We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a work in progress and too expensive for what you get”
Review of West Palm Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chaguaramas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Palm Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Chaguaramas
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel from June 12-17, 2013. The outer appearance of the hotel is nice, however, the inside of the hotel does not compare with a \"Super 8\", but the prices are extremely more than a super 8. Queen beds were just made with two flat sheets, no comforters or spreads. Bathroom was very nice, however, the water temp could not be regulated so i would get from hot to cold in a minute. MOST of the staff including the manager had excellent customer service. Food at restaurant, well if you like sandwiches, then it\'s ok. Hotel is walking distance to powerboats and they had a very nice restaurant inside and vendors outside to purchase snacks. Pool had multiple bugs which was to be expected since the hotel is surrounded by trees, but the pool definitely needs to be repainted. The hotel is still under renovation, but i must add, it was very quiet and peaceful. Planned on staying longer, but refused to pay $120 US per night to stay in a hotel that could not compare with a $59 a night hotel in the U.S. Room had closet, microwave, refrigerator, electric kettle, tv and AC. second level rooms has a great view of the marina if you don\'t mind climbing all those stairs. :) If you ever get a chance to visit, say hello to Josonia for me, she was a real sweetheart. :)

Room Tip: Second floor has balcony with good view of the marina , but lots of stair climbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jillian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

This hotel was definitely not one of the best. I liked the location of the hotel, however the standards and quality of the hotel was not up to par. The service was okay. My experience was not horrible but it was not great either.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aniela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Every time I Go The Pool Is Always Filthy..!! I Hate The Food But The sTaff Is Very Nice And Pleasant..... I Went There With My Family Because My Sister Had A Birthday Party.... The Bar Was Closed.. As Per Usual..... The Pool Was Disgusting... Had Alot Of Dead Insects...

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucyl842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Service at the hotel was exceptional,they said "no" to almost everything with a smile unfortunately, my room was located on the 2nd floor on the western side, at night I literally had to run from the pool to my room,since the back road to my room didn't have sufficient lighting,and a staff member reported that they caught a snake the night before, my room also had no hot water, the ac is located above the door and because of the layout of the room, by mid day the room was extremely hot, and it was suggested,by a note on the air condition remote, to not lower the ac to less than 22. One of the pleasures of going to a hotel is the opportunity a to say in your room 24/7, but this was impossible since one had to go to the kitchen for breakfast, since they didn't allow you to pack breakfast in a take away container, after guest ate, beyond that the breakfast was tasty, the night staff being a lot more helpful than the day staff. The view from my room was lovely, along with the pool, the facility can do with a few necessary upgrades, such as lighting, hot and cold water, I will also recommend they keep a house keeper around 24/7 for guest if they require any late night cleaning

Room Tip: Choose a room that has functioning hot water. If you are interested in the view as well as your safe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zantrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Not a bad stay, stayed with a few friends over the trinidad carnival, had three rooms overlooking the pool next to each other. Some of the rooms still need renovating, one of the three rooms had an updated bathroom, flat screen tv and fresh paint, the other two needed those renovations.

Pros :-
Nice big pool
Rooms cleaned everyday and linens and towels changed.
Microwave, fridge and air condition
Wifi

Cons :-
Breakfast was inconsistent for the three days
Parking was limited and did not feel secure
Bar opening and closing was sporadic, no set times to open or close

Overall not a bad stay, for less than 100US a night, well worth the stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravidev2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Renovations were being done on the hotel while I was there some years ago. The land slopes, so if you have a downstairs room on the bottom of the hill, your view will not be the best. Nevertheless the view from the dining section was better. The marinas was the main view.I think this hotel is ideal for persons in the shipping industry who may have some business with the yatchs.

We had a problem with the door while we were there, the front office staff was quite helpful and promptly offered us another room. For this I must commend them.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaMar_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The hotel in under reconstruction. The place is not so bad but many cockroach, AC working in refurbished rooms ... but only if you are lucky enough to obtain a remote, a nice little fridge but nothing to drink not even a bottle of still water, phone not working, no proper lights in the common area at night time. A total mess, and clearly overpriced for an hotel under full reconstruction (120-130 USD per night).

I will give it a chance in one year when it will be finished :)

Pro: Close to shipyard, pool is large.
Cons: overpriced, under repairs, HUDGE cockroach even in rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank casanovay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaguaramas
0.4 mi away
Coral Cove Marina Hotel
Coral Cove Marina Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chaguaramas
6 reviews
20.2 mi away
Palm's Hotel Trinidad
Palm's Hotel Trinidad
#8 of 21 in Port of Spain
63 reviews
7.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,229 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre
8.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Palm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Palm Hotel

Address: West Main Road, Chaguaramas, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Chaguaramas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Chaguaramas
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
West Palm Hotel Trinidad/Chaguaramas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing