We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic inn, great hosts, great hiking holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Posada de Alajar
Ranked #3 of 3 Alajar B&B and Inns
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic inn, great hosts, great hiking holiday.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

We found La Posada through another Adventure Travel organization that hooked us up with La Posada as the begining of our Inn to Inn self guided hiking holiday. Lucy and Angel were completely lovely to stay with, and they basically managed our whole self guided holiday. They were helpful, and a joy to chat with. They truely enjoy what they do. The meals were amazing, organic, homemade, meals of the area. We had breakfast and dinner there, and Lucy packed us a great picnik for our hikes. This was all part of the all inclusive holiday we signed up for thru Pura Adventure. I can't say we had any real issue with them, except they were a faceless complany that just hooked us up with La Posada, and gave us crappy hiking notes. We found out we could have done the same holiday through La Posada for less, and with better hiking notes. The notes from Pura Adventure were very very unclear at times. Lucy and Angel actually hike the trails and have notes that come with pictures that are very clear. Luckily when we were following Pura's notes we also had a great map that La Posada lent us (Pura's maps were mostly not worth looking at compared to theirs). I do not speak spanish beyond a few words, and what I learned 20 yrs ago. I was traveling with someone who was mostly fluent. It was really nice that Lucy and Angel speak english also, as I did not have to rely on my friend to translate for me, and it was a joy getting to know them. If you do not speak spanish, I think that you would still be fine, as they can help you with the info that you need to know. A few of the other Inns that we stayed at, no one spoke english, so hopefully you are adventurous, and can get by with a dictionary. All the Inns were lovely, and had great views of cute white towns with spanish roofs. I was surprised that such a wonderful place/area was actually fairly quiet. We only saw one other hiking group and one couple on the trails when we were hiking for 5 days. The hotels were on the empty side. It was nice not to have hardly any tourists around so you could experience the town and people in reality. Someone we met said that we were the first Americans that they had seen hiking in the area. This seems like an undiscovered place. It seemed to be the most beautiful time to go ( late May) the wildflowers were amazing, and weather was perfect. Hiking was about 20 kil. a day. There are always options to do more or less. There are so many ancient foot paths in this area, you could really spend more than 5-6 days here exploring the different towns. We did not get to see a few that we wanted. The hiking was really doable for someone who is not is great shape/not aweful shape (38yrs) . Most of the hiking was fairly shaded, which I was releaved to find. The cork oaks, iberian pigs, farms, olive, walnut groves ,wild flowers, etc, etc. were a treat on our walks and a wonderful way to spend a few days.
I look forward to going back someday and staying in their soon to be completed additional Inn that will be totally green/ using sustainable practices!!! Good going Lucy and Angel!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2292_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    18
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
55
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

We spent an idyllic week with La Posada's independent walking package. Lucy and Angel pull out all the stops to make the walking as effortless and interesting as possible. Delicious homemade packed lunches(vegetarians accommodated} were provided by Lucy.The evening meals which she cooked on 2 nights during our stay were worthy of a 5 star restaurant! We were constantly delighted by the number and variety of birds, wildflowers and local animals. The area is famous for both the Iberian Pig and Griffon Vultures both of which we saw on a number of occasions. Nuthatches, treecreepers and blackcaps were abundant. Hoopoe, redsatrts and shrikes were among the more colourful birds we saw. There was wild rosemary everywhere, heathers, tree germander, purple bugloss and many spring flowers.
The five walks we did were all very different in terrain incorporating river valleys, open plains and hills. This area is predominantly 'undiscovered' by tourists and on our walks we hardly met anyone. Alajar and the surrouding villages are very beautiful.
Thankyou Lucy and Angel for making it such a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kestrel48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

The "Posada" scores well in all areas. We were particularly impressed by the owners, Angel and Lucy, and their friendly attention to the needs of their guests. As walkers we were concerned that a full week in Alajar without a car might exhaust our options; however due to the close reseach of the local area by the owners it was easy to find walks of differing and enjoyable character each day. The meals were rustic in style and of high quality... a chocolate sponge with lemon overtones was to die for. Alajar itself is a friendly village with an unspoilt demeanour and a number of very decent bars and restaurants. If I had to look hard for a very minor irritatant it might be the occasional good-humoured rowdiness of the local youths at the weekend. A strongly recommended venue for walkers and all travellers interested in enjoying this beautiful and quiet part of Spain.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisWilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

My husband and I just returned from two weeks in Andalucia, and La Posada de Alajar was without question the highlight of a wonderful trip. While preparing for our travels, e-mail correspondence with Lucy and Angel was friendly, informative and conscientious - we walked to Alajar from Aracena, and Lucy made certain we knew how to get to the start of the walk from the bus station, what the walk options were and even where to buy a picnic lunch. We arrived late afternoon in the tiny, charming, spotlessly clean town of Alajar, conversed with delightful old women who offered to teach me how to crochet on our way to the town's beautiful old church, and were directed to La Posada, which is on the main street off the main plaza. Our lovely room, recently renovated to be comfortable but, like everything Lucy and Angel do, respectful to the history and traditions of the region, had a balcony overlooking the street where we blissfully sat, drinking Cruzcampo and eating local artisanal bread and goat cheese, watching the townspeople, few tourists and a man on horseback slide by as the swallows swooped in and out of the eaves and the stork fed its babies high on the church tower. Breakfast the following morning was superb - 10 kinds of olive oil, homemade preserves and pates from family recipes, and the company of Angel, who was happy to answer questions and share his knowledge of the region. With a daughter living in Spain, it looks like we'll be back again, and we're already planning to give ourselves a nice, lengthy stay at La Posada de Alajar.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doubleseconds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faversham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

A simple and comfortable inn in a peaceful and a charming and very friendly village with intensely fragrant mountain air, unusual restaurants, and breathtaking views. Angel and Lucy will take good care of you, with advice about where to eat, where to walk, what to see and who to buy from; and the lovely Sofia will show you some of the finest hopping in Andalucia. Breakfast is a revelation, with good bread, honey, a choice of at least 10 olive oils, home made pates and jams, and truly excellent coffee.
Delicious meals based upon local ingredients are cooked by Lucy on some evenings (book if required). Don't come here if you need TV, radio or a hairdryer in your room. Alajar is a place where one feels safe and in trustworthy hands. Despite a late arrival, we had a wonderfully warm welcome, but it is soon evident that nothing is too much trouble. Very professional - and very highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roxburghFaversham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIDDERMINSTER, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2009

We stayed for a week in early April and were enchanted with La Posada. Run by Lucy and Angel, it feels more like a home in which you are welcome friends than a hotel. The atmosphere is very relaxed and the location in the village centre but with day long walks from the door is just perect. We enjoyed a beautiful authentic breakfast with bread, a choice of 10 olive oils, pate and organic honey. Apparently, having eaten olive oil, honey and local organic walnuts, I shall live forever! Lucy's picnics are a feast and her dinners, served slightly earlier than in the village are delicious and inventive. Do ask Lucy and Angel for advice. Our trip to Seville was greatly facilitated by knowing where we might park without having to enter the tiny narrow streets. It saved our sanity, our marriage and possibly our lives. Also their advice on Sunday lunch at El Padrino was brilliant, delicious and such good value. We cannot fault it. It was what we wanted and a whole lot more.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneW7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2009

Based on the TA reviews we booked for 1 night in late January 09.
The hotel room was small and functional , and the public areas were quite dark , and actually cold.
The couple were charming , and the breakfast was good ( based on local produce )
We ate very well in a local restaurant.
The village is a fairly remote , quiet and old fashioned place - if that's for you , then it's very good

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosneath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajar
0.1 mi away
Casona del Duende
Casona del Duende
#1 of 1 in Alajar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Convento Aracena & Spa
4.1 mi away
Finca La Media Legua
Finca La Media Legua
#2 of 8 in Aracena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel La Era de Aracena
Hotel La Era de Aracena
#5 of 8 in Aracena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hospederia Reina de los Angeles
6.4 mi away
Hotel Finca Valbono
Hotel Finca Valbono
#4 of 8 in Aracena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada de Alajar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Alajar

Property: La Posada de Alajar
Address: Calle Medico Emilio Gonzalez 2 | Alájar, 21340 Alajar, Sierra de Aracena and Picos de Aroche Natural Park, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Sierra de Aracena and Picos de Aroche Natural Park > Alajar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alajar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Posada de Alajar 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a wonderful stay in a special part of the Natural Park Sierra de Aracena y Picos de Aroche at Las Posadas in Alájar providing low impact, environmentally friendly accommodation within a natural park along with invaluable help and advice from your hosts Lucy and Ángel. La Posada de Alajar is a small, historical Anglo-Spanish run posada (small rural hotel) in Alajar, Sierra de Aracena, Andalusia. The posada offers the perfect accommodation for walking touring and bird watching holidays in one of the few unspoilt areas remaining in Andalusia. Centrally located by the village square with its restaurants, bars and shops everything is close to hand. Cosy rooms, cheerfully decorated, ensure an enjoyable and comfortable holiday. The nearby historical city of Seville and the Portuguese border is little over an hour away so our posada is the perfect base to explore this beautiful corner of Spain. Alternatively you can stay at our sister hotel La Posada de San Marcos, where the only sound you will hear is the breeze in the cork oak trees, the babbling of the stream, birdsong and crickets. The view towards the oak clad hill behind us or towards the village and the Peña beyond provide the perfect backdrop from your room terrace or the gardens. The perfect opportunity to experience an environmentally friendly, energy efficient hotel with a superior level of accommodation and disabled access. Relax in our garden and if it gets too warm plunge into our 12 metre pool to cool off or take some exercise. The pool and gardens is available to guests staying at La Posada de Alájar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Posada de Alajar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Alajar Huelva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing