We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and friendly place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Posada de Alajar
Ranked #3 of 3 Alajar B&B and Inns
London, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly place to stay”
Reviewed 2 April 2011

There's not much to add to all the positive reviews here, but we had a lovely stay and wanted to recommend to others. A family run hotel with a lovely atmosphere and very friendly, helpful owners. Lovely home-made breakfasts, with virtually all the produce grown locally (and organically). Rooms were of a good size (with heating/aircon), clean and comfortable, like the rest of the hotel. All-in-all, excellent value for money.

The village itself is great, a couple of restaurants, 2 or 3 bars, and a pleasant place to wonder with great walking on the doorstep, and plenty of other interesting villages to visit nearby.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CumbrianCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    18
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
55
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

From the pre-trip correspondance we had with Lucy, we knew we could expect a lovely stay and immediately felt welcomed. We booked the attic room with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a sitting room which was perfect for our group. We also had dinner at the Posada on the first night of our 3 night stay which was a delicious introduction to food of the area. Angel's knowledge was fascinating and our daughter became firm friends with Sofia. I could not find fault with any aspect of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EncounterIntrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Although the rooms are tiny, the standard is very good. The owners are absolutely helpful and very friendly and it is clear that they are very excited about their place and their life style. You can have a dinner at the place which is served by the owners with good atmosphere. Although we had doubts considering the price of the menu we enjoyed it a lot. You can spend several days doing various tracks around. We had a lovely time there.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Ego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

My husband and I stayed two nights at La Posada on our way back to Madrid from Andalucia. We stayed in a number of B&B's during our two week Spain getaway and used a rental car to get from one place to the next. The Posada is located in a small village in the mountainous region an hour's drive northwest of Seville. The area is very charming and perfect for those looking for some hiking off the beaten path. Even though the village is small, there's plenty of restaurants nearby, and the bigger town, Aracena is 10-15 min drive away where you can find larger markets, cafes, etc. Lucy and Angel are wonderful hosts with lots of information and stories to share, and their breakfasts are delicious and filling - a perfect start to a traveler's day. They also have a great tea/coffee nook thats accessible 24/7 for guests. The rooms are modest but very functional and clean - no frills. All have en-suite bathrooms which is very convenient. Overall a wonderful homey, cozy stay with the most perfect hosts.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nat730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We stayed at La Posada, Alajar for 3 eays as part of 18 days in Spain. It is a very comfortable small hotel serving excellent local food. Hosts Lucy and Angel are very hospitable, speak English and know local area intimately. Great place to stay to witness local village life and walk through rural countryside and pretty villages.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

I was traveling solo in Spain and Portugal by motorcycle and my husband was home arranging overnight spots for me via the web, trying to follow my planned route. I was absolutely blessed when he found La Posada de Alajár.

The proprietors Angel and Lucy are delightful people with a wonderful aesthetic and amazing historic place. The meals served were authentic and awesome and I had both dinner and breakfast! The room was spotless and quiet and beautifully furnished. Depending upon the room, you could have a wonderful view of Alajár or the mountains surrounding the village.

When I arrived in the square of the village, someone was playing a flute and the music hauntingly echoed through the town making for an amazing welcome. People were milling about and I felt perfectly safe leaving my motorbike sitting right on the square for the duration of my stay. Walking through the village is an absolute treat, with the lovely homes, cobblestone streets, gorgeous foliage and melodic church bells.

I plan on returning to Posada de Alajár to bring my husband so that we may both enjoy a longer stay, the fabulous motorcycle roads and the wonderful hospitality of the hotel and owners! Thank you Angel and Lucy for a delightful stay, one I will always think of fondly!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demenshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We found La Posada through another Adventure Travel organization that hooked us up with La Posada as the begining of our Inn to Inn self guided hiking holiday. Lucy and Angel were completely lovely to stay with, and they basically managed our whole self guided holiday. They were helpful, and a joy to chat with. They truely enjoy what they do. The meals were amazing, organic, homemade, meals of the area. We had breakfast and dinner there, and Lucy packed us a great picnik for our hikes. This was all part of the all inclusive holiday we signed up for thru Pura Adventure. I can't say we had any real issue with them, except they were a faceless complany that just hooked us up with La Posada, and gave us crappy hiking notes. We found out we could have done the same holiday through La Posada for less, and with better hiking notes. The notes from Pura Adventure were very very unclear at times. Lucy and Angel actually hike the trails and have notes that come with pictures that are very clear. Luckily when we were following Pura's notes we also had a great map that La Posada lent us (Pura's maps were mostly not worth looking at compared to theirs). I do not speak spanish beyond a few words, and what I learned 20 yrs ago. I was traveling with someone who was mostly fluent. It was really nice that Lucy and Angel speak english also, as I did not have to rely on my friend to translate for me, and it was a joy getting to know them. If you do not speak spanish, I think that you would still be fine, as they can help you with the info that you need to know. A few of the other Inns that we stayed at, no one spoke english, so hopefully you are adventurous, and can get by with a dictionary. All the Inns were lovely, and had great views of cute white towns with spanish roofs. I was surprised that such a wonderful place/area was actually fairly quiet. We only saw one other hiking group and one couple on the trails when we were hiking for 5 days. The hotels were on the empty side. It was nice not to have hardly any tourists around so you could experience the town and people in reality. Someone we met said that we were the first Americans that they had seen hiking in the area. This seems like an undiscovered place. It seemed to be the most beautiful time to go ( late May) the wildflowers were amazing, and weather was perfect. Hiking was about 20 kil. a day. There are always options to do more or less. There are so many ancient foot paths in this area, you could really spend more than 5-6 days here exploring the different towns. We did not get to see a few that we wanted. The hiking was really doable for someone who is not is great shape/not aweful shape (38yrs) . Most of the hiking was fairly shaded, which I was releaved to find. The cork oaks, iberian pigs, farms, olive, walnut groves ,wild flowers, etc, etc. were a treat on our walks and a wonderful way to spend a few days.
I look forward to going back someday and staying in their soon to be completed additional Inn that will be totally green/ using sustainable practices!!! Good going Lucy and Angel!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2292_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajar
0.1 mi away
Casona del Duende
Casona del Duende
#1 of 1 in Alajar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Convento Aracena & Spa
4.1 mi away
Finca La Media Legua
Finca La Media Legua
#2 of 8 in Aracena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel La Era de Aracena
Hotel La Era de Aracena
#5 of 8 in Aracena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hospederia Reina de los Angeles
6.4 mi away
Hotel Finca Valbono
Hotel Finca Valbono
#4 of 8 in Aracena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada de Alajar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Alajar

Property: La Posada de Alajar
Address: Calle Medico Emilio Gonzalez 2 | Alájar, 21340 Alajar, Sierra de Aracena and Picos de Aroche Natural Park, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Sierra de Aracena and Picos de Aroche Natural Park > Alajar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alajar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Posada de Alajar 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a wonderful stay in a special part of the Natural Park Sierra de Aracena y Picos de Aroche at Las Posadas in Alájar providing low impact, environmentally friendly accommodation within a natural park along with invaluable help and advice from your hosts Lucy and Ángel. La Posada de Alajar is a small, historical Anglo-Spanish run posada (small rural hotel) in Alajar, Sierra de Aracena, Andalusia. The posada offers the perfect accommodation for walking touring and bird watching holidays in one of the few unspoilt areas remaining in Andalusia. Centrally located by the village square with its restaurants, bars and shops everything is close to hand. Cosy rooms, cheerfully decorated, ensure an enjoyable and comfortable holiday. The nearby historical city of Seville and the Portuguese border is little over an hour away so our posada is the perfect base to explore this beautiful corner of Spain. Alternatively you can stay at our sister hotel La Posada de San Marcos, where the only sound you will hear is the breeze in the cork oak trees, the babbling of the stream, birdsong and crickets. The view towards the oak clad hill behind us or towards the village and the Peña beyond provide the perfect backdrop from your room terrace or the gardens. The perfect opportunity to experience an environmentally friendly, energy efficient hotel with a superior level of accommodation and disabled access. Relax in our garden and if it gets too warm plunge into our 12 metre pool to cool off or take some exercise. The pool and gardens is available to guests staying at La Posada de Alájar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your La Posada de Alajar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Alajar Huelva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing