We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every minute!”
Review of Don Enrique Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in El Soberbio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Don Enrique Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in El Soberbio
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We ended up here by chance after it was recommended by owners of the Estancia we stayed at. We even cancelled a prepaid hotel to get this chance and it was well worth the financial loss!!! It is not what everyone would consider perfect but I expect if you are considering this location you are not expecting a city sky rise hotel experience :) it is extrememly true to nature but also to comfort and relaxation with a very casual elegance. The four huts are huge and great for families or for romantic getaways. The river is the lookout from the cottages and the main house where all three meals and afternoon tea are served. The meals are communal with other guests, and as We stayed five nights, the first had other people who were soooo wonderful and the remainder was just us which was incredibly special too. The food was amazing for every meal and the wine selection ( which costs extra ) was perfect in variety and cost. The staff and tour guides were so special I cried when I left and although we didn't see many animals (which at least in part is due to the rainforest destruction) we could hear lots and the treks were different and had varying flora. The owners have great knowledge and passion of the rainforest and tell you all about the changes; It made the stay all the more special and the attention to environmental impact was something we should all pay more attention to. They do supply all the toiletries to decrease the environmental impact but it was totally fine for us (and I love my usual salon shampoo). It was a perfect end to our time in Argentina and would recommend it for a short or longer stay to unwind; perfect for nature lovers or just busy people needing to take a deep breath. We Would go back again in a heartbeat!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Vickie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

To reach the place from Iguazu , it's a seven hours trip ; five hours on a local bus, then a 4xWheels drive on a gravelled road which last eight kilometers are very hard. The least you can expect of the place is to be totally amazing : it's not...

You're told that you're in the jungle and you'll see animals : it's not true ; you're at the boarder between the forest and the fields so that the animals are gone forever a long time ago ! Furthermore, you're at the bottom of a canyon, and every time you make a hike you've got to reach the top of a hill which is 200m high (not a problem for us, but you have to know it).

Fortunately, regarding the price you pay, you are very confortable, in a cosy house, made of wood, large, with all the amenities (except wifi doesn't work although they say it will, and the towels are not dry from a day to another...), two large terraces, chaises longues, along the rio.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner are home made, very tastfull, you eat on a terrace along the rio, it's very quiet, peacefull, a good place to rest, but once again, you're here for an extraordinary experience and it's not.

Let say that the two guides Elyseo and Luis were very kind, competent and tried to show you all they can even if there is no wild life in the forest ; but we had to insist to make one of the hike in the fields, so that we could see birds, and we did : toucans, eagles, woodpeckers, but only on our fitfh walk.

One point we didn't appreciate too is the tone of the owners and the instructions in the room : don't do this, beware of that, don't put this at this place, don't go with the towels, don't keep the soap, and so on ; like we were little children ; it was exhausting.

So, if you're looking for wild life, jungle, forest, try to reach places close to the Mocona's falls (which really are beautiful), or go to Esteros del Ibera.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank campGrenoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donenriquelodge, Propietario at Don Enrique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Many thanks for your review.
Although we disagree on many appreciations, you made, this is a good case to confirm that the most important is to have good information before booking. That is very difficult when agencies don´t do their job, and we apologize.
The trip from Iguazú, time and roads, are well explained in the attachments of contact emails.
We believe that one of the most interesting things of the lodge is the difficulty and isolation of the place, far from considering a problem.
Your expectations of seeing animals were clearly not covered, however the place was chosen as preferential site for birdwatching in our country. You can see photos of wildlife, in the lodge page www.donenriquelodge.com/#!fotos-saltos-del-mocona/c1a4e
It takes patience to see animals in the jungle, it's not as easy as in open places, But again, there is plenty of animal species, in the place.
Because of our environmental policies, we change the room towels, every two day, except at the request of passengers.
There are other points in your text, as written instructions about what is and what is not permitted. That is also posted on our website, in "environmental policies". And has relationship with our desire to generate as little environmental impact, as possible.
But certainly not all are excuses, it is clear that we have not done enough to meet your high expectations, and that we regret. Through his words we have taken some measures to improve these perceptions and make them more friendly for all types of passengers.
Again, thanks for your review and we regret that you could not enjoy our place, as it is.
Regards...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

After a twenty minutes drive in a 4x4 on a very basic road we arrived in the lodge. A very secluded place in a very beautiful area. The rooms are good and clean and the food is well prepared and sufficient. Our guide was very helpful and kind.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Atze D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

After an adventurous journey from Iguazu, we were very warmly welcomed in the most beautiful setting and main cabin by Bacci and Daniel at Don Enrique Lodge. We got a educational and interesting overview of the rainforest and the yaboti biospere and its animals. We had the most wonderful time with Eliseo and Luis as trekking guides. These two poeple have a big knowledge of all the plants and animals and are wonderful to be with. Our cabin was very authentic and tastefully furnished and we could just wind down and enjoy a peaceful time. The main lodge was also very cosy and with a lot of beautiful decorations, flowers and books about the region. The food was homemade, plentiful and excellent. And you meet wonderful, interesting poeple at the meals from allover the world. We recommend this place very highly if you want to experience the real jungle.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moberya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Most beautiful setting in the jungle. The adventure begins on the gravel road one hour from the lodge. The buildings are well maintained and have very nice furnishings for the setting.
The bathroom is large, has a beautiful tub and is very modern with their fixtures. The main room of the lodge is the perfect setting for the evenings and rainy days. Wifi is the only amenity that you need to contact the outside world. The food is outstanding. Every lunch and dinner was special with their gourmet tastes-------quiche with veggie's from farms in the surrounding areas, direct types of meats each evening plus really good desserts. What a wonderful experience that I would recommend to everyone. The guides that hiked with me in the jungle were excellent even though I spoke no Spanish I understood what they were saying. I took 2 hikes each day for three days and loved every moment on the some times streneous trips. It is one of the best vacations ever and I have travelled the world.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice. We stayed in the 2 bedroom-----very large, very nice porch with nice furni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thnksmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Don Enrique Lodge is located in a beautiful setting. It consists of a central lodge and three spacious, well-appointed cabins in private settings along a lovely stream. Meals are served in the main lodge and are excellent.

Persons considering a stay at Don Enrique should make several considerations. First of all it is very difficult to get to Don Enrique. The lodge is located some 40 km from the small town of El Soberbio. The first 15 km is on a paved road. The next 15 km is on a very rough dirt road which is barely passable under good conditions. The final 10 km require four wheel drive and even then require a skilled driver. Under the best of conditions, the drive from El Soberbio to Don Enrique will require at least an hour. A further complication is the fact that public transportation to El Soberbio is very poor and should not be relied on. To get there under your own steam, you must have a four wheel drive vehicle and be skilled in driving it. Most tourists should plan to hire a driver with a four wheel drive vehicle to get to the lodge from some point with good public transportation. The staff at Don Enrique will assist you in making such an arrangement but it will be expensive.

Second, because of the difficulty in getting to and from the Lodge, it really isn’t feasible to make day trips from the Lodge. If a guest wants to see Mocona Falls, they should plan to do so before or after their stay and not while in residence.

A third consideration is the fact that the Lodge does not accept credit cards and all payments must be made in cash at the Lodge. Prepayments can be made by PayPal and I suggest that the prospective guest plan to make the maximum prepayment to avoid having to carry inordinately large sums of cash.

Finally, prospective guests should be clear in their minds on what they are going to do at Don Enrique. Activities are limited and mostly cost extra. There are several very fine guides that are affiliated with the Lodge and the Lodge requires that the guest use a guide when hiking (the Lodge does not charge extra for the use of guides on shorter hikes).

In short, Don Enrique has some very attractive features but the guest should carefully consider the costs and logistics of getting there as well as the activities the guest will actually engage in while in residence. There are many other more cost effective “getaways” in Argentina, for example.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peregrine15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donenriquelodge, Propietario at Don Enrique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Estimated, thanks for sharing these points. Indeed we have taken several measures to improve access and make it easier arrival to the hotel. The last 8 km were made ​​again, although still only 4x4, are in very good condition and with dry road, could by possible to pass with a car.
Renting a car from Iguazú or Posadas, is a cheap option, and you can get up to La Flor, from there we can send one of our trucks. Most of our passengers, actually take this option.
Now, there is a daily bus, from Iguazú to Moconá Falls, so is much cheaper.
Thanks for letting us enhance this topic, and clarifies the new options available.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Only 3 cabanas far apart from each other as if you were by yourself, very well arranged
Bachi, the owner, gives you a very good explanation of all the animals, birds, trees and plants.
She has several trekking walks for 2 to 3 hours, some more difficult than others.
Lunch and dinner were very good, and a healthy breakfast to start with in the morning.

Room Tip: The last lodge called El Solitario is the newest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Soberbio
0.0 mi away
Don Mocona Virgin Lodge
Don Mocona Virgin Lodge
#2 of 5 in El Soberbio
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Mision Mocona | Lodge de Selva
0.0 mi away
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Yucuma Lodge
Yucuma Lodge
#1 of 5 in El Soberbio
273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,255 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel y Restaurante Don Enrique
#14 of 17 in El Soberbio
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Enrique Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Enrique Lodge

Address: Colonia la Flor | Saltos del Moconá, El Soberbio 3364, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > El Soberbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in El Soberbio
Price Range: £76 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don Enrique was inspired by the rainforest surrounding this land. It was built with recycled wood from fallen trees, old constructions and discarded material from forest exploit. Don Enrique is a small hotel hidden within the paranaense jungle, far from any town, urban area or main road. It is a wild and pristine area governed by the jungle and its wildlife. This mountain range is located at about 180 miles from Posadas, 180 miles from Iguazu Falls and 25 miles from El Soberbio. Not far off Saltos del Mocona, Don Enrique was built in a deep jungle ravine, beside the winding Paraiso river, south from Corredor Verde and Reserva de Biosfera Yaboti. The hotel is characterized by the cozy rusticity in its rooms and by its outside areas facing rio Paraiso. Service and attention are carefully personalized, which is why there are only a few rooms available. In 2010, Don Enrique received the "Lugares" Award (La Nacion) as the best boutique hotel in Argentina. The cabins are spread along the riverbank and designed for visitors to become immersed in nature, away from mind-distracting technology. A verandah and a terrace facing the enchanting river can be much more picturesque than an LCD in front of the bed. Our guests know how difficult it is to get here, and it is precisely such difficulty that preserves the magic of this place. Only a 4WD vehicle can threaten the tranquil privacy of this area. Those who seek for adventure, love nature, or simply want to experience being in touch with earth, water and the vibrant natural diversity of Misiones will find their refuge in Don Enrique. Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Don Enrique Hotel
Don Enrique Lodge Argentina/El Soberbio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing