots too!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have great views, the upstairs rooms have balconies and downstairs rooms have terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidBlundell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milsbeek, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We have seen many places, but La Posada de San Marcos is one of the very rare we are sure to return to in the near future. Superb location, lots of natural beauty, located at the border of a lovely village, a minimal amount of tourists, great food, clean, good price, many nice villages close by, etc, etc. It makes you wonder why this 'diamond of Andalusia' has been discovered by only so few people! An addition bonus is that the posada runs on environmently friendly resources, which is rather unique in Spain. The Posada is a great start for many very nice hikes. Angel and Lucy, the owners, are doing a great job. Thank you for that.

Room Tip: All eight rooms seem to be very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is our third enjoyable stay at Posada San Marcos. The welcome was as good as ever, the evening meal cooked by Lucy was splendid and the overall ambience was relaxing and enjoyable. Again, an ideal base for walking in the beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Half a tomato for breakfast!!!we were almost frightened to ask for more coffee,the half tomato was between two.....then to be lectured on the quality of organic fruit and veg,only to find Del Monte Brazilian banana in the very tiny fruit bowl........yes we were hungry....the joys of being a non meat eater
quotes @ I've got some chick peas left over from last night ill see what I can do
such a pity gorgeous hotel,excellent architect,we as guests seemed to almost be a bit of a nuisance ....organized by inn travel the rest of the holiday was 5 star

Room Tip: all rooms excelent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hugh d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy-Angel-Posadas, Propietario at La Posada de San Marcos, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi Hugh, we are very pleased that you thought our hotel, arquitecure and rooms are excellent. Our sincere apologies that you did not feel welcome and feel you went hungry during breakfast, this is certainly not our intention, making guests feel welcome and at home is an important element to our hospitality.
We believe that a good start to the day is with a great breakfast and we offer a choice of organic whole meal and white bread accompanied by a selection of 12 different olive oils, homemade jam, organic honey, 2 types of homemade patés which are replaced by tomato, when in season, and/or cheese for vegetarians. We have 4 different types of cereal, organic walnuts, fruit and a choice of different types of yoghurst. We also serve as many coffees or teas as requested, it is only a question of letting us know that you would like more of anything.
Organic fresh fruit is very difficult to buy locally, unfortunately, and the demand for bananas this week was very high. We were unable to procure our usual Canary Island platanos in the village one of the days during your stay which is why we had to opt for the only available option.
The chickpea casserole which we serve for dinner is one of our most popular dishes and we have had many a request for the recipe which we have happily provided. We also serve plenty of vegetarian dishes depending on the seasons, aubergine, tomato and goats cheese bake, spanish lentils, roast pepper and goats cheese salad, gaspacho, salmorejo, beetroot gaspacho, spinach croquetas, haricot bean casserole, spinach and chickpea...we are truly sorry that the chickpeas were not to your liking.
We will take on board all your comments and endeavour to ensure that our vegetarian options are better explained in the future – thanks for helping us improve!

All the best
Lucy and Ángel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here recently on an Inntravel holiday. This was our third base for walking. Lucy and Angel made us feel very welcome, a part of the family. The hotel is beautifully located with a lovely large swimming pool in the garden. The dinners in the evening and the packed lunches we had for our walks were simply wonderful. The best picnics we have ever had!. Lucy is an amazing cook.
Both Lucy and Angel were always happy to share information or help us with any questions we might have. Being able to make ourselves drinks whenever we wanted was an added bonus. If you are comng to Alajar then stay at La Posada de San Marcos, Many thanks for a lovely stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Poppy070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajar
5.9 mi away
Hotel Convento Aracena & Spa
0.0 mi away
Casona del Duende
Casona del Duende
#1 of 1 in Alajar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel La Era de Aracena
Hotel La Era de Aracena
#5 of 8 in Aracena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Finca La Media Legua
Finca La Media Legua
#2 of 8 in Aracena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Finca Valbono
Hotel Finca Valbono
#4 of 8 in Aracena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.2 mi away
Finca La Fronda
Finca La Fronda
#2 of 3 in Alajar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada de San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de San Marcos

Property: La Posada de San Marcos
Address: Calle Colon 12, 21340 Alajar, Sierra de Aracena and Picos de Aroche Natural Park, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Sierra de Aracena and Picos de Aroche Natural Park > Alajar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alajar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — La Posada de San Marcos 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a wonderful stay in a special part of the Natural Park Sierra de Aracena y Picos de Aroche at Las Posadas in Alájar providing low impact, environmentally friendly accommodation within a natural park along with invaluable help and advice from your hosts Lucy and Ángel. At La Posada de San Marcos the only sound you will hear is the breeze in the cork oak trees, the babbling of the stream, birdsong and crickets. The view towards the oak clad hill behind us or towards the village and the Peña beyond provide the perfect backdrop from your room terrace or the gardens. The perfect opportunity to experience an environmentally friendly, energy efficient hotel with a superior level of accommodation and disabled access. Relax in our garden and if it gets too warm plunge into our 12 metre pool to cool off or take some exercise.Or alternatively you can stay at our sister hotel La Posada de Alájar, a renovated inn dating from the 18th Century where you are surrounded by the history of its walls and chestnut beamed ceilings. Centrally located by the village square with its restaurants, bars and shops everything is close to hand. Cosy rooms, cheerfully decorated, ensure an enjoyable and comfortable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Posada de San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing