We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but out of the way”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chaguaramas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crews Inn Hotel & Yachting Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chaguaramas
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice but out of the way”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

When we arrived, there had just been a storm, so black out was frequent. At first, we saw that the hotel was on generator was a bit relieve, except there were certain times in the night that even the generator went out. Luckily second day on, it came back but still questionable at times. The staff here are friendly, from front desk to housekeeping to cafe to restaurant. The breakfast is buffet American style, so you really do get a view with your breakfast. Almost every room get a view of the pool and the yachts, so there is no bad view here. The only con is that there is no easy way to get into the city unless you have a car. Taxi to the city can range from $25 to $36 US, and that doesn't count if you have more people to share the cab or if it is late night. This place is about 45 mins from the airport and about 20 mins from Port of Spain center. Luckily, the compound has a convenient store, a cafe, a bar, a gift shop/liquor store (duty free), and scuba gear shop. They do try to have everything at one place. Bed is hard, not loving the tile floor, room can be musky because it's near water. I recommend you to bring your own slippers for added comfort. You will get mosquitoes no matter how hard you try to keep them out, just protect yourself wisely.

Room Tip: Almost every room has a view of the pool, you can't lose
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wannabefoodieHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    78
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
43
65
Solo
0
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This is the perfect get away. It's beautiful, calm and relaxing the way every vacation should be. I didn't really see any locals, I just saw tourists, but nonetheless it was amazing, and the pool is clean. I would think it would be hard to maintain a clean pool in the Caribbean with all the trees and bugs, but it was perfectly maintained and quiet. No one bothered us. Stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jess I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

My husband, son & I spent one day and night at this lovely hotel. The room was beautiful & clean with a big jacuzzi.WThe food at the restaurant was very tasty, especially the breakfast buffet. Words cant descibe how beautiful the sceney was, with its view of the sea and the many boats docked at the harbour. There is a children's pool and adult pool which we enjoyed to the max. We did'nt want to leave this wonderful place. Cant wait to go again!!!

Room Tip: Take a room at the top floor cuz u can see the scenery better!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Keisha713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

My husband and I was there from the 22/12/2012 to 26.12.2012.The staff was very friendly and helpful the meals were tasty. Housekeeping made sure that the rooms were always cleaned. Words cannot clearly describe the wonderful time we had you just have to visit the crews inn and experience it yourself

Room Tip: Choose a room from the second or third floor the view of the ocean and the pool is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amessa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Had a three day trip to Trinidad, and friends took us to visit the Chaguaramas area. We ate lunch at the Crews Inn restaurant. Our dining experience was very mixed. The view at the Crews Inn Restaurant is very nice. The view is of the wharf and waters, with the mountains in the back settings. The hostess was very nice and accommodating. The wait staff was polite but truly lack any friendliness. The wait staff likes to bunch up by the kitchen and was not very attentive, as we had to repeatedly flag down staff members to ask for simple water fills. The service was excruciating slow during a time when the restaurant was not busy, and the staffing was well above the business level. Our appetizers arrived after a 25 min wait, then our main dish arrived another 45 min later. The food was quite good, the combination of local style sauces and the various food that we ordered were excellent matches. The dishes were cooked just right, not overdone or undercooked. BUT THE PORTIONS WERE RIDICULOUSLY SMALL!!! For example, we ordered a snapper for over $140 TTs, and we truly expected a good portion of fish being served. What came was a joke! One small (and I mean SMALL) slice of fish on a bed of accompaniments. We did not fuss over the dishes. Once we finished with the food, it took another 20 min to flag down someone, ask for and process the check. What was to be a quick lunch, turned into a two and a half hour affair. I guess Crews Inn definitely is on a Caribbean pace. If you have time, this restaurant serves good food, ok but slow service, and very small portions.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jspyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Heading to Trinidad and the north of the Island then this is the place to stay, nice people abundant really feel at home here.
Mainly deal with the breakfast crew and the front desk who are all top of the tree when it comes to being attentive and friendly.
Food is good but evening service is a little slow, not so good after a hard days work.
but a safe and sound location would recomment it.

Room Tip: ground floor you can sit out on the grass works for me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richieleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

For the same money ($9 difference) the Hyatt is somewhere out there at the moons level compared to this totally sub standard building!! Nothing in the room works! The TV has a big hole where the on button should be! luckilly im an engineer and i used my toothbrush to switch it on, as i wasnt going to put my finger in the hole!!! The light fitting at the front door makes more noise than the aircon on high fan setting! I know this because the Aircon has no other setting, low and medium dont exist! Im sorry, but this has to be made Known to all potential clients! Go to the Hyatt, dont feel guilty about it and enjoy the utmost pampering you hard earned $$ can buy!
I cant wait to leave and get back to absolute luxury at the Hyatt!!!
Although i must say........the restaurant was awesome! As a South African, the 10Oz Ribeye steak will pull the pants off any ButchersBlock Ribeye back home!
I can not comment on the bed as yet as i have found myself sitting here typing this message to all potential Guests that might make the same mistake as i have!
It is such a pitty, as the area lends itself to the most Awesome surroundings and views, needless to say the obvious advantage of having the hotel so close to the Quay side for big industrial shipping services and the Crews Inn it brings to the mix!
You guys seriously need to pick your game up! I challenge any owner or share holder of Crews Inn to spent a night at the Hyatt and then book themselves in Anonymously at the Crews Inn for a night, and see what you get!
Its definatly not the staff that will chase you, but the sheer Dereliction of the building, services, furniture and every thing Physical that you see that will disappoint you!
Get your renovations done as soon as possible Crews Inn! This is hurting you big time, and even worse.......leaving you clients feeling ripped off when they fing out that the Hyatt charges $9 more a night!!!!
Yours unhappily
Craig

Room Tip: None on any floor what so ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Craig E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaguaramas
6.8 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
864 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,064 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Cove Marina Hotel
Coral Cove Marina Hotel
#4 of 4 in Chaguaramas
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
623 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
7.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crews Inn Hotel & Yachting Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crews Inn Hotel & Yachting Centre

Property: Crews Inn Hotel & Yachting Centre
Address: Point Gourde, Chaguaramas, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Chaguaramas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chaguaramas
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Crews Inn Hotel And Yachting Centre
Crews Hotel Trinidad
Crews Hotel Yachting Centre
Crews Inn Hotel & Yachting Centre Trinidad/Chaguaramas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing