We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Posada de Alajar
Ranked #3 of 3 Alajar B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel with character”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Three older men on a walking holiday and stayed for four nights . The hotel is better described as an Inn and has a rural quality that goes with the lovely village in which it is situated . I agree with the earlier reviews of these premises and endorse the complimentary comments made by them .We had no complaints and were well looked after . It is the cheaper accomodation of the two premises run by Lucy and Angel in this village and if you want a more upmarket hotel the Posada de San Marcos is worth the extra money

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank partrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    18
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
55
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed here for three nights as part of a walking tour. The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. The village is delightful, and the hotel is about ten metres from the main square (Bar El Corcho well worth a visit, even if only to admire its amazing ceiling!). Tea and coffee facilities are in the public areas with an honesty box.

Lucy and Angel run the hotel as well as another one about five minutes walk away, Posada San Marcos. Breakfast and dinner are served there. Lucy's cooking is fantastic! They are perfect hosts, and couldn't be more helpful. Both speak perfect English and are full of advice about walks, food, olive oil and the cork industry! Out of a huge number of hotels I've stayed in this year, this is by far the nicest and the only one which has scored full marks on everything - if possible, I'd give it eleven out of ten!

(Walking in the area is superb - ask for recommendations if not already sorted with routes).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onewheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed for a weekend there along with another couple. Our room had a huge and comfortable bed. Everything was very clean and we were glad to have a room with a balcony. It was quite pleasant to sit there at night while we could see people passing by.

We had to go to another hotel that belongs to the same owners in order to have breakfast or to go for a swim in the swimming-pool. But since the village is so charming and small, it takes only two or three minutes to get there on foot and it's ok.

I must also add how lovely both Lucy and Angel are! Angel explained all kinds of things about local products and his suggestions for a healthy and different breakfast was highly appreciated.

I would return to their hotel 100% sure!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanJoseSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

To be honest my stay was only an hour but the purpose of this review is to highlight what a lovely place and very helpful people own it.
We needed an English speaking Spanish person and they are few in this area! We were not staying in the hotel but they could not have been more helpful!
I recommend you stay here as it was very clean, lovely food and well located.
Thanks again!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SimonDoderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2012

My adult daughter and I stayed at La Posada Alajar in June for 4 nights. The Posada is a delightful place to stay, very comfortable and furnished tastefully. Angel and Lucy are hospitable and nothing is too much trouble for them. As they have taken the walks themselves they are very knowledgable and helpful with maps, suggestions and even photo books.
The breakfasts are enough to last all day and the picnic lunches for when we walked, delicious, varied and filling. Dinner cooked by Lucy is most memorable sitting on the terrace in the warm evening eating gourmet food.
Although we stayed at the Posada we were welcomed warmly at San Marcos to swim in the pool and eat if we wished-which we did.
We will be back with friends and spouses. Cannot recommend the Posada or San Marcos highly enough. Lyn and Taegen Australia

Room Tip: All rooms excellent but San Marcos is delightful if you can afford a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Probably it was 2007 when we stayed at La Posada. The memory still lives with us and each year we discuss a return.

The welcome is wonderful, the facilities so individual to the family and comfortable, the village friendly and well located in territory which is a walkers paradise. But the main thing is the food - how do you make breakfast something to talk about? Experience that and you'll have no further questions. Not only that but a family friend has a Jamon Iberico restaurant just nearby whose food has to be tasted to be believed.

(The year selectable below is necessarily off.)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muymalestado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I've stayed twice at La Posada de Alajar and felt as though I was welcomed into the owners' home as a friend rather than just as a hotel guest in a long line of guests. This September I stayed in the lovely Posada San Marcos and the experience was even more pleasurable.

My room was spacious and had a wonderful bed and bedding, the shower was exceptionally good. It was lovely to finish a walk, go for a swim and then sit in the garden enjoying the birdsong, watching the trees, and listening to the eccentric chimes of the church clock. The patio is a great place to drink a glass of wine and watch the setting sun while eating Lucy's delicious food - favourite this time was the beetroot soup, but all the food was superb.

Lucy, Angel, Sofia, and their staff work hard to be sure that your memories of a stay in this area are all pleasurable.

I would love to stay there again & again.

Room Tip: All the rooms in San Marcos look out over the garden. The rooms on the entry level have a wider vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretknight7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajar
0.1 mi away
Casona del Duende
Casona del Duende
#1 of 1 in Alajar
72 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel La Era de Aracena
Hotel La Era de Aracena
#5 of 8 in Aracena
92 reviews
4.1 mi away
Finca La Media Legua
Finca La Media Legua
#2 of 8 in Aracena
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Convento Aracena & Spa
6.4 mi away
Hotel Finca Valbono
Hotel Finca Valbono
#4 of 8 in Aracena
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Posada de San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada de Alajar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Alajar

Property: La Posada de Alajar
Address: Calle Medico Emilio Gonzalez 2 | Alájar, 21340 Alajar, Sierra de Aracena and Picos de Aroche Natural Park, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Sierra de Aracena and Picos de Aroche Natural Park > Alajar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alajar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Posada de Alajar 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a wonderful stay in a special part of the Natural Park Sierra de Aracena y Picos de Aroche at Las Posadas in Alájar providing low impact, environmentally friendly accommodation within a natural park along with invaluable help and advice from your hosts Lucy and Ángel. La Posada de Alajar is a small, historical Anglo-Spanish run posada (small rural hotel) in Alajar, Sierra de Aracena, Andalusia. The posada offers the perfect accommodation for walking touring and bird watching holidays in one of the few unspoilt areas remaining in Andalusia. Centrally located by the village square with its restaurants, bars and shops everything is close to hand. Cosy rooms, cheerfully decorated, ensure an enjoyable and comfortable holiday. The nearby historical city of Seville and the Portuguese border is little over an hour away so our posada is the perfect base to explore this beautiful corner of Spain. Alternatively you can stay at our sister hotel La Posada de San Marcos, where the only sound you will hear is the breeze in the cork oak trees, the babbling of the stream, birdsong and crickets. The view towards the oak clad hill behind us or towards the village and the Peña beyond provide the perfect backdrop from your room terrace or the gardens. The perfect opportunity to experience an environmentally friendly, energy efficient hotel with a superior level of accommodation and disabled access. Relax in our garden and if it gets too warm plunge into our 12 metre pool to cool off or take some exercise. The pool and gardens is available to guests staying at La Posada de Alájar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your La Posada de Alajar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Alajar Huelva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing