We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nowhere better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Posada de Alajar
Ranked #3 of 3 Alajar B&B and Inns
London
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nowhere better”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Myself and a group of friends stayed in La Posada at the end of October. The hotel is excellent, a little quaint, but spotlessly clean and comfortable. The owners are not only lovely people but also knowledgeable on the area and the walks. The walks could be better signposted, this is very frustrating and hopefully something that will get sorted out, and after about four days there will not be much new. Alajar however is a great base to tour the surrounding area. Recommended.

Room Tip: Why is it I have to fill in this field
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianjamesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    18
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
55
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
arlington, va
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Lucy and Angel have two inns. We stayed at the San Marcos property for 4 nights. San Marcos is a short walk from La Posada de Alajar. I see other reviews for San Marcos on this site and have not been able to locate or establish a site specifically for San Marcos. The San Marcos property is beautiful. The owners have worked on the renovation for some time, and the finished product shows incredible attention to every detail. The rooms are large, well designed, and immaculate. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The bathroom is large, with a bathtub and a shower that has great water pressure. The common areas, including the lounge, the pool, and the breakfast room are beautiful. Lucy and Angel serve a great breakfast, with yogurt, fresh fruit, bread (including fresh whole grain bread), cereal, and various jams, pate, and other spreads for the bread. They are also quite helpful with information on the area, including the hiking trails. Guests can arrange to have dinner there, also. We did not, but heard from other guests that dinners were very good. We were there in October, and dinner was served on an outdoor patio--very pretty setting. I would highly recommend this inn to other travelers!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaofva_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed for four nights in early October. We considered the accommodation comfortable and 'authentically' Spanish. Huge comfortable bed, powerful hot shower, pretty balcony overlooking village square and a reasonable price. What more could we want? Or experience of Angel and Lucy as owners and hosts is in COMPLETE contrast to 'Hugh O'- they were unfailing kind, trusting, attentive and unobtrusive, Angel even arranged for us to have breakfast hours before everyone else on our last morning so that we wouldn't travel to airport hungry. I recommend this destination wholeheartedly, and I'm fussy. Alajar is stunning, the scenery and walks around it breathtaking. Real Spain. We'll return, that's for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room onto the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary-Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in late Oct 2011after phoning from the tourist office in Aracena. Lucy and Angel were incredibly helpful accommodating us in the new hotel - they now have 2 properties about 5mins walk from each other. We did not have a car but managed to use public transport to and from this beautiful area and enjoyed 3 walks from the hotel - each one about 7 miles in length. Lucy was very informative about the walking in the area and they have maps and guide books available. The new hotel has a swimming pool which can be used by guests at either property . There are several bars and restaurants in the village and Lucy cooks dinner on some nights if you book in advance.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Was booked in to this place for 2 nights on a week long walking holiday with Inntravel (have used Inntravel before and all acc was excellent as was the other acc on this trip). Firstly no one at hotel when we arrived. Turns out the owners have opened a new upmarket place in town. We called, rang doorbell twice, owner Angel opened door and asked had we no patience. He was rude and unhelpful. We were brought back to our hotel. Rooms were grotty, plaster falling off walls painted over, very dated with worn stained bedspreads on the beds. When we complained to Angel's English partner Lucy she said we could upgrade to their new place for a fee. Needless to say we checked out the following day. These people are in the wrong business as they know nothing about service or customer satisfaction. Avoid!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laposadadealajar, Propietario at La Posada de Alajar, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
We can only apologise to the reviewer for having upset him so much he has felt it necessary to write such a negative review about our hotel and indeed our professionalism. We obviously did not live up to his expectations, somehow managing to get off on the wrong foot at the beginning of the visit and were unable to have the chance to put things right as the stay was curtailed. We feel that there has been a genuine misunderstanding and sincerely welcome the opportunity to rectify the reviewers perceptions should he ever wish to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed at the sister hotel - San Marcos - very near to La Posada de Alajar. Angel and Lucy (and Sophia!) were gracious hosts and were incredibly helpful with hike planning. Meals here were delicious and the pool was glorious after a long hike. Comfy beds, great sleeps and utter relaxation. Highly recommended for good hiking paired with lounging and yummy food.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallard007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple,Devon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We really enjoyed staying here for one night. My grown up daughter and I slept in the front room with the balcony overlooking the street . The room was stylishly decorated in a rustic style and was clean and comfortable. Outside the room was a lounge area with tea and coffee facilities which we used alot. Lucy and Angel are delightful hosts with the right balance of helpfulness and respect for privacy. The hotel provides a complimentary breakfast which was ample and very tasty and Angel was available to explain each part of the breakfast and what it meant to his family. The evening meal was a three course affair at 20 Euros per person and worth every penny. Well done Lucy and Angel!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gladtobealive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajar
5.9 mi away
Hotel Convento Aracena & Spa
6.8 mi away
Hotel La Era de Aracena
Hotel La Era de Aracena
#5 of 8 in Aracena
96 reviews
4.1 mi away
Finca La Media Legua
Finca La Media Legua
#2 of 8 in Aracena
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Posada de San Marcos
1.2 mi away
Finca La Fronda
Finca La Fronda
#2 of 3 in Alajar
246 reviews
4.5 mi away
Doce Canos
Doce Canos
#1 of 3 in Galaroza
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada de Alajar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Alajar

Property: La Posada de Alajar
Address: Calle Medico Emilio Gonzalez 2 | Alájar, 21340 Alajar, Sierra de Aracena and Picos de Aroche Natural Park, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Sierra de Aracena and Picos de Aroche Natural Park > Alajar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alajar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Posada de Alajar 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a wonderful stay in a special part of the Natural Park Sierra de Aracena y Picos de Aroche at Las Posadas in Alájar providing low impact, environmentally friendly accommodation within a natural park along with invaluable help and advice from your hosts Lucy and Ángel. La Posada de Alajar is a small, historical Anglo-Spanish run posada (small rural hotel) in Alajar, Sierra de Aracena, Andalusia. The posada offers the perfect accommodation for walking touring and bird watching holidays in one of the few unspoilt areas remaining in Andalusia. Centrally located by the village square with its restaurants, bars and shops everything is close to hand. Cosy rooms, cheerfully decorated, ensure an enjoyable and comfortable holiday. The nearby historical city of Seville and the Portuguese border is little over an hour away so our posada is the perfect base to explore this beautiful corner of Spain. Alternatively you can stay at our sister hotel La Posada de San Marcos, where the only sound you will hear is the breeze in the cork oak trees, the babbling of the stream, birdsong and crickets. The view towards the oak clad hill behind us or towards the village and the Peña beyond provide the perfect backdrop from your room terrace or the gardens. The perfect opportunity to experience an environmentally friendly, energy efficient hotel with a superior level of accommodation and disabled access. Relax in our garden and if it gets too warm plunge into our 12 metre pool to cool off or take some exercise. The pool and gardens is available to guests staying at La Posada de Alájar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your La Posada de Alajar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Alajar Huelva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing